We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable Hugh scenery even for Norway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jotunheimen National Park

Jotunheimen National Park
Jotunheimen, Norway
Improve this listing
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Hugh scenery even for Norway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We drove up and back from soundal to Lom - didn't do any hiker - would have once when I was younger. Lol
The scenery is indescribable and everything is on such a large scale and phot is a total waste of time
We had brilliant sunshine and quite warm
Loved all the little stone cairns everyone builds
The colours of the glacier lakes in beautiful
There are so many waterfalls that on our return journey the snow on the uphill side of one part of the road had melted and was rushing across the road - it was great
Definitely do this drive even if it's the only one you do

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    0
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

See my review for the Besseggen Ridge but the park has some amazing terrain. We drove through, stayed one night at the Gjendesheim, did the ridge hike and made it to Lom by late afternoon - we are fast so you could spend another night in the park. Get out and walk around, the place is beautiful. The services are even more limited than in "normal" Norway so some planing will go a long way.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Bessegen Hike - amazing! But you must be in shape to do it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is one of the most popular hikes in Norway and well worth it! We took the earliest boat to Memurubu and hiked Bessegen back to the parking lot. One way trip reported to be ~15km.

During our 8-9 hour adventure, we encountered rain, wind, snow, sunshine, clouds (early July).
There are areas of uphill climbing on rocks, downhill climbing, flat areas, and even a part w/ a chain where you must belay down. I do admit our group was the only one that appeared to be struggling. We were passed by various groups going much faster. It is well marked though and you follow rocks painted w/ the letter "T". There is a bathroom at the parking lot, but none along the trail. Most of the trail is exposed (not many places to hide behind!)

In my opinion, this hike is on the challenging side. You should be in good shape and well prepared (bring food, water, rain jacket, etc). However, the views are amazing and I would definitely recommend it to any visitor to Norway who loves hiking.

Besseggen.net has some information as well.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Most amazing time ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

On my two week hike through Jotunheimen, I hiked over Besseggen ridge, bathed my feet in glacial melt water, hiked through quiet mountain top valleys, over and around waterfalls, explored glaciers and forests, I saw wild reindeer, ptarmigans and lemmings..

There were days of constant, soul destroying rain, days of blazing sun, and also blizzards.

I did the trek over Besseggen, up Glittertind and Galdhoppigen and back to Gjendeshiem, and it was the most amazing thing I have ever done, I want to go back!

Don't just do Besseggen, do the whole thing! Besseggen is beautiful, but it can get VERY busy, even queues form. The rest of Jotunhiemen is more peaceful.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Besseggen hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I think the Besseggen Hike shall have its own search word at Trip Advisor and not be hidden under "Jotunheimen National Park" which is so much more.
Besseggen is probably Norways most popular mountain hike attracting several thousand hikers every year. You can either start at Gjende (paid parking) and walk to Memurubu where you can take the boat back to Gjende or, better, start with the morning boat trip from Gjende to Memurubu and walk Besseggen back to Gjende. This is better of two reasons. First you do not need to rush in order to catch the last boat to Gjende, second you will climb the ridge upwards instead of downwards which is far more pleasant.
The hike itself is quite long and demanding and shall only be undertaken under stable wheather conditions. It took us 8 hours including breaks. It goes between the lakes of Gjende and Bessvattnet. The ridge (egg) itself is halfways and requires easy climbing but it is nowhere exposed. The view is stunning over the Jotunheimen mountains and the two lakes.
If you are reasonably fit and properly equipped it is definitely worth the effort.
There is no fee for the hike as such but the parking fee is 100 Nkr and the cost of the boat trip is 120 Nkr per person.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jotunheimen National Park also viewed

Vagamo, Vaga Municipality
 
Bergen, Hordaland
Odda, Hardanger
 

Been to Jotunheimen National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jotunheimen National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.