We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper Lakes Country Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Britannia Inn

The Britannia Inn
Elterwater, Elterwater LA22 9HP, England
01539 437210
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 restaurants in Elterwater
Price range: $1 - $27
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bolton-Le-Sands, Lancs, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Proper Lakes Country Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Went with family for Sunday lunch. Good food, friendly service. Prices were OK and it is in a wonderful village with some amazing views and walks. Not an Ale Nerd but the couple I tried were fantastic. Only pain is finding somewhere to park!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    121
    112
    16
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Reliably good value, and superb location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The location of this pup is fantastic. Sit outside, weather permitting. It's a real sun trap - we have enjoyed even in January! The food is always good and it is very family friendly. Kids platter is a hit with hungry children!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Expensive food, average cooking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

One of the best locations in the Lake District, but perhaps this also contributes to its major problem.

For those who like their beer this is a cracking pub, with a number of real ales available, of varying styles. Unfortunately the food simply doesn't match it, with very average pub meals being served at inflated prices. This was made worse for us by deciding to book a table in the restaurant, which automatically adds 10% to your bill. To be fair to the pub, they do make you clearly aware of this, and I wouldn't mind if the food was worth it, but at nearly £14 for an average bit of pie and mashed potatoes it really isn't. You can eat in the bar if you want, but it is very hit and miss whether you can get a table, so it is a bit risky - which I think is why they can get away with the extra charge.

My suggestion would be to eat elsewhere and to come here just for the beer - ideally in good weather so you can sit outside.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“prices for tourists !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great pub , lovely fires, beer good but fed up of being charged TOURIST rates for rounds of drinks..locals rate was £6 for 2 drinks, tourist rate was £7.20... FED UP OF BEING RIPPED OFF, shame really but take away the tourists and pub probably wouldn't exist !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Well worth the walk through the snow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We timed our walk through Elterwater so as to arrive at lunchtime, but almost missed out, as even at 12.20 there were only a few tables left and by 12.45 it was full and a few brave folk were even sitting outside in the sun as the snow fell.

It's an attractive pub with lots of cosy small rooms. There's only one small bar and one person serving so it can take some time to get a drink if the pub is full, but it's well worth the wait as there's a good range of ales and the food is tasty and substantial. It's good advice to grab a menu and choose your food early to save having to join the queue twice at peak time - I added ten minutes to my queuing time by failing to take this advice! This isn't a criticism of the staff, who were both pleasant and very efficient, but just a fact of life given the size of the pub.

We had the filled rolls which were very tasty. Had I been hungrier the portions of chips we saw heading to other tables looked a good complement to the rolls. I considered the main courses, which looked great, but decided I'd not be fit for the afternoon walk if I indulged myself. I'll be returning on another occasion, though, when I don't have a walk to finish...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Britannia Inn also viewed

Great Langdale, Lake District
Elterwater, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to The Britannia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Britannia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.