We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chill Out Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skandinavia Country Club & SPA

Save Saved
You added Skandinavia Country Club & SPA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Skandinavia Country Club & SPA
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Parkovaya St., 16, Sestroretsk, St. Petersburg 197706, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Sestroretsk
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Chill Out Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I've been there twice....and not the last time. It is a perfect location to relax. Breakfast buffet and Restaurant is excellent.
The outdoor pool and jacussi are very clean and heated.

For those who want to calm down after hard working week, it is a must go location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    14
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
22
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

It is the best place to escape St. Petesburg for the weekend.
Amazing country club!
Going there at least twice a year and would strongly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I was here for a seminar so could only dream of the special spa facilities, however the pool was great, the room was excellent and had all facilities you'd expect The food we had for our group was excellent. The only point I would make in the negative is allowing glasses and bottles at the pool and jacuzzis. Although the hotel asks for this not to happen they don't say anything - broken glass and swimming does not go well. But......I will definitely return for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Just in case children are staying I would request a room that doesn't overlook the pool. The poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed several times at Skandinavia over the last 2 years and enjoyed every bit of it. Not only that the hotel/service is a good price for the value, but it's one of the rare places within an hour drive from the city that is interesting enough to visit and have a relaxing weekend. The breakfast and the SPA are superb.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

It has been my 5th time in Scandinavia over the past 4 years and have to note that it gets better and better.

Breakfast bar is very rich, the restaurant menu is superb, the wine list is very good.

I made an Internet reservation for the junior suite in October and when I checked in in November the price was 60% lower as I hit the sale time which I didn't know about - nice :-). The open air heated swimming pool is clean and welcoming, the sauna and the hamam are open at no extra cost from noon to 5pm and the spa in the newly completed wellness centre is of very high standard.

If you want a great weekend - don't think, just go to Scandinavia. It is a very special
place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skandinavia_hotel, Public Relations Manager at Skandinavia Country Club & SPA, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear safaricakes,
Thank you for the review! Welcome back to Skandinavia Country Club & SPA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Midwest
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed at this resort for 2 nights but were supposed to stay four nights but do to a major problem we left early and went to another resort. I was traveling with my wife and two children aged 7 and 4 from the USA. We chose this resort based on the location and the web sights photos of the hotel which are not accurate and I will explain more below. The resort is located out in the country about 1 hour from downtown on the road that takes you along the Finland Gulf. Finland is only a couple of hours away by car. My wife was born and raised in St. Petersburg and we usually go there every couple of years. Before I tell you about the problem let me give you my review first. During the summer Russians typically spend time at their summer home called a dacha usually located out in the county and this resort is in a nice area located on the Gulf of Finland. The grounds are well manicured and the pool is nice and large with Jacuzzi tubs and a Russian banya or sauna. The outdoor facility is rather nice and extremely quite during the night. They have table and chairs around the pool area and cabanas on the grounds for your use. The lobby of the hotel is nothing special and very small but gets the job done. My wife usually spoke to the lobby staff in Russian but with the little contact I had with them in English they were not overly friendly but they were not rude either. They don’t go out of their way to make you feel very welcome that’s for sure. Our room was located on the 2nd floor and there are no lifts or elevators at this hotel so you have carry your luggage up two flights of stairs to get it to your room which is not too convenient. The resort is graded 5 stars by Russians standards however it is really 3 stars at best I would say. It is a typical resort style room that could use some freshening up. Our room had a queen bed and sleeper sofa. The kids said the sleeper sofa was very uncomfortable. The photos of the rooms are not very accurate. They have some suites at this hotel and also a private house located on the grounds which are also for rent and the photos on the web sight must be of the suites or the house because our room sure didn’t look like the rooms in the web sight photos.

Our room included buffet breakfast each morning and it was nothing special. The food choices were a bit limited. Only the desk staff and 1 person in the restaurant spoke English so ordering food could be tough if you are not with someone who speaks both languages. We ate dinner one night at the hotel and it was neither good nor bad but at least we ate. There are no other restaurants with in walking distance of the hotel but there are many good restaurants with in 10 minutes of the hotel and taxis are available and fairly reasonable. I would recommend eating dinner outside the hotel.

Now for the bad part. My wife left her I Phone 4 inside the room on the night stand next to the bed one night and forgot to lock it up in the safe when we went out for dinner. Upon our return we noticed the maid came in and did turn down service and the phone was missing. We looked every where in the room and could not find it. We reported it missing to the front desk staff and when I tried to call the phone it was turned off but it was on when we left which is another sign it was take from the room. The front desk staff called us back the next day after we checked out and told us they checked the security camera and no one was in the room? However someone was definitely in the room as they didn’t turn down service and the phone didn’t grow legs and walk away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

we didn't stay at the hotel, just did some spa & took horse ride
hotel territtory, pool area is really really good!
spa services are best in st.petersburg (among tested by us), very warm service and good specialists, we will be back for spa for sure!

the thing we didn't like at all was horse ride
it costs 150,00 EUR for 2 horses for 2 hours and took place at the seashore
horses were good, but our guide wasn't; she didn't care what we were doing at all

this hotel should choose better horse provider.. it's not their level of service

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skandinavia_hotel, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Skandinavia Country Club & SPA, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Thank you for your review! We will manage this problem with the horse riding. We'll be glad to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Skandinavia Country Club & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skandinavia Country Club & SPA

Address: Parkovaya St., 16, Sestroretsk, St. Petersburg 197706, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Kurortny District > Sestroretsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Sestroretsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skandinavia Country Club & SPA 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Suite in the Shelepin's Dacha ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Skandinavia Country Club & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skandinavia Country Club & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.