We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ulagalla what a superb place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ulagalla Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ulagalla Resort to your Saves list
Ulagalla Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Thirappane | Anuradhapura, Thirappane 50072, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thirappane
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ulagalla what a superb place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

What a lovely stay on our roundtrip in Sri Lanka. The room was big, special and clean,
the staff was very kind and helpful, and the meals lovely. Very nice Garden with many animals and if we go back to Sri Lanka we stay few nights more in Ulagalla.
Thank you so much for everything we got there!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    46
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
107
197
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed our first three nights in Sri Lanka at Ulagalla - it is a fantastic hotel in stunning grounds. The large airy beautifully furnished villa we had was set in the trees with private plunge pool outside - the perfect place to unwind after the long flight out. The sound of exotic birdsong was blissful to wake to in the mornings. The food and service was really excellent and so friendly and helpful. Lovely romantic spa surrounded by an ornate pond was very relaxing with great massage by lovely girl from Indonesia. Very eco friendly each villa has bicycles for you to cycle back to the main house for meals etc but if you don't want to cycle you just call up and someone comes to pick you up in a golf buggy for the lovely ride round past the horses and stables to the beautiful main house. The pool is absolutely stunning as is the main house. There are plenty of activities on offer - we didnt have time for any of those as we had a busy schedule of sightseeing in Anaradhapura and Polunawurra - absolutely incredible as was Sigiyria. We fell in love with Sri Lanka from the moment we arrived and Ulagalla was the perfect lovely start to that. Thank you

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This has to be one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had--actually not really a hotel, but a very special environment. The accommodation is unbelievable and truly unique--private 'bungalows' that are spacious, well-appointed and extremely comfortable--as well as private. Staff are genuinely warm, friendly and efficient--nothing is too much to ask. If you want a truly luxurious break, this is the place. Do not be put off by rather isolated location--much to do on site--especially if you like wildlife and birds.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The team at Ulagalla made our honeymoon stay an epic one. The staff is great; courteous and always willing to help. They pay attention to the small details that make a massive difference.

The location is amazing and the accommodation is world-class.

Thank you for an amazing stay. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moratuwa, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This hotel is a superb one with very friendly staff...Located in a great place, plenty of activities, food was excellent well worth the money you spend for the facilities they provide... Would like to recommend any one to visit...An amazing hotel no words to say...Go n experience...A+++++++ from me..

Room Tip: Comfortable beds, Plenty of facilities and leisure activities, love the plunge pools and excellent f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Ulagalla is such an amazing place.. Ultimate getaway whether you are a couple or a family.. With your own plunge pool and in-room dinning through out the day.. lush greenery, paddy fields, peacocks everywhere.. kayaking and horse riding.. friendly staff.. list can go on.. We can't wait to go back..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haputale, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The most beautiful holiday experience I ever had! :) This I will never forget... I am proud of you my Sri Lanka!! my beautiful country.

UGA Resort is very welcoming, we started our hotel stay by lighting up the oil lamp and the tradition by ringing the bells notifying all that we have arrived. Then it was dark we got late to be there because we visited the Ancient City Anuradhapura. They offered some herbal drink for welcoming and a Cold Towel. it was refreshing after the travelling. Directly they took us to our Villas by buggy's, our chalet was no 11. It was very much modern inside with a Plunge Pool. The Living area was really cosy, The Toilets are large and very specious. The Bed is really comfortable. The lighting inside the villa was operated by a touch panel, it was a modern touch. Quite a large resort, with 20 Chalets. Bicycles are provided for travelling inside the resort. But on call buggies are available at any given time.

The "Wallawwa" offers a great dining experience and the BAR completes it. The beautiful pool view and the lush green surrounds it. The large Swimming pool was relaxing, The SPA was expensive...but the therapist was a BALI Lady so it was a experience. Activities, cycling around the resort was exciting, Bird watching and Photography...I Loved it. There was Archery available, but I did not try that. The Billiard table in the Wallawa was maintained well for a nice game. They have horse riding a well.

The Eco concept was very high, the ECO vegetarian Garden, Paddy fields makes it so nature friendly. The fresh food served in the restaurant was really good. The taste is excellent. The most appreciated thing the Pastry and bread Items, It was Super fresh, quality and tasty.

Ulagalla Chalet features:
Garden, Paddy or Lake View
Large King size four poster bed
Dining Area
Plunge Pool
42 Inch LED TV
Living area
Large bathroom with rain shower
Movie on demand
Safe
Mini Bar
Complimentary WI-FI
Tea & Coffee making facilities
His & hers bath robes
Hair Dryer
Bicycles
Sun deck
24 hour room service
Canapé platter

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ulagalla Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ulagalla Resort

Address: Thirappane | Anuradhapura, Thirappane 50072, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Thirappane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thirappane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ulagalla Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique hotel and spa located in Anuradhapura, North Central of Sri Lanka. Built on 58 lush acres bordering two ancient reservoirs, surrounded by unspoilt nature and tucked away in complete privacy, the resort offers 20 spacious and luxurious chalets, 19 stand alone chalets and one suite, each with its own private plunge pool with all modern amenities. Ulagalla Resort is the perfect base for travelers with a thirst for adventure and a passion for wildlife. But we understand that great adventures are also about elegant simplicity – to return to a cool dip in the pool, rejuvenate in the spa or sip a sundowner on a private deck.Located at the center of the Cultural Triangle and close to national parks, Ulagalla is the perfect base for travelers with a thirst for adventure and passion for wildlife. The resort offers many excursions and guided tours: A cycling tour can be taken to explore the ancient capital of Anuradhapura in a novel way. Exciting wildlife safaris to the plains of Minneriya National Park to watch the elephants or further West to Wilpattu National Park – the realm of leopards - are organized with all the necessary permits.Witness the wonder of Kalawewa – a giant reservoir and a proud feat of engineering of an ancient kingdom, or visit the ancient ruins of Ritigala. Explore the marvels of Sigiriya, Dambulla, Polonnaruwa and other sites of archaeological and historical significance on a day trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Ulagalla Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulagalla Hotel Thirappane
Ulagalla Resort Sri Lanka/Thirappane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ulagalla Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.