We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST VISIT if you are on the Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osborne House

Osborne House
East Cowes PO32 6JX, England
+44 1983 200022
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in East Cowes
Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Former retreat for Queen Victoria and Prince Albert (circa 1845) still retains many of the royal couple's possessions, art work and photographs.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A MUST VISIT if you are on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

What a splendid place, unspoilt views across the Solent and enchanting home of a previous Queen. I loved it and have been back several times bringing visiting friends

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    734
    306
    84
    26
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never gonna give you up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

we went to a concert here last summer and it was fab we were entertained by Rick Ashley,ABC,Will Young Bannanarama and many more

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A "Must See" Masterpiece”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Every visitor to the Isle of Wight should see Osborne House at least once. It is a masterpiece of Italianate design in a lovely seaside location, which has been beautifully maintained by English Heritage.

Having been a Royal residence it's history is exceptionally interesting. The tour guides are extremely informative about Queen Victoria, Prince Albert and their children and the part that Osborne House played in their lives. As it was their family home there is very much a feeling of history still being alive.

The facilities are first rate, an excellent gift shop and cafeteria, and an extensive car park. In a review of this nature it is sometimes difficult to do justice to an attraction and this is one such case. You simply have to see it for yourself.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

At first I thought, the house must be boring, the same as other grand houses and palaces everywhere in the country, they all looked the same to me anyway. Guess Osborne House proved me wrong when I was walking into its rooms. Real and royal happy family lived here.And Queen Victoria even died in her own bedroom here. The expensive and luxurious materials inside the house didn't matter. This house actually was once full of family life, and that's very heartwarming to me. Not just a house to entertain royal guests and hold boring royal meetings.

The garden is so beautiful in summer,and you could see the sea from there at a distance.The little toy museum was interesting. The place is just picturesque.The highlight for me I thnk was the "bathing machine" they have used while bathing in the sea. I saw a few programs on how they used this machine and I find it funny and interesting.

Osborne House is a good place to spend a day, strolling in the vast estate, enjoying the views, and especially history.A must-see if you are in the IOW.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Get a taste of the real Victoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This is a fascinating place. Well worth a visit. Particularly like the Lodge where the Princes and Princesses had their "museum" and the gardens. This is an excellent place

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osborne House also viewed

 
Totland, Isle of Wight
Godshill, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Osborne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osborne House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.