We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful sandy beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salmon Cove Sands

Salmon Cove Sands
Salmon Cove, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful sandy beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Visited the beach July 28-31. There is a small admission fee. Dog friendly beach. Outhouses with hand sanitizer and toilet paper. Change rooms near the beach, with boardwalk and 2 gazebos with picnic tables. The sand is dark and soft, some seaweed along the shore. Nice place for a swim. The view of the rock structures in the water are beautiful. There is also a large volleyball net set up for use on the beach. There is also a small canteen in the parking lot area. Will visit this beach again, very nice.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A very beautiful cove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

The North Atlantic water was cold. However, the rugged setting and clear water was breathtaking. The sand was dark and fine. I was told that between Northern Bay Sands and Salmon Cove Sands, Salmon Cove was better.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I love relaxing on this beach beach nestled on the eastern part of Newfoundland and Labrador.
I your driving from St John's its worth the trip to go and spend the day with a picnic and your kids on this beach,
You won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbour Grace, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful even in the EARLY spring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

It was only 10 degrees today but my four kids and I still enjoyed the view and playtime in the sand. It's such a peaceful place to visit all the time

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach, Stunning Scenery and Nice Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Salmon Cove Beach in Newfoundland has sand and lots of it. It's dark sand but it's sand nonetheless which is not something you see much of in Newfoundland. As such, this place is popular for families and those with dogs. They have Porta Potties (not the nicest bathrooms but at least they have them fully stocked with toilet paper and hand sanitizer) and picnic tables as well.

The beach is vast so you won't feel crowded and the scenery from the beach is as beautiful as it gets. There are sea cliffs and sea stacks and when we were there, the Newfoundland & Labrador Tourism Board was filming a commercial to advertise the area. I can see why: it's gorgeous!

There is also a short hike, The Trail of the Eagle which is only about 2 km, above the beach in the woods. There are a plethora of blueberry bushes in there as well so if you go during blueberry season, you'll have fun picking blueberries as well as hiking. The hike isn't too challenging except going up the stairs in the beginning as they are steep. Wear bug spray though because there are lots of insects in the woods including black flies. I was bitten on the neck twice despite wearing repellent but I didn't apply it to my neck.

The beach itself is dog friendly and there are rubbish bins near the parking lot. To get to the parking lot, turn onto Penny's Road from Highway 70. It isn't signed very well so be sure to have your GPS or map with you so you don't miss the turnoff. There is also a $2.50 fee per person to visit Salmon Cove for which you'll receive a ticket you can put on your dashboard.

There are lots of places to eat or get a picnic lunch in nearby towns like Carbonear or Harbour Grace. There is also a boardwalk for those who prefer not to go on the beach or those in a wheelchair so you can still enjoy the view. There is also a lookout point where you get the best view.

Salmon Cove is definitely worth the drive from St. John's. The photos don't do it justice; it's more breathtaking in person.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salmon Cove Sands also viewed

 

Been to Salmon Cove Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salmon Cove Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Salmon Cove Sands to your Saves list