We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Palolem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tavernaki - CLOSED

Tavernaki
Ourem, Palolem, Canacona 403702, India
00918408090673
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Tavernaki which means taverna in Greek is a quaint little reataurant situated right on main Palolem beach.It is the first of its kind here.Dressed completely in white and barely 20 feet from the shoreline,this shack serves authentic Greek cuisine from the grill.From souvlaki wraps,gyros,kebabs and juicy grilled meat it also keeps up with the spirit of Goa by serving mouthwatering grilled seafood,Greek style!With portions fit for a king you will never leave hungry.So Come,experience,enjoy!The Taverna awaits!
Sydney
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Gem in Palolem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I know Greek food, I lived there for years, but rarely was it served so tasty and with so much charm .As soon as i reached Palolem after travelling in rural India and discovering this restaurant, I felt great relief insofar that good food had arrived - finally. Management and staff are excellent and I would like waiters and chefs from Greece to come here and take some lessons in good cooking and courteous service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Greek Indian Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We absolutely loved the food here very tasty and good variety. The waiter we had needed a little more practice but we had a laugh with him

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great little Greek place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

After days and days of delicious Indian cuisine, we were desperate for a change! and greek food was exactly that! Really enjoyed fresh salads, greek dishes and the setting, will definitely come back to eat here and recommend it to all Palolem visitors.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Taveranki = Peace Of Mind (SHANTIIIIIIIIIII) :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Elegantly decorated and well located. (Mini Greece)
Menu is perfect, not too many items yet something for everyone. Excellent Stakes & Sausages
Staffs = Amazing frnds
Music = Chill out reggae music. If you love dhinchak music then this is not a place for you.

All in all if you are heading goa for peace , then TAVERNAKI is the place for you.
Cheers !!!! :) :) :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just got back from 5 week stay at my place in Goa. Went to Tavernaki 3 times
Great food, lovely setting, wondeful staff..
I will be returning in Feb
Well worth a visit
Thanks again
Lorraine xx

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavernaki also viewed

Palolem, Canacona
Palolem, Canacona
 
Palolem, Canacona
Palolem, Canacona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavernaki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.