We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly , traditional pub - lovely location.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Britannia Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Britannia Inn to your Saves list
The Britannia Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Langdale Valley, Elterwater LA22 9HP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Elterwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Friendly , traditional pub - lovely location.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

As seen on the cover of a Good Beer Guide , our friends took us here after a walk in the local area, so that we could see it for ousrselves -
A nice traditional pub - very busy ( although we were very lucky with the weather ) both inside and out.
Obviously dog and child friendly ; although I'm not sure about access for disabled as we saw a couple of able bodied people struggle with the front access steps. Pleasant outside seating area with wonderful views. I think I may have been in the smallest toilet in the area - TINY ; but clean :-)
A good place to stop if you are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    56
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
27
94
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with our small dog. We found the pub had a lovely atmosphere. The room was small but adequate and cozy, with good facilities, although the TV was to high on the wall.
The 1st night was a little noisy from the pub below, but all went quiet at 11pm.
Brilliant quiet location, with easy access to the rest of the lakes including Windermere and Ullswater just a short drive. Lovely walks near by too.
The breakfast in the mornings was lovely. The bar meals were a little pricey.
The WiFi didn't reach up to our room, but as my GF tells me, "We didn't come away so you can check your emails!"
If we stay in the Lake District again, we will definitely check out the Britannia Inn again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We went to the lakes for the bank holiday and found this little gem. The food is excellent, not your normal pub food but a step up. The staff were really friendly and one waiter in particular merits a second visit.....

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Visited this pub twice over the may bank holiday weekend (24/25 th ) whilst staying in YHA place nearby. Having found my way into the pub past the throngs of people the welcome at the bar is excellent . The choice of beers and lagers is a little on the small size, but then so is the pub. However selecting an excellent whiskey to end the night is something else. The barman ( a kiwi whose name i didn't get ) was determined to impress with his knowledge of fine whiskies, and he did . Finally we chose a whiskey from somewhere deep in the cellar that was both aged/ smoky and just the ticket and excellent too. The following evening we tried the food and this was superb , hot and good sized portions, served up swiftly too. Needless to say the rest of the evening was spent in the pub, followed by the night cap whiskies too .It's shame that many don't find their way to this pub as it is off the beaten track somewhat , but if you find yourself in the lake district , make sure you make the detour to Elterwater and enjoy an afternoon or evening at the Britannia Inn

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and ate at the pub both nights. Room was a bit cramped but clean. Food was very good and a great atmosphere both in and outside in the seating area. We took our 2 small dogs who were more than welcomed by the staff. Service and the staff were excellent!! Would we go again? Probably although I thought it was a little expensive at £125 per night for a double room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed with our French friends for two nights and as always excellent accommodation, great food, a wonderful selection of terrific draft beers and very friendly and helpful service. We will be back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This pub features in the Good Pub Guide 2013 for all the right reasons.

Great beer, great service, great food in a relaxed but busy, traditional pub.

We booked for two nights stay with our dog and baby. We were made to feel very welcome by the friendly staff. Our dog received plenty of strokes and treats from the staff. I don't think she wanted to leave. We stayed in room 4 and were able to use our baby monitor to keep an eye on our son whilst we ate downstairs.

We had a double room that was very clean, well furnished and overlooked the valley down to Elterwater. The shower was great and would pummel those mountain weary legs after a hard day on the hills. TV and wifi. Maps were available to borrow too.

If you are eating here I'd recommend the minted lamb burger or the rib eye steak. We think there were 5 ales on tap which were well kept. You can eat in the bar (two areas) or dining room (10% additional charge for waitress service). There is a large patio out front with many picnic tables. Residents have a lounge off the dining room with a fire. Fires in the bar too.

We will be back.

Room Tip: Room 4 - gets wifi in room & baby monitor worked but is over the main door so there was a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Britannia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Inn

Address: Langdale Valley, Elterwater LA22 9HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Elterwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elterwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Britannia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Britannia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Britannia Hotel Elterwater
The Britannia Inn Elterwater, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Britannia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.