We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new serene, tranquil Goa which we didn't know till now....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cancio's House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cancio's House to your Saves list
Cancio's House
Naicavaddo, Aldona, Bardez 403508, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Aldona B&B and Inns
bangalore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A new serene, tranquil Goa which we didn't know till now....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

What does Goa mean to all of us; sun, beach, shacks, seafood? It’s actually more than that. If you ever want to see the other side of Goa – tranquil, serene visit the Aldona village and stay at the homestay “Cancio’s”…The 500 year old Portugal styled house is a home to not only the friendly Amaral’s family but several trees, birds and two lovely dogs (forgot their names but they are adorable and had an experience chasing them back home with Antonio and was rewarded with a coalgate toothpaste). The place is far away from the bustling rushed life and brings you closer to yourself and opens the gates to the new Goa that you have never heard off. You will wake up to the chirping of colorful birds and rays passing through your window sill. Walk through the garden area basking yourself under the ray of the sun. The green pastures will walk you to the Aldona church, back waters and the nearby bakery. Though we had a short stay we were overwhelmed with the hospitality of Roberto and Raquel. During our stay we always felt we were staying in our friend’s house. The lovely chat with the family during our meals gave some insight to local politics. And our neighbor was a lovely young chap Victor, on the first night he fooled me to have a Fenny shot ……ufff my stomach is still burning …. Roberto and Raquel are doing a commendable job by giving a new experience to all who knows the only one side of Goa. We went to Goa to experience something new and we came back with an unforgettable experience of the new Goa at Cancio’s……………

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
17
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

What do you seek while on holidays ? If it is quietness, authenticity, friendship, then it is the right place to be in Goa. We spent some lovely days and evenings in this family, surrounded by nature and pets in this nicely restored old house.
Try the 50 BC and a boat ride ! Roberto and Raquel will tell you more on that. It is definitively worth it ! If we come back to Goa, we will be staying at Cancio's house, for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Cancio's House is beautifully located, away from the hustle and bustle of the city, traffic et al. The place is enchanting, quiet and you can hear only nature. Raquel and Roberto are amazing hosts who make you feel comfortable and at home with excellent cuisine. Anecdotes of young Mrs. Amaral are amazing and she can really give you some company. The rooms have a lot of natural light, clean and are tastefully decorated. Harrison, Antonio & Rafael along with Jessie and Doughnut keep you on your toe at all times. Roberto's Catamaran "Lady M" is beautiful and well maintained. The place although away from the hustle and bustle is well connected to Mapusa. A definite yes for a revisit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are tastefully decorated with a lot of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This was my first stay at Cancio's but definitely not the last. Roberto and Raquel's great company and warm hospitality cannot be matched by any hotel or commercial property. The rooms have well maintained antique style wooden furniture. It's a perfect mix of warm family hospitality with all the modern facilities of wifi, 24 hrs hot water, etc. The family even welcomed us to their house for the traditional Christmas dinner. Raquel is a great chef and was kind enough to share some of her delicious egg recipes with us. Roberto is extremely helpful and knowledgeable about Goa. Cancio's cottage offers something unique that no hotel/resort can match - for as long as you are there and beyond, you feel like a part of the household and a part of the amazing heritage of the place. Without a doubt, the time spent with Roberto, Raquel, Maria, Harrison, Antonio, Raphael and the dogs, Jess and Donut, in Goa was a highlight of the trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed a Cancio's House for a mini-holiday just after our wedding. After all the fatigue of the wedding, we really needed a place where we could just cut-off from the world and relax. Roberto and Raquelle offer exactly that at their wonderful home. With it's serene garden filled with the sounds of birds and vintage-style rooms, Cancio's is perfect place to unwind.

We stayed in the cottage room which was large and clean with an attached bathroom. Beautifully decorated with restored antique furniture, the room also had a small garden-facing veranda. Breakfast and a lovely wecome hug from Maria (Roberto's mother) was also included in the package :)

'On manquait de rien,' we lacked nothing since all the things, from the massive breakfast spread (all made with home-made or local ingredients) to the small details in the room, were taken care of during our stay.

Everything was arranged according to our wishes,even if it wasn't always convenient. I was a little sick on the last day of our stay and requested a fruit salad for my breakfast. As there were no fruits in the house, Roberto actually went out and bought fruits from the market to prepare my salad. Their commitment to hospitality and the comfort of their guests is remarkable!

To conclude, if you are looking for a place in the heart of Goa in a loving family home with wonderful hospitality, you'll find no better place than Cancio's House.

Room Tip: Rent a scooty through Roberto and follow his tours around Aldona to experience the beauty of Goa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The place is beautiful and each part of this huge house has a story to tell you making the whole experience very intriguing.The greenery and the peace surrounding the house makes you not want to go back to the busy urban life.The authentic goan spread served at their home was awesome-right from the different seafood preparations to the yummy cookies and brownies baked at home.Hosts Roberto and Raquel are extremely warm,treating you more like family than guests.Their three kids are adorable,well behaved and extremely loving,so much so that i just did not want to step out of their house.Went as a solo traveller but they ensured that i am amidst amazing company all the time.Saved my plans for exploring Aldona for next time as i just couldnt get enough of Amarals.Strongly recommend a visit to this house atleast once !!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We took a 4 day vacation to Goa this year. The highlight of our trip was Roberto and Raquel's great company and warm hospitality. They have a beautiful colonial house which they open up to their guests. The guest rooms with their antique furniture are charming to say the least. Spacious, clean and full of romance - the place is ideal if you are looking for a slice of the true Goan lifestyle. Cancio's cottage truly offers something unique that no hotel/resort can match - for as long as you are there and beyond, you feel like a part of the household and a part of the amazing heritage of the place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cancio's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cancio's House

Address: Naicavaddo, Aldona, Bardez 403508, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Aldona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Aldona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are what we are... Our family run boutique guesthouse is situated in the grounds of our over 500 year old ancestral house... We welcome you into our family and our way of life... The guesthouse is mostly furnished with restored antique furniture... This is now our seventh season having had several domestic & international guests, that include professors, architects, TV news anchors... Many of our guests are now a regular part of our family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Cancio's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cancio's House Goa/Aldona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cancio's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.