We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel captures the essence of Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Vignale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Vignale to your Saves list
Relais Vignale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Panigiani 9, 53017 Radda in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The hotel captures the essence of Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

We stayed at this hotel with our adult children & grandson age 2 in late August/early Sept/10. Every aspect of the hotel met or exceeded our expectations. The ambience and service were first rate and the views from the pool & the beautiful dining terrace were spectacular.Staff were friendly & efficient,and the kitchen produced excellent dinner fare.The hotel is conveniently located which made driving to other attractions convenient.This was our 3rd trip to Italy in the past 5 years,& this hotel was the best we've experienced to date. You should ask for a room on the pool/terrace side of the hotel as the other side faces the main(?) street of Rada & could be a bit noisy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    97
    32
    18
    3
See reviews for
35
228
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

Stayed for 1 night but should have stayed longer. Stefano and Massimiliano were amazing hosts. Breakfast was fantastic. The rooms were incredible. The venue which includes a beautiful pool. It is a short drive to Siena (30 min). The location was so serene and peaceful, that we stayed in our room with the terrace watching the sunset. This was truly one of the highlights of our 3 week stay in Italy. Would go back and stay longer. We thank you Mr. Amedeo Esposito, the Hotel Manager, he upgraded in a beautiful room, without extra charge!! We love you Relais Vignale. Hope to see you soon. Judith

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

I agree with a previous review of this being a bed & breakfast posing as a 4 star hotel. We also had booked and pre-paid. We were fully aware that it was low-season. However, the information that the hotel only provided bed and breakfast due to low-season, was not available beforehand. The breakfast, believe me, was no "rich buffet".

It got even worse when we dared to complain. The result was that the manager became aggressive: started yelling at us, called me stupid, threatened my husband and challenged to fight. We left immediately.

Dear hotel-owner, please, find a new manager.
Dear Tuscany-travellers, do not stay in that hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaisvignale, General Manager at Relais Vignale, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
Unfortunely, we had an unpleasant experience with these people.
They did not pay, completely drunk, and we were forced to call the police.
W have been kind and patient and all that the lady has written is pure fantasy.
The seriousness and friendliness of our hotel is part of our DNA.
Do not pay fleeing from the hotel is a smalness synonimous.......
Regarding to the hotel, just read the reviews to understand where is the truth.

Cordially.

Amedeo Esposito
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, NV
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Everyone else has talked about how great this hotel and the staff is, but there is even more to praise! On one side of the hotel is the classic tuscan hills with rolling hills of grapevines, olive trees and stone villas and on the other is a classic tuscan town witth just about everything you need in walking distance. Good restaurants, shops, tourist info, classic alleys, church, piazzas, architecture. The friendly lady at the tourist info office gave us a map to nearby hamlets, castles and wine tasting. The area is a photographer's amusement park. Thanks to all the locals that made our trip so enjoyable!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DALLAS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

We absolutely loved our stay in this hotel. The views are unbelievable and the location was perfect. The service was great and we enjoyed several nights just hanging out around the hotel. Very nice common areas and a large beautiful fireplace to sit by and take in the views. This was one of our favorite spots during our trek across Italy. We are already planning a trip back to Chianti and we will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

My husband and I are our friends have just returned from two weeks in Italy, 4 days of which were spent at the Relais Vignale in Radda. After 4 days in Rome and 3 days in Florence, we were ready for some down time and certainly got that and much more at the Relais. We loved it there, especially because it was in a town where we could walk, shop, and eat. The hotel is wonderful and our room was fabulous. We had a suite that included a nice bedroom, huge updated bathroom, sitting area and small outside terrace (just enough room for the 2 of us), and a gorgeous view of the vineyards. We had stayed in smaller places in Rome and Florence so were thrilled to spend this time in the villa. Breakfasts were very good (the ham is especially good), and we had one dinner there that was just fine. One evening, after traveling around to vineyards, we stopped at the market and got some bread, cheese, ham, fruit and along with the wine we bought that day, had our own little picnic out on the back terrace. The staff was so accommodating in setting a beautiful table for us, not caring one big that we had our own food. Sitting by the scenic pool was wonderful after a busy day. The hotel is just a visual delight with big hallways and landing areas. The staff is more than accommodating. Rooms are clean and inviting. Location is great for scenic drives to San Gimignano, Sienna, or the numerous vineyards in the area. If you're into wine tastings, find the small family-owned vineyards. They are so much fun.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Some of our party had small, dark, noisy rooms, although ours was nice. The staff was very nice and helpful, with the exception of the weekday front desk guy, who had all the charm of Mussolini (looks remarkably like him too). In general, the front desk staff was not very knowledgeable, but, with the exception of il Duce, courteous.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Vignale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Vignale

Address: Via Panigiani 9, 53017 Radda in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#5 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Vignale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Vignale is an 18th-century villa located in Radda’s centre. It has a pool and features panoramic views across the Tuscan countryside from its restaurant terrace. Rooms are rustic yet elegant.Relais Vignale includes a collection of period furniture, frescoed ceilings, and grand fireplaces. Each room is individually designed, and comes with air conditioning and satellite TV..The in-house restaurant offers a menu of traditional Tuscan dishes and fine local wines. Attentive staff organise tastings in the property’s wine shop.The outdoor pool is heated and surrounded by a floral garden. There is also a TV room, lounge bar and library, plus free Wi-Fi in communal areas.The property is surrounded by the villages of the Chianti Classico wine region. Siena and Florence are both under an hour’s drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Relais Vignale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Fattoria Vignale Hotel Radda In Chianti
Relais Vignale Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Vignale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.