We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Easter Garth Guest House

Easter Garth Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rosneath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Easter Garth Guest House
The Clachan | Nr Helensburgh, Rosneath, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 0RF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Rosneath B&B and Inns
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

A real find and great value for money. The room was very comfortable and well presented with all the facilities of a hotel including well proportioned ensuite and free wifi. Could not have been made more welcome by Helena and Richard who provided a great cooked to order breakfast that set me up for the rest of the day. Having stayed in local hotels before I will be using Easter Garth in future!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craggsfryer, Owner at Easter Garth Guest House, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Many thanks for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
25
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yokohama, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed at the lovely victorian period house "Easter Garth Guest House" in early October 2012 with my parents from Japan. Helena & Richard welcomed us very warmly and they were great hosts! The room was nicely decorated and the bathroom was very clean. Helena cooked us delicious evening meal for us. The soup, scottish salmon with lemon mint sauce, roasted vegetables, everything was delicious! We saw the previous people's reviews about her good food and it was true! The bed was really comfortable and we had a good night sleep. Richard cooked us nice breakfast which we all enjoyed. We would recommend the guest house to anyone who is looking for a room around Loch Lomond. It was one of the best guest house we've ever stayed.

The location is also great and very near Loch Lomond. We were on the way to the West Highland trip and we found the road which is one of the best road in UK "A817" between Loch Lomond and the guest house. Whoever who love driving would love the driving route!

Thank you very much!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craggsfryer, Owner at Easter Garth Guest House, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
It was a great pleasure to meet you and we wish you luck with your new life in Japan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Having been told our booking at Kilkregan Hotel had been overbooked we went to Easter Garth for B@B. Although the owners were on holiday we received a very warm welcome form the young couple who were looking after the place. We had a very pleasant stauy and an excellent breakfast. Thanks very much to them for turning a disaster into a pleasant stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craggsfryer, Owner at Easter Garth Guest House, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
it is so nice to hear that you were well looked after at Easter Garth - our stand-ins are first class, hand picked with love and care/. Looking after our guests, home and guest house very well - Many thanks for your comments- they fill us with confidence to offer Easter Garth hospitality at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochem, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We recently booked a trip to Schotland and our first stay was in Rosneath in the Easter Garth B&B. We were most kindly welcomed by our hosts . The room , France connection , was o.k. A wonderful and clean bathroom, tv and lots of space. In the morning Richard and Helen served a nice breakfast . There is a hotel nearby in Kirkcreggan, about 4 kms . They serve good meals and they have real alles on draught . At 50 meters you will find a Cooperative supermarket . A nice quiet stay, I can recommend it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craggsfryer, Owner at Easter Garth Guest House, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hello - many thanks for the review and we hope that the rest of your stay in Scotland was enjoyed - Best wishes Helena and Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here in April with our parents for a night and had expected to arrive there at 10pm, but we lost our way and only got there around mid-night.
We were quite worried over checking in so late given its a BnB and not a hotel. But we needn't have worried. The host was super nice and welcomed us in very warmly despite the hour and even let us have the breakfast a little later than usual so we could sleep in a bit.
The bed was very comfortable, rooms spacious and had a lovely view of he garden. Breakfast the next day was top class and excellent coffee!
We wish we has stayed longer as the location was wonderful, the house looked absolutely stunning, and they has provided us with plenty of interesting looking books and games in our rooms.
I really can't stress how wonderful the hosts were and would like to say a big Thanks! for letting us in at that hour :)
and FYI, its a dog a friendly Bnb.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craggsfryer, Owner at Easter Garth Guest House, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for keeping us advised of your travel time and we pride our selves in offering a very good service and some times that means a late book-in . I am pleased that you were made to feel at ease and that enjoyed your stay with us. Perhaps see you again - Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limbach-Oberfrohna
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We experienced a wonderful journey through Scotland. Our last night we were able to spend in this wonderful guesthouse. Although we arrived much too early, we were heartly welcome. We were given a lovingly furnished, spacious room. Everything was very clean and comfortable. The entire house we liked immediately! After a strenuous hike, Helena invited us to dinner. It was great! tasty! The breakfast the next morning was served to us by Richard. We didn't miss anything! All of it was a dignified conclusion of our trip! Many, many thanks! We will come back! But longer! :-) Regards Nadine and Holger from Germany

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craggsfryer, Owner at Easter Garth Guest House, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you so much for the comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.. best wishes Helena and Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Do not be put off by the dismal looking village when you arrive! The immmediate surroundings are not pretty but the house is great inside. Terrific decor and artefacts; very enjoyable. Pretty much all you can ask from a B&B...good bed, good bathroom, good breakfast and really great value. Just close your eyes a bit as you arrive and leave....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craggsfryer, Owner at Easter Garth Guest House, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
I am very pleased that you enjoyed you stay and also pleased to say that the village centre is getting a well deserved face lift and the Old School house will be used for new local village shops
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Easter Garth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easter Garth Guest House

Address: The Clachan | Nr Helensburgh, Rosneath, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 0RF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Rosneath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rosneath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Bed & Breakfast and delightful en-suite bedrooms, all set in a Victorian House built in 1838 - and within easy reach of Loch Lomond and the surrounding area. The house has a special charm & warmth and we offer hospitality to match. Family rooms available and both children and pets are welcome. Private parking with a garden area for guest use. We offer evening meals with a small restaurant area, so booking in advance is recommended. Our food is of a very good standard and cooked fresh for you - using local suppliers and offering Scottish produce where ever possible. We have our own chickens - so fresh eggs are a must for breakfast. The double en-suite rooms are very spacious - with TV, DVD, Wifi and tea/coffee stations in each room - If you have a special occasion please let us know and if we can help make it more special we will see what we can help with. - Just call us for availability ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Easter Garth Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Easter Garth Guest House to your Saves list