We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Commitment ceremony & anniversary party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa St James

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. James
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa St James
Save
You added Villa St James to your Saves list
36 Main Road, St. James 7945, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Commitment ceremony & anniversary party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The villa was the perfect setting for our ceremony and anniversary party. It has a certain charm and old world splendour that added to the magic of the weekend. The house was equipped with everything that we needed during our stay and the large spacious ground floor and garden were perfect for our small group of family and friends to celebrate. The views are incredible and there was something for everyone all within walking distance of the villa. I would gladly recommend the villa as a venue.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were 16 people staying at the Villa after my wedding and it was amazing, we could not have chosen anything better. The house is equipped with absolutely everything you need, and provides an excellent location for celebrations, especially for out of towners. There are breathtaking sea, mountain and garden views from all the rooms. You are in close proximity to the best part of Cape Town, but you would not even need to leave the house to have a good time. I will definitely recommend this house to anyone looking for the complete package.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our wedding was amazing at the villa. We had the ceremony and reception there. For the weekend we pretended as if we lived at the Villa and friends and family were coming for our wedding dinner. It was magical and even though it was cold and raining outside no one noticed as the house was so warm and cosy with the fire burning and red wine flowing. One long dinner table seated our guests and everyone loved the setting, and food was supplied by the excellent Olympia Cafe from Kalk Bay.

In the morning the family sat upstairs in the enclosed balcony area and watches the whales swim by while we sipped our tea's and coffee's and snuggled under blankets and chatted away.
Thank you Villa St James!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We were a group of 13 near the end of a motorcycle tour of South Africa, and we finished the trip with a five night stay at Villa St James in late November 2012. Barbara gave us a great welcome and an introductory tour of the property. It is a gorgeous old villa, beautifully furnished but with a very comfortable, lived-in feel. We did some entertaining during our stay and made good use of the 22-seat dining room, billiard room and cosy pub. The location is wonderful, with beautiful views of the sea at the front and a mountain right at your back garden. It’s only a 15 minute walk into the fishing village of Kalk Bay, but the train station is just nearby if you can’t be bothered walking, or want to go further down the peninsula to Simon’s Town, or the other way into Cape Town CBD.

Barbara was very helpful and encouraged us to phone her if we needed any assistance, and we did when we wanted to book a tour of Stellenbosch wineries at extremely late notice - and Barbara achieved that for us. She also kindly arranged our transport to the airport.

Something worth noting is that some of the bedrooms are interconnected, so it helps to be pretty comfortable with the people you’re sharing the house with (but you can see that from the floor plans that are available on the website). Also, the road outside the house is very busy and you need to take care when exiting/entering – but it’s manageable.

We had a wonderful stay at Villa St James and would strongly recommend it to anyone thinking of staying on the Cape Peninsula. We hope to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Eleven of us spent two wonderful days at the Villa St James, on a management strategy session. We used the dining room for the serious stuff, and gathered around the fire in the lounge for the more relaxed part of the day.
Excellent venue, we'll definitely use it again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This was the perfect place to have a vacation with the whole family. Location, views, swimming pool, dining room, WIFI, pool billiard, kitchen, braai, Joyce who took care of the dishwashing, you name it. Big enough to have your privacy, but intimate enough to have the family experience you can dream of.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greyton, South Africa
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
456 helpful votes 456 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Wonderful celebration with magnificent views of the sea, beach and mountains. Great accommodation for many friends and celebration for 50 guests. close to many restaurants and amenities.
I would recommend it for any celebration.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa St James

Address: 36 Main Road, St. James 7945, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > St. James
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in St. James
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hovering over False Bay with a 360-degree view of mountain and sea, is the enchanting, Villa St James, a restored historical National Monument ideal for a lavish seaside holiday, wedding or corporate function in the coastal town of St James. Villa St James accommodates up to 16 people in 8 bedrooms with five bathrooms. The living zone features an elegant 22-seater dining room table, 2 lounges, billiard room, an English pub and outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa St James St. James, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa St James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.