We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the money their charging.... I mean Really??” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Eltermere Inn

Save Saved
You added The Eltermere Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Eltermere Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Elterwater LA22 9 HY, England (Formerly Eltermere Country House Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Elterwater B&B and Inns
Yorkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“For the money their charging.... I mean Really??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

wish i'd never found this 'Gem'. booked well in advance but then told our room was taken so we would be moved to a 'better' room. Jesus i would have hated to have seen the original. double bed filled the room and nothing new appears to have been added to it since the 1930's other that the 15" TV at some point in the 1980's. Dont be fooled into thinking i mean it has a rustic charm, the room was decorated in the style of 'old tat'. Breakfast was good , as would have been the view from our original room, however we made dowith looking at the car park. If your under 35 and you like your service rude, your in for a treat.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    36
    15
    12
    11
See reviews for
17
136
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Located in the upscale village of Elterwater, The Eltermere Inn gives the impression that it is known to few and offers rooms to even fewer - my advice is book early! My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night short break at the Eltermere Inn. We first stayed at the Eltermere over 5 years ago to celebrate our first wedding anniversary, we returned this time to celebrate the impending arrival of our first child. The hotel has since changed ownership and the very gracious new owners are sympathetically renovating this beautiful former country home. The newly refurbished dining rooms, lounges and bar exude boutique style luxury and although our room (number 4) was on the upstairs level which has yet to be renovated, the room is full of charm and the breathtaking view over the front of the property leading down to the lake is truly worth the sacrifice of having a newly refurbished bedroom as found on the lower level. We stayed on the dinner, bed and breakfast rate. The dinners offered a mouthwatering selection of local produce including lamb, beef, duck and vegetarian options. The desserts were to die for, the service and attention to detail was nothing short of a fine dining experience with a stunning view to boot! The breakfast options were equally delicious although the availability of condiments and perhaps some more continental dishes such as cheese, meats and pastries would have made it a perfect experience. That is not to say that the kitchen did not provide these (I asked for some sliced cheese) upon request. The Eltermere Inn mixed classic English antiquity with mod-con luxury - they've got the balance right and we look forward to returning to mark yet another special occassion in our lives! Well worth the drive from London.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

We have just spend a most enjoyable two nights in the beautiful Eltermere Inn in Elterwater.The building sits in idealic grounds surrounded by inspirational Lake District views.All the downstairs rooms have been refurbished in very tasteful natural colour tones and a new bar area added with original slate floor retained.A new kitchen has also been installed producing excellent and varied food,much of which is supplied locally.Our room was lovely and spotless clean and we understand that all the bedrooms will be refurbished by the end of the year.Breakfast is taken in the spacious dining room and I can highly recommend the full English but they will cater for indivdual tastes.We dined in the Bar area in the evening and the food and service was superb and the staff very obliging and pleasant.A gem of a country Inn...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

I recently stayed with friends at this hotel, having vowed 'never again' a couple of years ago. New owners, new regime, new menu, new bar; I loved it & can't wait to return. The position of this hotel is breathtaking, now made almost perfect by the recent refurbishments. I'm assured by the manager all the bedrooms are now being upgraded, some are still a liitle small.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2008

We spent 3 days at this hotel, arriving on the Sunday after booking on the Thursday. It has been recently taken over by new owners and they failed to inform us that they were in the middle of a refurbishment. When we arrived, there were no carpets, wallpaper, furniture in the reception area, lounge and most of the bedrooms. Our room had stains on the carpet, mould round the bath, no tea/coffee making facilities, no telephone and the general standard of hygeine was very poor. We were told by the owners that they should have perhaps closed whilst the work was going on but they did not and took our booking. On Monday morning, instead of a lovely view of Elterwater from the breakfast room, we gazed onto builders, painters, plumbers vans to the accompaniment of drilling and joinery work.
On leaving we explained how disappointed we were and we were informed that we would be invited back for dinner and an overnight stay to see the refurbishment. On returning home w e mailed the owners and said we did not want to return and expected some compensation.
We did not receive any compensation but an e mail telling us not to threaten them with a Trip Advisor entry and that they had nothing more to say to us.
By February 2009 part of the refurbishment is expected to be finished. Until then a stay at this hotel is not to be recommended.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Building work being carried out whilst we stayed
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

After reading some of the latest reviews bu other people on this site, I felt a need to intervene. The Eltermere is a wonderful place to stay. The staff are welcoming and friendly, and breakfast is not late at 8:30 am. To be up any earlier than that would be regimented.

Arriving at the hotel we were greeted by a pleasant and very helpful young man I believe his name was David. Who not only offered to help us with our luggage, was also more than happy to suggest places of interest and restaurants to eat in.

The room we stayed in was warm and cosy. It was one of the recently refurbished rooms in the hotel. We know this as we have stayed at the Eltermere for many years now. After having stayed in the room previously it was a pleasent surprise.

As for the comments with regards to dinner. Far too many people are picky on what they expect. For £20 per head you get a full five course meal. Ask for that in some other places and you could be looking at, at least £55 per head. So a bargain I must say.

It is certainly not a hotel set around the owners desires and most definately aimed at the customers. Every time we stay we talk with many guests young and old that enjoy their stays.

The trouble with what you see here is that too many people will leave bad comments. They feel the need to say it on a website rather than in person to the staff themselves. Had they said something during their stay, then I am sure the staff would have been more than happy to go out of their way to provide the guests with whatever they wanted.

I do reccomend the Eltermere as a place to go, it has a great location for walkers and mountain bikers alike. It also has the fishing rights to the lovely Elterwater tarns which the owners son is a keen angler on and is willing to take guests out for a few hours of the day if they want to.

  • Liked — Friendly and clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

The Eltermere is an expensive B&B (although the breakfast was a bit weird tasting so the second night it was just a B). It sells itself as a country hotel but should really be honest. It is an overpriced B&B in a great location.

Too many businesses in the Lake District nowadays treat customers with contempt because they know that if you don't go again someone else will. The Eltermere is falling into this category and we certainly won't be staying again which is a shame as it could be lovely with some investment.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Being ripped off
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Eltermere Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eltermere Inn

Address: Elterwater LA22 9 HY, England (Formerly Eltermere Country House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Elterwater
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elterwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Eltermere Inn 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Eltermere Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Eltermere Hotel Elterwater
The Eltermere Inn Elterwater, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Eltermere Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.