We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa del Puente

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Casa del Puente to your Saves list
La Casa del Puente
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Regules abajo, 3, 39808 Regules, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Regules
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A real gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Found Casa del Puente on Trip Advisor in the first place. What a great place to make the base for exploring Cantabria. We took Apartment Asón which was ideal and well equipped for the 6 of us. Food is traditional Cantabrian and you have to be prepared to adjust your stomach clock to Cantabrian time (breakfast from 9am and dinner from 9pm). The set menus were great value but very restrictive for the vegetarian in our party. That said, the staff made every effort to cater for our needs and nothing was ever too much trouble. Emilio and the crew were great hosts and made us feel very welcome. Top for value, authenticity and friendliness.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasadelpuente, Gerente at La Casa del Puente, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your opinion. We hope to see you soon!! La Casa del Puente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    20
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
44
84
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Such a pleasant surprise. Less than an hours drive from Santander in a quiet rural setting. Lovely comfortable, well appointed room. Emilio and his wife ( owners) make you feel very welcome and were able to tlel us lplaces of interest to visit and explore. We spent 4 nights at the Casa and ate there each night - the food was good and well priced, breakfast was plentiful and snacks available during the day if needed. I would recommend this area to anyone who likes walking and appreciates beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasadelpuente, Manager at La Casa del Puente, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your opinion. We work with the target to reach satisfaced customers and we use the tool of the continous improvement: every week a small improvement should be implemented. We hope to see you again. Kind regards from La Casa del Puente-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We hesitated over staying at this hotel, solely due to its isolated location in a tiny inland village, but we're very glad that we did decide to stay here! We had some lovely drives through the mountains with stunning scenery in Collados del Asón Natural Park on our way to the coast near Santander.

The hotel is charming, sitting right on the river. On arrival, you walk through the verandah where locals and guests are having a beer or sipping wine, through the bar and into Emilio's office in the back. From this point on up to the rooms, the hotel is decorated to a high standard. We were given a family room (huge double bed in one room with a sitting area, and one single bed with a roll-out bed beneath it in another smaller bedroom within the suite). Going to sleep in the big comfortable bed with the balcony doors open to let in the sound of the water rushing over the rocks was amazing.

Breakfast was standard continental, nothing special, but the food served in the verandah restaurant for dinner was really very good, and good value too. Despite the language barrier, we managed very well: Emilio translated the day's specials for us and much of the menu was already translated into English.

Thank you Emilio for a very pleasant stay; we'll definitely make a point of coming back to visit your hotel again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over-looking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasadelpuente, Manager at La Casa del Puente, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you very mucha for your review. Thats help us to work even harder to reach satisfaced customers. La Casa del Puente-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

One of the challenges in any country is trying to find quality hotel accomodation for a family of more than four - it seems as though most hotels were only designed for four people. One of the huge advantages of this beautiful hotel is that it can accomodate larger families. Having arrived after a six hour drive, we were delighted to see such a charming hotel. Not only is the location idyllic, the interior design is fantastic - not quite what you would expect from a rural hotel in the middle of nowhere! We were fortunate to have a small apartment with three rooms - a wonderful kingsize room, a single, and another double - all decorated immaculately, with flat screen tvs. A very well equipped bathroom finished things off. You would be happy to stay in a hotel like this, wherever it happened to be.

The hotel appears to have one of the few good restaurants in the area. We ate there for one night. Unlike other reviews, this is where (in our opinion), the hotel lets itself down. This is not because of the quality of the food - the food was excellent - and remarkably good value. It is the service that lets the hotel down. We arrived in the retsaurant at 9pm, having been told that 9pm was the earliest the restaurant would open. This did not explain why an English and a Spanish family was already tucking in to their food when we walked in. We then stood for a while until eventually a waitress showed us to a table. Having sat us down, we then waited for at least 15 minutes before she appeared again. No menus, no drinks, no bread. Other people were being given all of these things. Finally the waitress arrived again - she rattled off the menus options in Spanish - it is a good job my wife is a good Spanish speaker - she did not show us a menu, or tell us the price of the food. Bizarrely, Spanish guests were being given menus - it was all very confusing - what were they getting that we were not!!

As I say, the food that arrived was very good - we just could not understand why we were not getting the same choice as other guests. The service was painfully slow throughout. Breakfast was not much better - little choice, and no hot food. On our last morning, a group of Spanish locals were tucking in to hot scrambled eggs and chorizo, whilst us poor hotel guests had to suffer a small conitnental breakfast selection - it did not seem right somehow.

We only knew what great value dinner was when we checked out - it would not take much for them to provide a written menu with a price. Such a wonderful hotel demands great service - it is falling short at the moment.

Emilio was very helpful when we arrived and throughout our stay - it's the restaurant service that lets the place down slightly - beautiful otherwise!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasadelpuente, Propietario at La Casa del Puente, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Hi Lisa,
I would first like to thank you for giving us your opinion. It is the best way for us to improve any aspect you indicate.
Thank you for the words about our hotel and we will implement actions to correct the issues that you provided, both at dinner (speed service and letter translated into English) as well as breakfast where we have introduced hot dishes. We deeply regret that you felt discriminated against other guests and we apologize for it but know that it was never our intention. Sometimes things do not go as you want! We would like to regain your confidence in us and give us a second chance. We are committed to customer satisfaction through continuous improvement and we are convinced that we will succeed next time!
Thank you very much for your visit and for your honest opinion
Emilio and Team La Casa del Puente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This has been our second time at La Casa del Puente, an amazing place that combines good food, extraordinary rooms, adorable people, and awesome environment. From the very beginning, you feel like at home, which is something you are looking for when you come to a rural hotel. It is designed not only for families with kids, but also for groups of young people who love to enjoy from the calm. Two things I would like to highlight: the facilities (cafeteria, restaurant, well equiped rooms and their decoration, and specially the owner, Emilio, who always tries to make everything so easy and fine) and the location (in the middle of a natural park, sorrounded by green and water). My family and I will definitely come back to La Casa del Puente. Thanks again for making our vacation such a special time!

Room Tip: Every room is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasadelpuente, Manager at La Casa del Puente, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thnak you very much for your review. We hope we´ll see you a third time. See you soon again.
La Casa del Puente Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orba, Alicante, Spain
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I booked this hotel by mistake. I thought I would surprise my partner for our first night stop on our way to Asturias. I thought I had booked Case del Puente Colgada close to Madrid. My partner asked what the hotel was called and looked it up on Trip Advisor. He then informed me that it was nowhere near Madrid and that we would have a few hundred more kilometres to do before we reached it. We found the hotel in a beautiful mountainous area. We were not disappointed. It is a very pretty hotel perched on the side of a river. We were given a beautiful 2 bedroom apartment, even though we were staying only 1 night and had booked a double room. The apartment was at the front of the hotel with a very large balcony with a swing hammock and table and chairs. It was beautifully decorated (rustic) and spotlessly clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful and a young lad practised his English with us. There were lovely walks all around and we were sad because we were unable to spend time there. We shall certainly stay there longer next time. We had a very good nights sleep. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Try the 2 bedroom apartment at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasadelpuente, Gerente at La Casa del Puente, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive opinion. We hope see you soon!! La Casa del Puente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

It was our first time in Spain and we wanted to hide those places where all tourists go for vacation. We were looking for a quiet place in the middle of nowhere, a place in which only the sound of the river could be heard. And finally we got it. La Casa del Puente offers you a high quality standard, regarding service and facilities. The rooms as well as the apartments are decorated in a talent way, a mix of tradition and modernism, totally integrated in the magificient area. Not only activities related to nature but also to the beach are available, almost all of the for free. The price is also fair. So, we invite all to try this wonderful hotel and get to know their owners and coworkers. Thank you so much for all your attentions, Emilio, Edu and Eli.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasadelpuente, Manager at La Casa del Puente, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thanks you very much for your comment.
Our target is to achive satisficed customers.
La Casa del Puente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa del Puente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Puente

Address: Regules abajo, 3, 39808 Regules, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Regules
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Regules
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Casa del Puente 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Casa del Puente dispone de Suites con jacuzzi en la habitacion, Suites familiares y habitaciones dobles. Puede tambien utilizar nuestra zona SPA con jacuzzi y sauna gratuitos. WiFi , cafeteria y restaurante estan su disposicion. Prestamo de bicicletas, terraza a pie del rio. Asolo 1 hora de Bilbao, 50 min de Santander y solo 30 min de la palyya de Laredo. El Parque Natural Los Collados del Ason con sus cascadas, miradores y rutas de senderismos se encuentra a solo 10 min. Cueva de Covalans de pintura rupestre y Cullavera con espcetaculo de luces a solo 10 min. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Budget Places and Tingo so you can book your La Casa del Puente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa del Puente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.