We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds and a real blast from the past” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rippon Lea House & Gardens

Rippon Lea House & Gardens
192 Hotham St, Elsternwick, Glen Eira, Victoria 3185, Australia
03 9523 6095
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$64*
and up
Melbourne Sightseeing and Attraction Pass
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds and a real blast from the past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My partner brought me here for a birthday. I thought the grounds were beautiful and the house was/is a museum. Well worth a visit and the admission fee. Bring a picnic, lovely on a sunny spring or summers day.

Helpful?
4 Thank IrishDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just as I remembered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Beautiful historic home and gardens. Allow around and hour for the tour of the house, and extra time to explore and gorgeous gardens and lake. I visited this estate as a child and loved it then and after returning many years later I appreciated things I didn't as a child. Stunning place to take photos.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Leisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“theatre in the gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

the gardens are a beautiful . I sat one night and watched a theatre production under the beautiful star filled sky with my picnic dinner and good friends. It was a perfect setting. A very enjoyable evening.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
119 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We love the wonderful gardens of Ripponlea. Each year it is a family ritual to attend the events in the gardens by the various theatre companies. We always attend Alice in Wonderland and find it fantastic each year. It is the highlight of our summer. Lady chatterly's lover is also good to see in the evenings, however best to leave the children at home for this one.

The mansion is divine and the glasshouse etc is lovely. I can only think about how wonderful it would to hold your wedding here. Magnificient.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kimbo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
150 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A must - hire a car and take a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Once of Melbournes best and hidden sites. The Mansion is amazing and the grounds better - shame the ABC stole some land 50 odd years back, the Estate would be much grander with this land. In saying that it is grand and you can spend many hours relaxing on the lawns. The Peacocks are good also and make sure you visit the grotto.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Drew Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rippon Lea House & Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Rippon Lea House & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing