We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kosi Bay Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kosi Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kosi Bay Lodge
Save
You added Kosi Bay Lodge to your Saves list
Kwangwanase, Kosi Bay, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Super Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed at Kosi Bay lodge with my two sons for two nights in early December2012.
The last few kilometers drive were 'exciting' in a saloon car but we managed ok.
The accomodations are in lovely settings and the reception area, restaurant and bar areas are super. A few minor problems we had were handled quickly and efficiently by Enoch on reception,
We enjoyed good meals on each evening of our stay, and the staff were great particularly during a short power failure.
Went on the 4X4 trip to Kosi By mouth with Thulani and he was very knowledgable on the area and provided interesting information throughout the trip.
Lots of walks within and outside the lodge area and lots of interesting birds, plants and animals to see.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durban
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Make sure you have a 4x4! This beautiful lodge is secluded and absolutely stunning. The service was amazing- we felt like royalty. Food was mouth watering- and on the day we decided to head to the beach- a full 3 course lunch was packed for us. Do not miss out on the inclusive canoeing- and of course sunset cocktails watching the locals fish next to hippo pods. Welcome to Africa!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

During August we visited Kosi Bay Lodge for 10 nights and stayed in one of their new family units(Unit N11). The unit has its own pool, which was heaven for the kids; and for the adults for that matter. The unit is peacefully located under some beautiful trees (Platkruin/Flatcrown). The staff are extremely friendly and every request was completed with a smile. The restaurant is very good and extremely reasonably priced. The area lends itself to awesome family holidays, beaches, lakes, boating, fishing, snorkeling, hiking, game viewing, etc.. With all this said, it is quite evident that we as a family had a most amazing time. Thank you Kosi Bay Lodge!

Room Tip: For a family holiday, I can only recommend choosing N11 or N12 whihc both come with their own plunge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Does what it says on the tin. Basic but great experience. It is in a forest although the lake is a short walk away. You wont see many if any mammals, but its an interesting ecosystem. Trips on the lakes and river are well worth it. Seeing the fish traps is good. Loved the snorkelling trip, and walk on the beaches.
The local guides are great, Jerome can tell you how to make rice wine, a raft, sing the song when you move a hut, tell you how he was made to tend cattle as a kid, tell you about the hippos and spot birds.
Service is great throughout. Food is too rich and highly flavoured. Couldn't have stayed longer than the 5 nights without a change in diet. Intermittent electricity and none in the rooms made it a challenge sometimes. And you have to not mind monkeys watching you in the open air showers.

Chris cooks, removes snakes, does it all and is just about the most enthusiastic person on planet earth about everything.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed at Kosi Bay Lodge on a business trip- what a great adventure.
Set in a very quiet, rural village this place impressed us all so much!
We had a very awesome host (can't remember his name), the food was so much more than anyone could eat.
The rooms match the surroundings- so don't expect any "frills".
Beautiful area- we took a walk down to the water through a forest.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We only spent one night at the end of the christmas peak season- rooms are basic but clean - not expensive and supply towels and soap- there are self catering facilities and a braai. There is a pool and a bar and a small restaurant with limited menu - we recommend it

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Kosi Bay is one of the most beautiful places in South Africa. The guides that Kosi Bay Lodge provides are excellent. They can guide you through this natural wonder and make you hunger for more. This was an awesome holiday experience, which I hope is shared with the readers of this review.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kosi Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kosi Bay Lodge

Address: Kwangwanase, Kosi Bay, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Kosi Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Kosi Bay
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Kosi Bay Hotel Kwazulu-Natal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kosi Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.