We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Amazing Wedding at Castelvecchi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fattoria Castelvecchi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fattoria Castelvecchi to your Saves list
Fattoria Castelvecchi
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Localita Castelvecchi 17, 53017 Radda in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our Amazing Wedding at Castelvecchi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We had our wedding at Castelvecchi this past November. I doubt if I can find the right words to describe the wonderful experience we had. The location is breathtaking. Situated on a high hill, between vineyards and olive trees, full of green meadows and rustic buildings, you just can't get enough of. It just works. In terms of facilities it provided all that we wanted and more, the rooms in the main Villa are big and luxurious and just across are the apartments which are very spacious and cozy. Five minute drive from the venue is the picturesque town of Radda where you can find very good local restaurants, beautiful streets to walk through and some lovely little shops. More than anything else, the true reason to come to Castelvecchi, be it for a wedding, a vacation, or just for a visit, is the service!

Choosing a venue for your wedding is a delicate matter, and we were picky. We reviewed about 15 places in the region before deciding. Our main events took place on the Friday and Saturday, but we stayed at the venue from Wednesday till the following Sunday. Everything was far beyond our expectations. We had not even a single compliant from our guests - on the contrary, until today they still remind us of the fairy-tail time they all had. We were even asked to have our anniversary at Castelvecchi every year.

We found all staff to be friendly and highly professional. Vittorio, the venue manager, speaks excellent English and is organized and attentive. No issue was left unresolved.

The reception and dinner were of very high standard. The venue was decorated in an elegant and tasteful manner. In one afternoon they had turned the main villa into a beautiful banquet hall. Waiting staff were elegantly dressed, very available and extremely professional. The restaurant manager himself was present at all times. Needless to say the food was delicious, varied and of high quality. Vegetarian options were available and were just as good.

Bottom line - We highly recommend and vouch for Castelvecchi, whether you're looking for a fairytale getaway or an elegant event, pretty much everything! Feel free to contact us with questions: yoav.aviram AT gmail.com.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main Villa are big and luxurious and just across are the apartments which are very spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castelvecchi, Director of Sales at Fattoria Castelvecchi, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Thank you, Perla and Yoav, to gave us the possibility to partecipate in such positive way to your special event!

Best regards
vittorio Trevisan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    37
    14
    9
    3
See reviews for
27
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

In summer 2006 we were travelling around Italy for few weeks and we boought a book on Chianti which brought us to Castelvecchi and loved it that much that we returned every year for 4 years. It is an incredible place, very pieceful and quite and old groups of houses renovated. You can choose 2 different types of accommodation, the villa or the small houses/rooms in the Borgo. Both are very nice, from the Borgo you lkely would be able to see vineyard from your window every morning, from the Villa the beutiful Chianti landscape. Year after year we became very aquainted with the owners, the kids and their special grandma who we hug with love! the swimming pool is very pieceful and even simply reading a book under the pines or under the gazebo,my God is better than being in a spa! There is no restaurant there on Mondays but even with that we do recommend to go and visit Volpaia, very near and have dinner at La Bottega. Do book in advance so that you'l be able to get a place out and go there early so maybe you'll be able to enjoy a lovely sunset on the Chianti vineyards! enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

About the only thing I can say was that the place was inexpensive.

The bed was awful... like you were going to fall through the centre. There was no heat and it got VERY cold. We tried to turn on the heat, but nothing seemed to work. The place itself does not look like it is a working wineyard. I'm actually quite surprised to read some of the other reviews. We spent our first two nights in the tuscany region at another vineyard. Unfortunately they were booked for our third night and we took this place because it was close by. It was our worse place in 2 weeks in Italy.

The breakfast was very little items on a table, that was only enough for how many people they had stay there. The views were incredible, but given the last place we had been at, I didn't think this place even made wine.

Love the area, but would highly recommend finding somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castelvecchi, Director of Sales at Fattoria Castelvecchi, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Also the bad comments like yours help us to grown.
Anyway you've been the only guests complaining about the temperaure; count also that we have to respect the specific opening dates given from the municipality concerning the heating system working.
Concerning the wine production I'm sorry to say you're totally wrong, since we have a 1000 years old cellar and a long wine production tradition.
Hoping anyway to welcoming you at Castelvecchi again sure you may change your mind.
Best regards
Vittorio Trevisan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Fantastic place to stay in an awesome location. A true castle experience with beautiful grounds and pool. We arrived very late in the evening and the owner waited up for us. The tour of the estate's wine making facitity and the wine tasting was excellent!

Room Tip: We used this website and ratings to pick this place and it payed off!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willimantic, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

What a special gem this place is! Just getting there is a beautiful, scenic experience. The property itself is just stunning with photo ops every time you turn around. Checking in was easy and quickly expedited.

Our room was adequately sized, simply decorated with antiques and featured modern conveniences like a hair dryer, mini fridge and good shower. The grounds are gorgeous with a nice pool and endless little spots to sit and relax, read a book or just enjoy the vineyard views.

The restaurant is open every day for a typical Continental breakfast, and while we were there, open for dinner Wednesday - Sunday. Because our stay included a Monday, it offered us the opportunity to check out the restaurants in the nearby town of Radda in Chianti, a charming medieval village. Castelvecchi is also central to many of Tuscany's other towns and makes a great central starting off point for day trips to places like Sienna and Greve. The one dinner that we did have there included one of the best dishes we ate anywhere in Italy (a flower shaped pasta with a sauce of asparagus and artichoke) and a HUGE steak that was very tough and indistinguishable to any cut we have here in the states. (Note: enjoy your USDA beef while in the US!)

We loved this property and would highly recommend it for a relaxing, couple's escape

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are bigger, but rooms in the outer buildings have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

The place as a location is first class, with everything that you could hope for, access to winerys, towns and beauty spots.
The hotel is a small castle with out buildings. In many ways you get what you think you will get.
The main manager did his best to accomodate you. The owner was the problem who was obnoxious, rude and arrogant - he made you feel uneasy and put a dampener on the whole holiday. He just didnt want you there.
The restraunt was the same, they did everything they could to put you off from eating there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Myself, along with my wife and three children stayed for seven nights in Castelvecchi for a family wedding. The first night was spent in a room in the main building which consisted of a large double bed and three singles in a large room, with a bathroom and shower on the side, which was clean and comfortable. The remainder of the time was spent in an apartment on the top floor of the main building. This had two large bedrooms either side of a huge lounge/dining room with a big bathroom and modest kitchen. We found that the hotel was clean, the staff were friendly, the surroundings were absolutely beautiful, and it ticked another box in what was a wondertul break.

In the picturesque, well maintained grounds is a swimming pool, that was a welcoming sight from the hot weather, and a god-send for the children. In the courtyard is a restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. We stayed self-catering and never ate at the restaurant, but the food looked nice and seemed reasonably priced for the area we were in. The hotel is set in acres of vineyards and situated a short distance from a few average sized towns, which have very good shops. cafes and restaurants.

Although the wedding was not held at the hotel, there was an evening party held on the outside terrace. Even though the drinks and entertainment were sort and provided by the newly-weds, the hotel still bent over backwards to accomodate our every need. Although there were nearly 90 of us in the wedding party and the hotel had other guests, nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them to sort out.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fattoria Castelvecchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Castelvecchi

Address: Localita Castelvecchi 17, 53017 Radda in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fattoria Castelvecchi 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fattoria Castelvecchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Castelvecchi Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fattoria Castelvecchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.