We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what you call a RESORT!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ulagalla Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ulagalla Resort to your Saves list
Ulagalla Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Thirappane 50072, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thirappane
Haputale, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This is what you call a RESORT!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The most beautiful holiday experience I ever had! :) This I will never forget... I am proud of you my Sri Lanka!! my beautiful country.

UGA Resort is very welcoming, we started our hotel stay by lighting up the oil lamp and the tradition by ringing the bells notifying all that we have arrived. Then it was dark we got late to be there because we visited the Ancient City Anuradhapura. They offered some herbal drink for welcoming and a Cold Towel. it was refreshing after the travelling. Directly they took us to our Villas by buggy's, our chalet was no 11. It was very much modern inside with a Plunge Pool. The Living area was really cosy, The Toilets are large and very specious. The Bed is really comfortable. The lighting inside the villa was operated by a touch panel, it was a modern touch. Quite a large resort, with 20 Chalets. Bicycles are provided for travelling inside the resort. But on call buggies are available at any given time.

The "Wallawwa" offers a great dining experience and the BAR completes it. The beautiful pool view and the lush green surrounds it. The large Swimming pool was relaxing, The SPA was expensive...but the therapist was a BALI Lady so it was a experience. Activities, cycling around the resort was exciting, Bird watching and Photography...I Loved it. There was Archery available, but I did not try that. The Billiard table in the Wallawa was maintained well for a nice game. They have horse riding a well.

The Eco concept was very high, the ECO vegetarian Garden, Paddy fields makes it so nature friendly. The fresh food served in the restaurant was really good. The taste is excellent. The most appreciated thing the Pastry and bread Items, It was Super fresh, quality and tasty.

Ulagalla Chalet features:
Garden, Paddy or Lake View
Large King size four poster bed
Dining Area
Plunge Pool
42 Inch LED TV
Living area
Large bathroom with rain shower
Movie on demand
Safe
Mini Bar
Complimentary WI-FI
Tea & Coffee making facilities
His & hers bath robes
Hair Dryer
Bicycles
Sun deck
24 hour room service
Canapé platter

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    59
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
120
232
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

A luxurious collection of individual chalets set in extensive grounds. Our chalet had a sitting/dining room, large bedroom, big bathroom and our own plunge pool in delightful, peaceful surroundings. There is an over-complicated lighting system! Staff were friendly and helpful. Golf buggies ferry you to and from the main hotel complex or if you feel inclined bicycles are also provided. Loved the place and were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This place is so special you cannot believe you are on planet earth! The whole complex is simply stunning. Your every need is accommodated, nothing is too much trouble. Our chalet had 2 huge rooms, a bathroom , our own plunge pool and terrace with sunbeds, tables and chairs. Little buggy's come to ferry you from your chalet to the main house where breakfast and dinner are served. The food for us was superb, truly delicious - our only small issue was like said in a previous review, a little dark in the main dressing area - a very small issue that is easily forgotten! Evidence suggests from the comments book that guests previous suggestions have been put in place, which is very refreshing in this industry. We wanted particularly to mention Radika, who stands out amongst excellent staff for her charm and helpfulness. A truly memorable experience.

Room Tip: All the chalets are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed in a lovely two room chalet with a big bathroom. The staff couldn't have more accommodating. I'd highly recommend it even though it has a few flaws. The food, while elaborately prepared just wasn't up to top standards. Also the rooms could use more light. Minor quibbles, we loved the place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had 3 nights here at the start of our honeymoon and it was the most wonderful way to begin the holiday. The weather was pretty shocking, and it rained heavily for most of our time here, but the property was so lovely and the staff so friendly that we soon didn't really notice the weather. There was enough to keep us occupied regardless. We had a wonderful yoga class, that left us refreshed, and a cooking class with the fantastic chef that we collected ingredients for from the hotel garden before hand. There is a small gym and a large swimming pool, as well as a plunge pool at each room.
The food was wonderful, breakfast through to dinner were all totally delicious and there is a wide choice of foods so there is something for all tastes. I highly recommend trying the local dishes, they are wonderful.
The suite was large, with a separate dining area and sofa, as well as a big bedroom area and superb bathroom. I think the only thing that was wrong was that we had to leave so soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is heaven in Sri Lanka. In a remote location with substantial grounds for getting away from it all. We received excellent service, toured the food gardens with the chef who than provided a lesson in curry cooking. For bird watchers this would be paradise, for others a great place to get away from it all. Our room had a private plunges pool, but the main pool was equally impressive. On the negative side, they need to work on their in room air con that is attached to the hot water system. It's noisy but switch it off and you lose the hot water.......This is a destination resort recommended..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had two gorgeous nights at Ulagalla on our recent honeymoon and although a long drive from Colombo the location was pretty breathtaking when we arrived in the blissful surroundings. We got a lovely welcome from the fantastic staff and we immediately felt at home and rather happy. We had a gorgeous room, loved riding around the property on the bikes and it's a pretty impressive pool! We generally put our feet up and did very little - which was the plan. The food was good, not the best we had in SL by some way, but breakfast was delicious and the restaurant setting is very nice. I would definitely recommend to those wanting to get away from it all and relax!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ulagalla Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ulagalla Resort

Address: Thirappane 50072, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Thirappane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thirappane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ulagalla Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique hotel and spa located in Anuradhapura, North Central of Sri Lanka. Built on 58 lush acres bordering two ancient reservoirs, surrounded by unspoilt nature and tucked away in complete privacy, the resort offers 20 spacious and luxurious chalets, 19 stand alone chalets and one suite, each with its own private plunge pool with all modern amenities. Ulagalla Resort is the perfect base for travelers with a thirst for adventure and a passion for wildlife. But we understand that great adventures are also about elegant simplicity – to return to a cool dip in the pool, rejuvenate in the spa or sip a sundowner on a private deck.Located at the center of the Cultural Triangle and close to national parks, Ulagalla is the perfect base for travelers with a thirst for adventure and passion for wildlife. The resort offers many excursions and guided tours: A cycling tour can be taken to explore the ancient capital of Anuradhapura in a novel way. Exciting wildlife safaris to the plains of Minneriya National Park to watch the elephants or further West to Wilpattu National Park – the realm of leopards - are organized with all the necessary permits.Witness the wonder of Kalawewa – a giant reservoir and a proud feat of engineering of an ancient kingdom, or visit the ancient ruins of Ritigala. Explore the marvels of Sigiriya, Dambulla, Polonnaruwa and other sites of archaeological and historical significance on a day trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Ulagalla Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulagalla Hotel Thirappane
Ulagalla Resort Sri Lanka/Thirappane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ulagalla Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.