We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castello di Monterinaldi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello di Monterinaldi

Castello di Monterinaldi
Villa Pesanella | Loc. Lucarelli 75, 53017 Radda in Chianti, Italy
+39 0577 733533
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Cultural
Attraction details
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Castello di Monterinaldi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We visited the winery the day after the harvesting was done. We were so lucky to see the wine in various stages. It was very educational and the family was very delightful and knowledgeable. We would say this was the highlight of our visit to Chianti Italy. We took several bottles of wine and olive oil home. We were made to feel like we were their personal guests. Definitely worth the stop.

Visited October 2012

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    15
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
1 review
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

What began as a miserable day -- one tour Company left us without our scheduled day in Tuscany -- to a magnificaient semi private intimate tour of Monterinaldi. As a last minute accommodation, they showed their true Tuscan hospitality. The winery is small but beautiful giving one the realistic feeling of a family owned vineyard in one of the most serene spots on Earth. Since my lovely day, I have purchased wines and terrific olive oil online with ease. I will always fondly remember the winery and hope to return soon!

Visited June 2012

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I were there off season and Fabrizio took just the two of us on a tour and treated us like old friends. There were some guests of the winery tasting a wine from the 1950's and they included us without hesitation. Great wines and better people.

Visited April 2012

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An incredible wine-tasting experience in Chianti”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had the most incredible experience on our trip to the Chianti region in October 2011. Our host was Mauro, who introduced us to the delicious wines of Castello di Monterinaldi. He told us the hundreds-of-years-old story about the black rooster and he romanced each of the wines we tasted. By the end of our visit, we had purchased a case of wine and some of their artisan olive oil. Our wine is long gone, but the memories of it remain, and the olive oil, which is almost gone, is used on our most special dishes adding a wonderful peppery finish to burrata, heirloom tomatoes and basil. You don't need anything else...except some of their Pesanella! This is a must-stop-by place on the Chianti Road. Enjoy!

Visited April 2012

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Chianti Vineyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We visited this winer on very short notice, and Fabrizio could not have been more gracious. He welcomed us warmly and took us on a very detailed tour of the property, discussed all aspect of winemaking and wine marketing, and treated us to an excellent wine tasting. Not only is the property and its owners and managers top notch, the wines are excellent. We've been enjoying a variety of the wines from Castelo di Monterinaldi and look forward to many more excellent bottles and a second visit to the property.

Visited September 2012

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castello di Monterinaldi also viewed

Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Castello di Monterinaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello di Monterinaldi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.