We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully quiet, great beaches and snorkelling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angaga Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Angaga Island Resort to your Saves list
Angaga Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |     |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angaga Island
Berkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wonderfully quiet, great beaches and snorkelling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

We had a wonderful week at Angaga. Went on a package with Thomsons and upgraded the flight to premium. No delays either way. Food was better the BA WT+ and cabin crew at least as good. Smooth transfer at Male and great seaplane leg with one prior stop at Vilamendhoo. No fuss on arrival, just a quick drink, handout about the AI package and off to our beach bungalow.

We chose Angaga for the snorkelling. It was fantastic. We saw different things every day including numerous wrasses, damselfish, parrotfish, various rays, reef sharks and on the final day, the turtle on a newish reef area right outside our room. I enjoyed it more than Angsana as the water was mainly calm, even on the outside of the reef. That may have been just lucky, or because we were 7 weeks later this year. There are some areas of damage, but hopefully these will slowly build and recover.

I don't dive but OH does and was very happy. Diving is big on Angaga and was safe, well organised (German run) and interesting. We have great photos of passing mantas and the guides were good at spotting little things such as nudibranches, ghost pipefish and flatworm.

Food was all buffet style. Good bits: grilled fish (and meat), salads, curries, fresh fruit. Not so good: bread, cakes, desserts. The barbecue on the beach one night was enjoyable for a change. Being on AI, we tried lots of cocktails, mainly in the sundown bar before dinner. House wine was fine. Not sure if the economics of the AI upgrade were worth it but mentally it made for a relaxing holiday and we did do the included snorkel trip to Pineapple Island one afternoon. Coral there was amazing.

Our room was fine. We had beautiful sunsets to watch every evening. Everyone has their own numbered sunlounger and you can move it to sun, shade or the beach as you wish. There are lines and pegs for washing/drying. Beach towels replaced every evening.

What I liked most about the island (apart from the snorkelling) was the peace. There was a band one evening and that was it for nightlife. Long may it stay this way. People chatted a bit, but not loudly. There was no canned music and everyone used headphones. Mercifully there was only one child, aged about 4, when we were there although a family with teenagers arrived just before we left. At a guess, 75% of the guests were German, 10% each British and Japanese and the remainder other European. Most were couples but there were some singles and friends too.

One day I hope we will return. In the meantime, go if you are content with reading, snorkelling/diving, and fresh food. Don't go if you will disturb the peace or rate five star dining above the enjoyment of a beautiful island.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    83
    17
    4
    8
See reviews for
17
171
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

This was our 8th trip to the Maldives and our 7th resort. We go to the Maldives for the relaxing environment and the reef.

The best thing about the island was the reef, you could get into the sea nearly anywhere and snorkel all the way around the island back to where you started. The reef is very colourful and varied.

The island is well looked after. We stayed in a water villa, if we were to return our choice here would be a beech bungalow, they were all well placed for the beech whereas the water villa was quite windy and lost the sun after about 1pm. The water villas are a little tired but ok. The air-con was not so good and the shower definitely had a drainage problem but other than that the room was exactly as it should be, clean, spacious and somewhere to sleep.

The food was ok but not as good as we have had elsewhere. It was a bit repetitive, although the choice was large. A lot of the food was fried and the salads were not very adventurous.

As always the staff were very hard working, our room was kept spotless, and our waiter was very attentive.

Wi Fi worked ok in the bar and reception, and they have a computer you can use and pay for internet which was fine.

It was a really nice island, we don’t normally go back to the same island since there are so many to choose from, but I would recommend this one if you like snorkelling and swimming.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

We had a week in January at Angaga - it was exactly what we wanted.

We've also been to Komandoo, Vilamendhoo, Ranvelhi and Royal Island - we think Angaga has the best reef. It was windy the week we were there so the water was choppy on the outside of the reef so occasionally we snorkelled on the beach side of the reef where it was more sheltered where the sealife and coral is still absolutely amazing. Several times we saw white tip reef sharks early morning before breakfast - outside edge of the reef between the long jetty and the boat entrance. On one occasion there were 4 together - well over a metre long. Be aware of the currents because there aren't many gaps through the reef (unlike some other islands we've been to) Also saw octopus (on inside of reef, edge of the lagoon) eagle ray, other rays, turtles, resident porcupine ray (by flat rocks on beach in the lagoon) and of course millions of fish.

Food was very good - wide selection. We thought the drinks in the main bar were better than the sunset bar - the measures were more generous. We couldn't taste the gin in the G&Ts or the rum in the pinacoladas at the sunset bar!

Room was lovely - 108 which is on the eastern side where there was a good breeze so cooler than the lagoon side. Lost the sun on our beach about 4pm but no problem to take a towel round to the sunny side and watch the sunset.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Chose Angaga after reading that it has one of the best house reefs.

This was our third trip to the Maldives - previously stayed on Kuramathi

Checked out options to get to Angaga and found a Thompson package. It's a shame they charge extra for seat reservations, drinks and films - but everything else was fine - no delays.

Our original holiday was booked for 2nd Dec - but was cancelled on the day due to snow at Gatwick - Thompson handled that well - though of course it was very disappointing at the time - but we rebooked easily enough.

We stayed in a water bungalow. we slightly missed having the sand and plants so close as with a beach bungalow - but it was fantastic to step off the balcony every morning for pre breakfast swim then backup the steps straight into the shower.

We decided to try the half board option - which I think was £250pp cheaper than AI (or $50pp per day when on the island - you can just upgrade for a few days if you want to) We'd done AI before - it's great to be able to try all the cocktails and not worry about the cost - but the downside for me shows up on the scales when I get home!

So this time HB - we had a good breakfast - usually skipped lunch - then 2 or 3 beers in the sunset bar before dinner - and a few in the beach bar too. The bill was $250 for both of us for the week - so we were quids in and no extra weight to get rid of afterwards!

Snorkelling was very good - lots of different fish and the coral is beautiful.
At low tide the water is too shallow to swim over some of the coral close to the island - but the coral also extends out a long way out from the sunset bar where the water bungalows are.

Food was very good - there was always a good selection of dishes - Maldivian fish dishes plus beef,lamb and chicken dishes - salads - fanastic sweets. Friendy service.

We were among a few english couples - I would say most of the guests are German but there were a mixture of other nationalities too.

Angaga is a lovely little island with a real Maldivian feel to it - I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet island especially if snorkeling is one of your priorities.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

It was our second time on Maldives and we wanted something like the one we've been before, but this was much nicer then we expected! Beautiful white coral beach almost all around, house reef really beautiful. Big variety of fishes and corals, you can spot something new every day. Coconuts give a nice shed, but be careful not to lay just beneath, since the nuts could fall down on you.
Food as may said is of big variety, every day something special, but we also thought that there is a room for improvement there. I gained 2 kg, so it wasn't that bad.lol
Everything else beautiful, cozy, calm, clean, peacful, romantic. We loved it and are thinking to come again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Arrived in male airport had a lovely flight first choice, very quick through customs took straight to angaga rep told to place luggage with sea plane company,never saw cases till we got to the island.
Went to sea plane terminal fast and quick, had time to wash and brush up,then put on our sea plane to angaga island, fab flight take video camera with you,breath taking.
Landed at island 30 minuite flight met by lad with hot towels and cool drink.

Stayed in beach bungalow out of this world own varanda with swing and day bed and two sun beds sand like powder ,sea clear and warm house reef very good,
snorkling excellent seen moray eels loads of fish white tip sharks, turtles

Food was excellant sevice was great xmas eve gala dinner was outstanding and
evening entertainment was brilliant well done all staff.
Went diving had to finish of my padi diving 3& 4 level thank you Giti for been so good a instructor, when we got of the reef and dropped into the unknown well words lost me
breath taking and wonderfull.

To some up on this island unspoilt total robinson cruiso no golf buggys here just a desert island no frills FAB FAB FAB.
Also have to say we saw 4 or 5 people a day around the island, the island holds about 100 guests went to dinner at night every body was there then,
where everybody went in the day who knows FAB XX

Evening sunset around 6 pm a must in the sunset bar we will be going again for xmas
carnt wait.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Angaga was brilliant. The island and resort ended up being exactly what we were looking for: fairly small, brilliant snorkelling (so good we didn’t even bother with scuba diving), decent service, unpretentious but clean and well equipped rooms and superb views and vistas. It really is a little piece of paradise.

The food was good, and while not fancy, there was always ample variety. The staff are courteous but not overly friendly, which should not be considered a negative – it often boils down to a limited command of English. The water bungalows were very nice, and while the decor is not five-star, everything was clean and perfectly serviced daily. We also looked at the beach bungalows, and they are definitely a viable alternative, especially as they are a little less expensive.

The all-inclusive package was a good choice, as the cocktails are expensive, and we developed a liking for caparinhas, which cost US$10 a shot. Also, everything paid for attracts a further 10 percent service charge, which adds further cost – but not if you are on an all-inclusive package, which adds further value. Our request for a late checkout was honoured, which gave us another half day on the island – our seaplane transfer was at 15h00.

I was a bit puzzled by the very negative review from another couple (with photos to prove their complaints), but saw though the review was logged in Dec 2010, their stay was in May 2010. I can only assume that the hotel rectified the problems they complained about, as we encountered none of the problems and the upholstery and curtains in the water bungalow seemed brand new. We would definitely go back to Angaga.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angaga Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angaga Island Resort

Address:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Angaga Island
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angaga Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Angaga Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Angaga Island Resort & Spa is located in the South Ari Atoll and is surrounded by a wealth of natural beauty along with crystal clear waters and a white sandy beach. The island is approximately 45,000 square metres and is superb for snorkeling and diving with the house reef just 7-8 metres from the beach featuring live coral and beautiful marine life. This is a great island for those holidaymakers seeking peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Angaga Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angaga Island Hotel Angaga Island
Hotel Angaga Island
Angaga Island Resort Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angaga Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.