We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing water but somehow dirty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Troia Beach

Troia Beach
Setubal, Val do Tejo, Troia, Portugal
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Troia
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Relaxing water but somehow dirty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This beach has a fantastic view and relaxing waters.
In some places it could be found some human garbage in the water.

The beach has many families with young children so a lot of noise is to be expected. Even so, they can behave and don't bother other people.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    30
    13
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Glorious Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is an amazing island! Although the ferry to get there from Setubal is a bit pricey it is really worth it. Watch out for the Mosquitos at the Dock........

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice but full of flies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

the beach is nice, but it was full of algues which attracted a lot of flies. If you walk further away from the hotel area it seemed better though.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not planned but most interesting place i've been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

my girlfriend and i landed in Lisbon year ago, rented a car and just drove -- stopped wherever we thought may be a cool place. visited a number of beautiful small cities like Sintra, Obidos where we stayed at a mid-evil hotel -- wow, plus Cascais & Estoril and worked our way to Nazare and Fatima (wonderful experience). we looked at the map and decided to take the Ferry to Troia, not knowing what to expect and oh boy we had a most undescribable experience once we entered that island. we felt like we were at the end of the world, one way driving in and one way out. our hotel was so futuristic we could hardly believe this could exist. everything inside the huge lobby was white leather, the name of the hotel was AQUALUZ, sort of eerie but very affortable, we split everything in half, and from the 10th floor could overlook a magnificant ocean/beach -- wow, it was breath-taking. the peninsula Troia is looking at the Atlantic Ocean and the Sado River, only one hour from Lisboa. we, my GF and i have not met anyone who has ever been there -- what a great trip. also the portugal airline was heavenly, the service and friendliness from that little country Portugal was something we experienced throughout the whole trip. we picked a little restaurant, purchased a Gyros sandwich w/fries (huge) and sat at the boat harbor eating and just so in awe that we picked this serine wonder of the world.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Troia Beach - Paradise on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is, without any doubts, the best beach of Portugal and one of the best of the world. The blue sea, the white sand, the Arrabida bay, ... km's of non-crowded beaches.
Last summer I went to Gale (one of the Troia Beaches) and eat, at the beach, a fantastic sushi meal, with champagne ... me and my wife felt like in paradise !

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Troia Beach also viewed

Setubal, Setubal District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Sesimbra, Setubal District
 

Been to Troia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Troia Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.