We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rip off” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Miranda

Villa Miranda
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Radda in Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Miranda
Save
You added Villa Miranda to your Saves list
429 Strada Statale, Radda in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
“rip off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at villa Miranda in April of 2013 and we got ripped off for 2 nights and when I told the condo owner of this error she hung up on me and said that I was wrong. Never go back there, it is not a nice place and the maintenance man kept moving our stuff. Kept telling us to turn the air off cause it was too expensive to run so we had no a c and the rooms were very hot. Totally never going to go there again.

Room Tip: I would say if you snorkel or scuba dive it is not that nice where we were, no beaches but had to re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    1
    2
    8
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brick, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

The hotel was beautiful, but when we arrived we had booked for the Villa Miranda. but they told us that it was booked up and we would stay in the other property they have the RELAIS SANTA CRISTINA. We asked if the rate would stay to what we were quoted online 40 euros for the other place but they said no. So even though its not our fault they did not book rooms properly they forced us to pay the higher price. We had no car to try to find another place so we had no choice but to take the room and stay for 3 days. The food was very good and they were nice other wise but beware if you eat at the restaurant at either place they will try to sell you on the highest price entrees on the menu. It will be the "chefs special" or something like that. Ask to see the menu and you can get something cheaper. Because they try to rip off people I cannot recommend that someone stay here. But the area was breath taking to see.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

My husband and I met my parents here for a stay in Tusacny. We loved our stay at Santa Cristina (small farmhouse-style apartment villas within Hotel Miranda). The apartment was just a short drive (or walk) from the hotel. Meaning it's off the main road, and in the vineyards- a gorgeous setting.

The apartment was cozy, but just right. We had two bedrooms and two baths and a living room. It was the perfect amount of space to have separate areas, but a large common area for conversation and wine. The kitchen in the apartment was small, but we didn't need more- just enough to store and prepare snacks, breakfast items, and the occassional lunch.

The pool was absolutely amazing. We spent one day just lounging here. The sweeping views of the wine country provided the perfect atmosphere. We went every day, even if just for a quick stop after sightseeing. The town of Radda is great, and very close as well. We also did trips to local wineries, Florence, and Siena. All very resonable drives from here.

Miranda and her family and staffe were so welcoming. They speak only Italian, and none of us are fluent (basic conversational skills only). Still, we were greeted with open arms (literally) and warm smiles. Everyone was attentive and friendly. It's a true family-run place.

The restaurant's food is amazing. Like the previous review- the ravioli is the best! No menu, just Miranda offering the different options available that day. We loved everything we ordered. Don't pass up a fun meal here. You can also purchase wine to go here. They have a great selection, and we were happy with their recommendation.

The only things to note: it's cash only, so be prepared. And, because we stayed in an apartment-style accomodation there was no daily room service. Not a problem for us- we wanted a place that felt more like home. But if you like a more hotel style accomodation, then perhaps staying in a room in the hotel (not the villas) would be better.

Villa Miranda is a great place to stay. We'd love to go back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

Villa Miranda is a small guesthouse / restaurant in a small town near Radda. We stumbled upon the place looking for somewhere to stay the night when driving around in the Chianti region.

We paid 50 euro for the basic room, but what was spectacular was the food served in the restaurant. On the walls there were magazine and newspaper clippings from all over Europe, raving about the lovely Tuscan cuisine served at the Villa Miranda. We had a splendid dinner with nice wine, but were surprised the next day when settling the bill. The room was 50 euro for two people, food 120. So do ask for the prices before ordering. :)

All in all, the experience was worth it. Miranda herself is an elderly matron-like lady, and she still prepares the food herself. Especially the homemade ravioli "Tartufo" was to die for.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Miranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Miranda

Address: 429 Strada Statale, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Radda in Chianti
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Villa Miranda Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Miranda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.