We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms, fantastic hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bottega Di Giovannino

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Radda in Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Bottega Di Giovannino
Save
You added La Bottega Di Giovannino to your Saves list
Via Roma, 6-8, 53017 Radda in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“Good rooms, fantastic hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Radda is a great little town to base yourself while exploring Tuscany. Not too touristy, but plenty of choices for everything. We chose La Bottega Di Giovannino after discovering our first choice, recommended by friends who'd stayed there, was very isolated with nothing for miles around. It turned out to be one of the best decisions we made. From the moment we entered we were made to feel welcome. Within ten minutes Monica had adopted us and we were not just treated like family: we were family!

We had adjoining rooms on the top floor; ours with a view straight up Via Roma; our friends view was of the beautiful Tuscan countryside. Rooms were spartan, but more than adequate. The en-suites were roomy and plenty of hot water to wash the miles away. There was no lift, but by then we'd got used to stairs, and help was available to lug those heavy cases up and down. Bed was very comfortable. The terracotta floor tiles gave the room a distinctly rustic feel, there was no escaping the fact you were in Tuscany.

The B&B has a small restaurant and wine bar downstairs, but no noise from this reached us in the upper level. Not that it was a rowdy bar; far from it; but noise was never an issue. We ate at this restaurant on out first night, and it was far and away the best meal we had in Tuscany. We were already adopted family by then, and our hosts, Monica and David, were excellent. They treated us warmly with few formalities. The wine flowed freely, and it was so obvious that they just loved what they were doing. It showed in the service, the warm rustic feel of the eatery, but especially in the food. And this love was contagious. It was just so warm and welcoming.

Monica was a wealth of information on the surrounding areas, and nothing was too much trouble for her. She organized winery tours, recommended other places to go and things to do, even down to how to find a good car park in the usually congested town.

In a nine week tour of Europe, we stayed at some good and not so good hotels and B&Bs. Most were great, but IMO only two were truly outstanding. La Bottega Di Giovannino was one of these. Not so much for the rooms and the views, but for our wonderful hosts Monica and David. We fell in love with Tuscany and Italy because of them. I know we will return one day, and when we do we'll definitely make La Bottega Di Giovannino our base in Tuscany again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    16
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
33
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Staying at a local hotel we found this wine bar on our first night in Radda. We enjoyed the experience so much that we ate here for all three nights. Food is good, excellent mixed starters and a daily homemade pasta special. All very fresh and tasty. Wine was good value and a whole wall of wine to try! Bottles at the bar are open for tasting by the glass. Very friendly staff, unsophisticated bar but great fun and with a very authentic Italian feel. They stop cooking at 8.30pm so if you want to eat get there at 7.30pm at the latest!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

What a fabulous find in Tuscany. The family are very committed to ensuring you enjoy your time in Radda. Monica welcomed us warmly and treated us like family. The rooms, small but very comfortable,and restaurant are run with pride and great local food and of course wines from the region. We felt so privileged to have had such a great experience in such a treasure of a town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Wanting to find somewhere away from the hotel we were staying at we were recommended to visit La Bottega by a local Italian woman. We weren't to be disappointed. The staff were very helpful and sounded slightly disappointed when they had to position us outside due to the lack of seating in the restaurant. This was not an issue as the view from the veranda was absolutely breath taking on the sunny night that we visited. Service was very efficient with the staffs friendly demina adding to what became a special memory of our visit to Tuscany. The food was delicious and when compared to the restaurants we had visited previously during the week very well priced. If you get the chance and you are in the area of Radda make sure you give this place a visit. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

After a long, long hike a charming Radda local picked us up a few miles from Radda & recommended this charming Inn. Fantastic accomodation & the restaurant was wonderful. Stunning view from our room. Owners made us feel like family. Highly recommend La Bottega Di Giovannino.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Taking a chance it being "off season", my husband and I showed up in Radda, Italy late afternoon. La Bottega di Giovanniono was recommended. The place was easy to find but the wine bar was closed. We knocked on an open door and were able to secure a charming room with a private bathroom and a great view of the valley(Room #12). The room was immaculately clean, the bed comfortable and the view just great. One negative on the bed was the pillow was lousy. My husband rarely complains but it was the first thing he said to me in the morning. Parking was a bit of a problem as they are doing construction but after we went out of town for dinner and came back we had no problem securing a place. We decided to take the full breakfast offered at the wine bar the next morning. It was fresh and delicious choice of meats, cheese and breads. Coffee and juice were also included. I think the price with the breakfast was very reasonable and I do not hesitate to recommend this property.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Reservation was easy with good communication. Location is ideal; just 100mt from the bus stop.
The room had everything as described and we had a view out to Volpaia through the trees. Bed was comfortable. The location was quiet and we never heard any noise from the bar. Bathroom was a good size with excellent lighting, but had a few shortcomings. The water pressure was rather low and there was a considerable delay in water actually getting hot. The waste outlet in the basin released the water very slowly. Now these plumbing shortcomings may have been a Radda problem rather than a La Botega problem but it is worth mentioning. Drip dry washing was possible. We were satisfied with our room although we were drawn to a Dante's down on the main road for breakfast. Our hosts ran the bar next door and our interaction was minimal.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Bottega Di Giovannino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bottega Di Giovannino

Address: Via Roma, 6-8, 53017 Radda in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giovannino and his family welcome their guests with their usual warmth and cheerfulness. The comfortable apartments and rooms (each with private bathroom), situated in the historical center, offer a splendid panoramic view of the surrounding countryside.Continental Breakfast is served at the Wine Bar run by the children Monica & David. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Bottega Di Giovannino Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bottega Di Giovannino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.