We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bella Toscana - Bella Albergo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Provinciale 2bis | Loc. Campomaggio, 53017 Radda in Chianti, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€120 (EUR)
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bella Toscana - Bella Albergo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

I have stayed in Radda many times, small hotel, B&B and a luxury independent Villa - then comes Campomaggio in July - my wife and 2 children aged 9 and 11. It was just fantastic and we extended and stayed for nearly 12 days in total. We first had a 2 bedroom villa facing the terrace and it was very nice, quite simple but that was our expectation and the extra room was great. For our last few nights we stayed in the main Villa and had 2 adjoining rooms which were very luxurious and I would suggest for most couples on short stay these rooms are the best.
The pool is a great space, the terrace for breakfast, some nice italian home style lunches an evening cocktail or even dinner of some nice pastas, cheeses. Its really just a nice place and although for the honeymooners the sight of families might surprise the hotel has enough places to hide and open spaces with tables and chairs all over.
finally the staff were very nice people and from what I understood a fairly new team since about 1 year. Thanks again to the Campomaggio team and I expect we will return. Ciao GP

Room Tip: For a family suggest one of the Villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    43
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
27
145
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

We spent 7 days 2 weeks ago in one of their apartment units, the building is beautiful, the surrounding ground and landscape are spectacular, staffs are extremely friendly and helpful, 15 min to different Chianti towns, 4 star restaurants nearby..... Love it ..but .....the first night we pulled into the hotel, there were absolutely not one single light around the hotel, the place was pitch black and the road leads into the hotel is narrow and not paved, we unfortunately drove into a ditch next to the hotel and spent 380 euro to have the car towed the next morning....

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessio M, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

I really thank you for your kind words, and we all are glad you have spent a beautiful holiday here in Campomaggio.

About your misadventure with the car, we are very sorry for you, but we are not responsible if you were off the road. You should have to be more careful in the maneuver.
The point of your crash is very far from the main entrance, where that night the lights were turned off accidentally, then I really don't see the connection.

I hope you also remember that the whole entire staff bent over backwards to help you and to bring back your car seat, and then, to allow you to leave again by your car, without problems.

Having spent some money for the Wrecker seems to me the least.

Best regards from all the staff


Alessio Mazzanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

We Stayed for 8 nights. The room was large and very clean. The staff gave exceptional service. Overall the hotel was spotless (grazie Elsa). The garden was well attended (grazie Raoul). The reception area (grazie Chiara,Laura and Giuuditia) were all helpful in arranging events for us. Great service from (grazie Giordana,Ilir and Lata). Alessio (manager) you have an exceptional staff.
Tante Belle Cose a Tutti!!!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessio M, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

All the staff thank you deeply for your wonderful words.
We are looking forward to see you again on the next season!

Warmest regards


Hotel Villa Campomaggio Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights whilst my husband competed in the Eroica cycle ride. The hotel room was lovely, spacious and clean , a bit dark but there are beautiful wooden beams. Nice spacious bathroom with large shower and two hand basins. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. It is a bit dark going down the steps into the car park at night.
The views are amazing, pool is lovely and the spa very relaxing. I had a massage which was reasonably priced. There was wine tasting with snacks each night in the bar/restaurant area.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Lovely facilities, a great place to call your 'Tuscan Villa' for a week! We stayed 5 nights in October and enjoyed the villa's terraces in the evenings for drinks, as well as the wine-tasting in the bar and dinner in the restaurant. The spa is well appointed and relaxing. Our apartment was well equipped and the staff were all to willing to help make our stay perfect. We were so sad to leave and will be back! Exceptionally located for driving around Chianti - you must have a car to make staying here viable.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

We stayed in Villa Campomaggio for five nights in an apartment. The rooms are spacious and quite clean, but there are a lot of problems. When we arrived at night it was not easy to find the place, and then we saw a sign "parking", and there was not possibility to get there with the car. The lady in the reception said that they know that the access is problematic, but… Then she took us to an apartment. The smell there was very very bad – it seems that no one was there a lot of time. When she understood that we are not going to agree to it she took us to another apartment which was OK, but: The WiFi did not work well, almost all the light bulbs were out of order, the kettle did not work, there was no machine coffee as promised, there was one toilet paper for three people for five nights, no soap, no shampoo, only one hook for the towels. We asked soap for the dishes, and they gave us the address of the shop where we can buy it. Breakfast costs 14 euro per person!
On the other hand the stuff were nice and they fixed some of the problems. But… we feel that for such an expensive hotel the owners should be more generous and check the rooms before the guests arrive.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessio M, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

On our website it's well specified that our apartments are "self catering apartment". If you need the hotel services you should have reserved a room inside the hotel building. It's also specified that the WI-FI signal is good in the hotel rooms and the common area, not in the apartments.
Maybe you reserved a place without reading where you are going to?

We always send by email to all the guests the precise direction to reach us easily, maybe you didn't read it.

The apartments have ceilings with wooden beams, the smell that you felt, is that of wood, typical of country houses.

The breakfast cost is eur 14,00. It's included all the buffet food, and all the drinks you need. Of course it's also possible take just a coffee or a croissant for a chip fee.

I suggest you to read much more better the information of the hotels in the future, and don't think that all location are the same, because every territory has own features. I deeply think that we have respected all what we promised to offer in our official website.


best regards


Alessio Mazzanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

It's was a great experience such as in James Bond's movie. For our honeymoon, it was just perfect. Lovely place, lovely location and lovely personnal. This hotel is a paradise amonq the Chianti valley.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa

Address: Strada Provinciale 2bis | Loc. Campomaggio, 53017 Radda in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#1 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just outside the village of Radda, Villa Campomaggio is surrounded by vineyards in the heart of the Chianti countryside. Dating back to 1776, the villa's grounds include a swimming pool and SPA.This historic villa has elegant rooms and apartments, all decorated with the same care and attention to detail. They feature hardwood or terracotta floors and wood-beam or arched ceilings. All include free Wi-Fi, LCD TV and Minibar.A buffet breakfast is served out in the courtyard where you can enjoy the tranquility of the garden. Light meals are available for lunch around the pool and an aperitif with snack buffet is served in the afternoon.The SPA area includes a Jacuzzi, Turkish bath, Sauna and relaxation area. You can treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment.Free parking is available and the center of Radda in Chianti is 5 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Campomaggio Hotel Radda In Chianti
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.