We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for relax and diving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angaga Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Angaga Island Resort to your Saves list
Angaga Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |     |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angaga Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Excellent for relax and diving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Location: small island with a wonderful lagoon on one side and a paradise white beach almost all around. The house reef is in good conditions, with nice coral formations and plenty of wild life. We could spot turtles, reef sharks, ink fishes, small tunas and eagle rays just from the jetty or from the terrace of our water villa. In snorkeling we could also see sting rays, monster trigger fishes, anemones with clown fishes, morays, and plenty of other colorful reef inhabitants. Guests either go out for diving or enjoy the terrace of their water villa or the shade just outside of the beach bungalow, therefore you can have the beach all for yourself – well, almost. Bear in mind that one side of the island is always windy, while the other side is well protected. In March the wind was on the side opposite to the lagoon, therefore the water in the lagoon is still, but being on the beach on the windless side without shade can be challenging. We used to go to the tip of the beach just touched by the wind to have ideal conditions.

Diving: the club is very professionally run, with excellent quality material and friendly instructors. I do not need to comment on the high quality of the diving sites and marine wildlife that we encountered, mantas and whale sharks included. Rates are high if compared to Red Sea, but standards for Maldives. I would strongly suggest to try out the night “fluo” dive.

Accommodation: the water villa is roomy, with comfortable wide beds and a large enough terrace. Privacy is protected and the direct access to the lagoon is a clear value. A must do experience. The room decoration is OK apart from the toilettes. There is a safe box and an (empty) fridge. Cleaning staff passed very discretely twice a day ensuring availability of fresh clean towels. I cannot say that the room was spotless as you could see dust accumulated in some corners, but honestly speaking nothing to be upset of. People occupying the beach bungalows said to be very satisfied with their accommodation, but I guess that the bungalow position (windy side or not, closeness to restaurant and reception, etc.) and your own preferences play a factor here. We had a couple of very minor issues (telephone not working, the door of the fridge case fell off), but they were fixed immediately.

Restaurant and Food: the restaurant is located on the beach, ensuring regular circulation of air and therefore a pleasant temperature. Food is of good quality, but maybe it lacks of variety. Actually, you get every day a lot of different things to eat, but then you see the same dishes several times during a week – and we were on half board. The restaurant staff is very efficient and polite, it was a pleasure to leave a tip.

Resort: this is a perfect place for people who want to dive and/or relax, just imagine that the free material available for water sports was very rarely used by any guest. So do not come here if you look for fun, music and activities. We did not have any issue, but they seem to overbook the beach bungalows as we met several people who needed to spend at least one night in a garden bungalow even if always receiving some kind of compensation. We were on half board (they also offer full board and all inclusive) which means that lunch and drinks are not included. Drinks here means anything to drink, namely you have to pay for the water which I do not think it is correct. It would be nice to offer a couple of bottles of water per day per room.

Overall we are very satisfied and we higly recommend this island and the resort!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    92
    18
    5
    11
See reviews for
21
182
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We booked a few nights in the resort in February. Having flown into Male around midday, our seaplane was delayed a bit which meant we didn't arrive to the resort at 4. Our water bungalow was ready for us to go in and rest. We asked for coral reef views, and it was well worth it -the other water bungalows had views and noise of the seaplane, which seemed to arrive up to 4 times a day.
A downside of looking towards the reef is that sometimes there would be people swimming/snorkeling which meant you couldn't take a bath with the door open onto the ocean... But a minor downside, of course. Waking up in the morning looking at the ocean or enjoying the deck views onto the ocean was really nice.
The room was fairly basic, with a tv, a/c, and a small fridge. Furniture was basic but in line with the bungalow theme.

The resort was nice and most of the staff were nice and well mannered, except for one particular receptionist who seemed to be asleep all the time and had no idea or williness to find out about activity prices, availability, etc. It was the lack of motivation that bothered us the most. They have sports facilities - most of them not free-, a small library, table tennis and darts. Do remember to bring your own snorkelling equipment, as there's only one shop in the resort. There is also a massage parlour but it's extremely expensive.

Food is served at the other end of the resort. Some guests go barefoot as it's sandy. Hawainas were ok with us. Be aware that most guests have their food early and towards the end, dishes may not be replenished due to kitchen closing. Food seemed quite repetitive and given that this is your only choice, I would have liked to see more variety. Dining tables seem to be assigned to a particular room - not first come-first served. This means that you may be stuck with a table far from the ocean or close to the buffet area. Speak to your waiter if you are not happy with this as they may be able to re-allocate you at some stage (but make a big fuss or you'll be ignored)

Points to improve:
- More food variety
- Sport facilities should be more easy to book and material readily available
- A water bottle provided on arrival would be useful
- Encourage rotation of dinning tables or re-allocate better tables to guests as others check out from the resort

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

My husband and I visited Filitheyo Island about nine years ago and had an unforgettable dive with manta rays. We very much hoped that this would be the case with Angaga and we were not disappointed: we had two amazing dives at a manta cleaning station. At one point I was looking at two manta rays cavorting together when I was momentarily distracted by a giant turtle which literally swam past inches from my nose!

But let's start at the beginning. Angaga is a very small island and they pack as many villas on to it (with twenty water bungalows) as they can. There is talk of another group of water bungalows being added some time this year and this will make it a very crowded place. The strange thing was that it didn't feel crowded at any time (except when queuing for food at the buffet in the evening). During the day, everyone just seemed to chill out in couples or small groups and it was easy to feel alone. Having said that, it was a bit hectic at dinner, which is served from 7.30 to 9.00pm. There was always plenty of food and they never seemed to run out of anything, but it was not the pleasantest way of getting a plate full of food. Also, the food is not haute cuisine by any means, and everyone we spoke to on the island said that they were having a great time but the food could be improved. We were half board, so I don't know what lunch was like in the main restaurant, but in the bar it was frankly disappointing: my husband ordered a tuna sandwich expecting a delightful fresh fish snack and got a tinned tuna sandwich from a toasted sandwich maker!

All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, as is the management. We didn't like the first water bungalow we were allocated so asked to change rooms. There was no problem whatsoever about this, and we heard of other people doing the same thing. There are twenty water bungalows built on a jetty with the sundown bar at the end. I would not want numbers 150 or 170 as these face the island and their balconies are clearly visible by anyone walking from the island to the bar: not private at all. Numbers 151 to 160 are the best if you like the sun as they get it in the morning and for most of the day.

The dive centre is run by Sub Aqua, a German set-up. They are extremely good, friendly but efficient and marvellous time keepers: the boats left when they said and arrived back when they said. The guides are all excellent, particularly Nadine and Kevin, who are the bosses of the team. I would point out, however, that the diving is not cheap and nothing is thrown in. We are used to diving with guides and were a bit taken aback that we had to pay $5 per person per dive for a guide. We had pre-booked our diving through Regal Dive in the UK but did not realise that this did not include the boat trips, which were charged at $15 per person per trip. On top of that you have to pay 10% service charge on almost everything and 8% government tourist tax on absolutely everything. Don't expect cheap diving. Of course, if you dive the house reef without a guide, you don't pay any extra, but you don't get the chance to dive with manta rays or whale sharks either. However, the dive centre and the area attract divers to return year after year, so maybe I am being ultra picky.

In conclusion I would say that we had a lovely holiday in spite of the fact that it rained a couple of times in the ten days we were there. The hotel is a great place to unwind, relax and get away from it all. Most of the guests are couples, either middle-aged or elderly and there is large proportion of Germans and Italians.

Room Tip: We were told that the island villas were all quiet but they did seem pretty close together. Avoid w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORWICH
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just returned from an amazing fortnight at this beautiful little island. This is one of the prettiest islands we have been to (a bit like Athuruga when we first went in 2004). This island has kept to the true rustic Maldives, everything blends in and it truly is gorgeous. You can walk round the island at a slow pace in about 15mins and sometimes not encounter anyone else. On arrival we were greeted warmly by the reception staff and taken to our bungalow where everything was explained to us. Our bungalow (104) was on the east side right by the reef which was prefect for us, couldn't have picked a better room. We were literally 20 paces from the sea (at high tide). When the tide was out there was loads of beach on this side, the other side has more but there seem to more people on it and our side seemed so much quieter. The sand bank is amazing and great for photos. Our bungalow was spotlessly clean all the time, very spacious, everything that we needed, love the outside bathroom, having a shower as fruit bats fly overhead. There was a TV (didn't get switched on once), tea & coffee making facilities and a small fridge, The bed was huge and so comfortable, also plenty of sockets which is good for charging everything. All of the staff on the whole island were so friendly and cheerful, always a nice smile and a hello, special mention to Shareef who always seemed to look after us in the bar ( amazing cocktails) and out waiter Habeeb who was lovely. The food was plentiful and tasty, lots of fish which was always delicious and as usual the curries are great ( extra chilli on the side if you wanted to spice things up). We always thought that there was plenty of choice every day so there was always something there for everyone. Loved the sushi at lunchtime, bread always yummy and the puds (so my husband tells me) were always delicious. I was good and stuck to cheese, biscuits & fruit!! The white wine in the restaurant wasn't to our taste but the red wine was fine. We had an amazing fishing trip where we all caught loads of fish which was cooked for us when we got back and we all ate on the beach. The reef here is gorgeous, there is an inner part if you are not comfortable with swimming in deep water and we saw turtles on this bit as well as all of the beautiful marine life that is in abundance in the Maldives, beautiful coral formations too. On the drop off we saw good size sharks, more turtles, a couple of eagle rays and every day our little bat fish family. We probably spent 3 hrs out there one morning, think we got a bit carried away , ended up going over half way round but saw amazing things. Some reviews have commented on the nearness of boats and the seaplanes but we didn't encounter any such problems. We came home totally chilled, well relaxed and now I have the task of deciding which island to go to next year, would we go back to Angaga, definitely we would.

Room Tip: We preferred the East side, right near the reef drop off
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

My wife and I just returned from 2 glorious weeks on Angaga. As others have stated if you want nightly entertainment and loads of side trips go somewhere else. Angaga is a total chill resort, every bungalow has it's own loungers, so no towels in the morning, some of the most friendly staff we have encountered. The bungalows are spacious and kept at a very high standard. The food is good and plentiful and the bars serve a great selection of drinks and cocktails. There is a house reef that is abundant with marine-life, including small white tip sharks and turtles. The outer reef diving is excellent and we had the pleasure of diving with Sub Aqua Dive Center. I am a PADI Master Instructor and 36 years diving experience, worldwide. This one of, if not the most professional dive centers I have had the pleasure to dive with. The management staff and instructors are very knowledgeable in both diving and the local area. They take their jobs very serious and ensure all have a great, pleasurable and safe dive. It was great to see such commitment from dive professionals. We had the time of our lives and got the chance to dive with Whale Shark and Manta Rays. If you want good diving, snorkeling or just a laid back holiday on white sandy beaches, with no one trying to sell you trips and timeshares this is the place for you. We booked the Island with Splendid Asia a local firm and booked our own flights with Emirates. All details and transfers were handled with the utmost efficiency and all was first rate. It is no problem for us to recommend this resort and will return again.

Room Tip: My choice is Beach Bungalows 20 feet from the waters edge and your own Loungers
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is a lovely island to be total chilled out, it has a good house reef with lots of fish to see and a white sandy beach. we had a fantastic holiday at Christmas,all the staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble they all work so hard to make this a special time, the food for the Christmas gala dinner is out of this world.
we had a beach bungalow which was very spacious and kept very clean by the room boy.
we hope to return again soon

Room Tip: choose beach bungalows 130-150
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

If you like good service, a parasol at the beach for some shade and some activities/ life at night you better pick another island like Reethi beach resort.

Angaga in a nutshell

Pro's
- nice island with wide beach
- spacious bungalows
- good food

Con's
- lack of shade at the beach since the management refuses to provide parasols (how ridiculous
stupid it is)
- moody waiter in restaurant (every day the same moody face without asking anything)
- fixed table in restaurant (so unfair when you have a ' bad place')
- almost no activities at the island, no life at night
- flora and fauna in the water was not so good as Baa atol (Reethi Beach Resort)
- maintenance is in bad shape

Conclusion: I would not visit the island anymore. Can recommend Reethi much more for it's lower price and better quality.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Angaga Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angaga Island Resort

Address:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Angaga Island
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angaga Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Angaga Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Angaga Island Resort & Spa is located in the South Ari Atoll and is surrounded by a wealth of natural beauty along with crystal clear waters and a white sandy beach. The island is approximately 45,000 square metres and is superb for snorkeling and diving with the house reef just 7-8 metres from the beach featuring live coral and beautiful marine life. This is a great island for those holidaymakers seeking peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Angaga Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angaga Island Hotel Angaga Island
Hotel Angaga Island
Angaga Island Resort Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angaga Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.