We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too Busy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Preachers Restaurant

Preachers Restaurant
Cooga Lower, Doon 00, Ireland
+(353)61380777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Doon
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Preachers is a restored old church with a unique style it has been lovingly restored to its former glory with high beamed ceilings and old world charm
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not too Busy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

On a very busy Sunday lunchtime we stumbled upon the Preacher's Restaurant right on lunchtime. On entering we were asked 'had we booked?' We confessed we had not. The restaurant was very busy, with two parties to cater and a virtually full mealtime. However, the staff were not too busy, showed us to the only table (for 2) that was not occupied, and fortunately there were only two of us! The welcome was warm, the food was great, and lovely and hot, the service second to none and the waitresses managed to keep smiling. Well done to everyone

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A hidden delight tucked away in the countryside.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a very local restaurant and since it changed hands we decided to try it out. Preachers is an old church. The architecture is amazing and lends to a general ambiance of peace and tranquility. The food is excellent with a well-stocked wine cellar and bar and is more in keeping with what you would expect from a top class restaurant in a busy city but not at the city prices. Would definitely recommend a visit whether for a special occasion or just Sunday lunch for 1st class cuisine at very reasonable prices and in a setting with a difference. Your first visit will not be your last.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A bit of a let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were really looking forward to having a lovely meal at Preachers as we had heard nothing but good things about this place but unfortunately this was not the case.
We went for Sunday lunch. I'm not sure if it's the same Chef that is on a Sunday than the rest of the week but the meal was nothing like we were expecting.
Firstly, on sitting down, we were told by the waitress that the vol u vents and lamb were off the menu as they didn't have any left. But throughout our meal we could see people who had come in after us ordering them. We then over heard the waitress saying to the table next to us that they had 2 Vol u vents and 1 lamb left!

with the starters, the soup was just about warm and the starter of chicken liver pate on toast was brought out without the toast and it took a while for it to be brought out when we asked for it. Then, our main meals were brought to the table when 2 of my fellow diners hadn't even finished their starters. The mains were then brought back to be put under the hot plate. As soon as my friend had put her last spoon into her mouth, the starter plates were whisked away and the mains were brought immediately, not giving us a chance to digest the starter.
The main meal: Two of us had ordered beef, the beef at this stage was sitting for so long under the hot plate that it was a bit tough. The potatoes and veg were typical of any Sunday carvery pub lunch and a bit tasteless.
Dessert: As soon as we finished the mains, the desserts were brought out.The dessert was very tasty but as it was brought out so soon after the mains, we couldn't really enjoy it. The place wasn't busy and it wasn't due to close so i don't know what the rush was.

I am not in the habit of writing bad reviews. In fact this is the first review of any kind that i've ever written but i felt i really had to say something. Maybe it was just an off day or maybe the original chef had the day off but i did find it a bit of a let down. I am definitely going to give them the benefit of the doubt and return again maybe for an evening meal instead of a lunch as i have heard so many good things.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Visited family and friends in Doon and was taken to this lovely restaurant. Food was delicious and decor amazing. Would definitely recommend!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best mouth watering experience ever amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our night started with a warm welcome to a very old but beautiful church converted into a restaurant full of character and ambience. The smells hit us the minute we walked in and it wasn't long before those smells became a reality right before our eyes, the homemade breads, duck, salmon, pate, chutneys, steak, lamb, fish, homemade chips to die for, what a night of tasteful pleasure was had by all. My thanks to the gifted chef noel and his team who all played a part in giving us a meal fit for royalty. We will be back and I highly recommend anyone who enjoys fine dining to try out preachers. ☆☆☆☆☆

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Preachers Restaurant also viewed

Caherconlish, County Limerick
Tipperary, County Tipperary
 

Been to Preachers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Preachers Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.