We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor management” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bathala Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Bathala Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bathala Island Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   (Formerly Adaaran Club Bathala)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bathala Island
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“poor management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

After we paid for our trip to Bathala we were told the resort is overbooked and we were offered another AAA-resort. The problem is we wanted to go to the north ari atoll where the diving is good, not to a resort without a house reef or in an atoll where the diving is pedestrian.
Then we were told we can go to Bathala after all, so thinking there is only one type of accomodation on Bathala we went. Imagine our surprise when we were led without any comment to what I can only describe as a refugee holding centre, three horrible rooms in one building behind the beachvillas. We were told we would have to stay there for 2 nights. After complaining we were given a beachvilla next morning, No 122 which was lovely. I still cannot believe the difference between the awful overspill rooms and the villa. Why would the management think that anybody would be happy to stay in a whole after paying for an maldivian beach villa? And there was not a word about any type of compensation. Unbelievable. But I have to say the rest of the staff are lovely and divecentre and diving is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    60
    26
    6
    8
See reviews for
27
101
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

13th visit to the Maldives, first to Bathala. We chose it because it has not been blinged up with pools, spas etc and the diving is very good.
However as we arrived for a 7 night holiday we were met off the boat by a wordless staff member who neither introduced herself or even said ‘welcome’.
We were then told we’d have to spend 2 of those 7 nights in their overspill rooms. That’s 29% of the holiday!
Or rather we weren’t told, the staff member walked wordlessly towards our ‘cell’ – a concrete block of 3 dingy rooms with only the back of other bungalows for a view, bare striplight, little more than a bed and a table, mismatched old curtains, not even a bucket to rinse sand off our feet, so little soundproofing it felt like people in the neighbouring cell were in the room with us, a leaking hose in the bathroom and incredibly noisy aircon. When we reacted with shock, she explained they were overbooked and we would have to stay there for 2 nights.
We created a huge fuss and magically the next morning our beachfront bungalow – which was very pleasant – was available. Unfortunately it meant that a couple who arrived later then had the burden of spending 2 nights in these dismal bunkers. Fair enough if we’d been backpacking around Goa and had only spent $10 a night – but this was costing us about $300 daily!
No compensation was mentioned to us or the other couple even though we asked specifically about getting it. When we pushed the issue, the staff member said she’d get back to us about it and then didn’t bother.
The 2 people who ‘run’ this resort are totally complacent and out of their depth. It’s a small popular island and so they don’t feel the need to make an effort or look after customer care.
All week we saw tired couples arriving and being forced into these depressing rooms, so it certainly was not a one-off booking error.
We have fallen victim to overbooking in other resorts, but in those cases we were given a cash refund and fruit and wine and vouchers for drinks. That is how you soften the blow of ruining someone’s hard earned holiday.
I have to say that the other staff are delightful and the diving centre is outstanding. I feel sorry for them and the fact that the management is greedy and incompetent . They rely on the fact that by the end of the week you will be feeling relaxed and won’t feel like tackling them for a refund.
Despite the fact that it’s a lovely natural island with great diving I wouldn’t return and give AAA resorts my money. There are other similar islands whose management actually care enough about their reputation and customers.
The sooner this endemic overbooking ends the better. If it happens to you in the Maldives do not take no for an answer and make sure you get more than just an apology.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We arrived and were shown a bungalow in the 2nd row although there were better ones available. being our 4th visit, it will also be our last, we were not unprepared.
It was shoes off from Day 1 and they did not go back on until we were on our way back to Male.
We decided not to take mobile phones or computer even though WIFI is available.
The AI was great and the staff couldn´t have been better.
There was a problem with the speedboat after we arrived and the management didn´t get it sorted by the time we left, almost 2 weeks later.
The island itself was beautiful, just as one imagines the Maldives, as was the Werner Lau Dive Centre with Laurent, Ingrid, Andy, Julie and Baby Dylan and the local staff. They were per excellence, the diving was fantastic even though I had a problem with the "current scale" they used. At "3 from 6" I left my camera on the boat. There were plenty of sharks, rays and other "big fish". All the equipment is new.
Over Christmas we were "invaded" by Italians and then the atmosphere changed, it got very noisy.
The buffets were OK, breakfast was a little boring after 14 days, and the lack of fish was explained by the fact that the Chinese are paying over the market prices in Male for the fish. Still there was plenty of pasta, probably due to the previous 10 years in Italian control.
The limited day trips were not used by the guests, after 2 cancellations we enquired why and were told that for 4 persons the trip would not take place. This was calculated in $/person and all of a sudden the management decided that it would be possible to go.
If the bungalows were given a little TLC then the whole picture could move a little into the positive, but we enjoyed the holiday and we met some wonderful people.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Idyllic island. Very rustic and simple. This was our 6th time to the Maldives. No mod cons such as tv or tea making facilities! Who needs them? No shoes, no news. We stayed over Xmas 2012. Gala dinner on Christmas Eve was lovely and staff had gone to a real effort.

Great beach - just like walking on white sherbet.
The diving was excellent, although I found some of the currents really strong. The staff really looked after us, the dive centre was very efficient and well run. Ingrid, Laurent and Andi were all very friendly, even baby Dylan had a smile for you every day. We dived a total of 16 times and the house reef was really excellent with plenty of reef sharks, turtles, morays and eagle rays to spot.
We did however, have some small issues. The food was buffet style with quite a good selection but not enough fish. The food was also quite often only warm. We did have an issue with our room but Management sorted this out quite quickly. Our flight home was not until 11am and we were asked to vacate the room for 5 am for the transfer!!! Not happy. Several items of our clothing also went missing.
We were the only English couple on the island as mainly German and Italian. Whilst this in itself was not an issue, it did at times feel like "them and us". The island Management apparently only have one bungalow allocated for English. Could do with more.
Did not spoil our holiday and was very relaxing. Would we return again? Probably not. would highly recommend the dive centre staff and the staff. Could not speak any highly of them all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in - sorry; on - Bathala during a ten days' Christmas trip in 2012 to the Maldives. We have only good memories.

Aware from the start that Bathala Resort is all about serious diving and snorkeling, not about infinity and other pools plus spa treatments, we had a super time.

Shoes and socks come off on the jetty after landing and only go back on when leaving. The bungalows are rustic but perfectly fine. We slept more than well, the aircon is quiet, the outside shower is a treat, no mosquitoes ( bungalows cleaned every day of course, beds straightened during dinner and lights on when you turn in for the night.

Bar, outside sitting area and restaurant are very welcoming. No obtrusive or loud music. The food, offered buffet style, is great, especially as we are curry and tropical fruit lovers. But there is ample paste and other Euro food on the tables too.

Special is the kind staff, all of them without exception. One is very welcome, helped when needed, with old fashioned Asian courtesy. Quite a change from the surly service we get in Europe nowadays. We felt like belonging to the family when leaving.

I only snorkel, about that further on, but my partner dives and had a whale - sorry for the pun, none seen - of a time. Staff is very kind, multilingual en professional. Werner Lau Diving has a good name, and they made that fact come true. Thanks Ingrid, Laurent and Andi! Nitrox is free. As dives rarely go below 45 minutes, using Nitrox is a good idea. No certificate? Take a Nitrox course!

For snorkeling, the famous housereef can keep you busy for weeks. Forever changing with inhabitants, like turtles, rays and reefs sharks, it also offers nice spots to meet old friends, like the anemone fish, everyday. Going in and out is fine and well organized and signposted.

Bathala is a diving island, and that means that the crowd is congenial, talkative, friendly and interested. Lots of fun and friend are easily made.

In all: a great stay, and worth coming back to!

Room Tip: There are only 46 or so bungalows. Differences are not huge. Try get one on the leeward side, wind d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Small island 1 hour by Maldives airplane taxi from Male. Can walk around island in 10 minutes...but benefit of staying in a small resort is that the staff get to know you. Rooms need updating but linen and towels fresh every day, it's clean and the food is excellent. Staff could not be more helpful and friendly. Dining room had burned down 6 weeks before our visit but refurbishment was looking good and didn't affect kitchen or food. Wonderful curries at every meal. Mainly German visitors. Only 2 other English couples when we were there but child friendly. Diving centre run by a South african and Swiss couple. the best I have ever experienced. Safety a priority and diving like Sharm 20 years ago. Don't need shoes or posh clothes but Mosquitos repellent essential. Plan to go back with our adult children.

Room Tip: 50 suites with outside showers. All the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Whole resort very clean. Food good choice and plenty. House white wine very drinkable!!!
Service was excellent, always good in the Maldives but the staff at Bathala really do go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need.
Great house reef, we dived 20 dives in 8 days, 19 on the house reef. Tank guys super :-)
Basic resort, no frills, but all you need....
Booked with Regal Dive - who gave up good information and took care of us well.
Werner Lau dive centre as you would expect, well run with good set up.
We will certainly go there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bathala Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bathala Island Resort

Address: (Formerly Adaaran Club Bathala)
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Bathala Island
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bathala Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bathala Island Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bathala Island Resort offers accommodation built around a typical diver’s schedule: morning dive, lunch, afternoon dive, relax on the beach, have a beer or two at the bar before dinner and maybe a little music and relaxation afterwards. Facilities are kept simple to suit the pace and character of island life. Highlights include restaurant theme nights, indoor games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Bathala Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adaaran Club Bathala Hotel Bathala Island
Adaaran Hotel Alifu Atoll
Adaaran Hotel Bathala
Bathala Island Resort Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bathala Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.