We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Goa... Bar None” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ourem 88

Ourem 88
South End Of Palolem Beach | Behind Rococo Pelton, Palolem, Canacona 403702, India
+91 86 98 827679
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in Palolem
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: European, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Modern, European Bistro food, Located in a quite coconut grove just 20m from the seashore behind Rococo Pelton at the southern end of Palolem beach, Ourem 88 is an intimate dining experience set in a beautiful courtyard of a traditional Goan house. At Ourem 88 we endeavour to use the freshest, locally sourced seasonal produce,fused with a western style of cooking to give you a tasty vibrant menu in relaxed & friendly surroundings.Our evening bistro menu changes weekly according to seasonal availability in the market to ensure a new & exciting experience on every visit.Clean, safe light & airy rooms also available.
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best food in Goa... Bar None”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I'm writing this review as an Indian food fanatic visiting Goa for the first time.

We've had some fantastic meals in our 2 week stay, however the real surprise was the unsurpassable Ourem 88 run by Brett and Jodie just off Palolem.

The courtyard setting is a treat, and gives that relaxed, homely feel.

The food was quite simply delicious and good enough to grace the table of any top London restaurant.

Brett (Co Owner - Front of House) is so welcoming, and happy to recommend other restaurants in the area, which we found very humble.

Jodie (Co-Owner - Chef) is a chef by trade, and has an unbelievable talent. The food really is Michelin Star quality in our opinion.

The restaurant is an absolute must for an traveller, holiday maker or ex-pat looking for that little taste of home after over indulging on Indian Cuisine.

Thanks for a great experience guys, see you next year.

Ryan & Michelle Macdonald

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Must try this place for gastronomic delights, great fish and chips, chicken pie and classic mash and veg

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“First rate western cuisine in India.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Ourem 88 is a delightful little place. It's unmistakably British, minus the lousy weather and overpriced everything. Here you will hear banter and tidbits of useful information tossed back and forth in cockney English between the almost exclusively British clientele. Despite its insouciant atmosphere and feel, serious cooking takes place in the kitchen.

The fare is not dissimilar in style to that served in trendy, upscale gastropubs in London's west end. Really solid, hearty pubgrub. Just what you'd want if you needed a respite India and its omnipresent fragrance of masala. Not that there is nothing wrong with masala, but sometimes the belly yearns for a taste of home.

Cooked to perfection with painstaking attention to each and every minutia of detail, nothing is left to chance. From the oven-scorched homemade chips, to the fresh kingfish blissfully battered to a crisp in the lightest oil, each and every dish has been prepared with consummate skill, care, and above all, elegance.

Yet there is nothing pretentious about this restaurant. The owner Brett brings each masterpiece out with a smile and cheerful nonchalance, as if gastronomic excellence is not the exception but the norm here. One can only admire the amount of thought that went into making the perfectly crispy pie dough or the exquisitely layered veg lasagne. And the deserts...oh the deserts....An angel must've brought a heavenly cheesecake with her from above - it's simply divine.

Now, aside from raving about the numinous cheesecake, I have some useful information for you. Book in advance. The restaurant is always full even in the off-season so be sure to give Brett a bell on his mobile to avoid disappointment.

Bon appetit!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa, India
1 review
“Book early for the best food in palolem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my wife were amazed at the quality and taste of the food at this gem of a restaurant. The portions were perfect even for a large appetite. We met Brett the owner for the first time tonight and he's a genuine man who is definitely on the right track. He only takes a certain amount of bookings to ensure that the customer gets the right attention and service, and we felt compelled to write a review. The food is served on nice plates, and was hot and very fresh tasting. I had Tiger prawns that were like baby lobster and a Fillet steak better than in uk. My wife had mushroom starter then the tastiest pork chop with homemade mash and broccoli and green beans. When you've had enough of the spice and curry in Goa then this place is an absolute must.
Loved it !!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Delicious treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We are long term travellers and normally prefer to eat local food and at budget prices - but we heard such great things about this restaurant that we just couldn't resist trying it!
We are vegetarians, which severely limited our options, but that helped us to choose, as everything sounded and looked so yummy.
We were delighted with the service of Brett, and the gorgeous tastes and textures of Jodie's food.
We highly recommend the feta cheese baked with oregano to start, a risotto for main, and the profiteroles for dessert.
An easy way to book would be to drop by in the morning and see what dates and times they have available - in high season you are likely to have to wait a week or so for a space...
Hilary from the UK : )

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ourem 88 also viewed

Palolem, Canacona
Palolem, Canacona
 
Palolem, Canacona
Palolem, Canacona
 

Been to Ourem 88? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ourem 88, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.