We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Britannia Inn

The Britannia Inn
Elterwater, Elterwater LA22 9HP, England
01539 437210
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Elterwater
Price range: $1 - $27
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Salford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We chose this pub because of the reviews. Excellent choice of ales and a lovely setting but the food was a big let down. It was pretty basic and on a par with Wetherspoons which was a big shame.
Poor value for food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    133
    19
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great village pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Food and drink was excellent and log fires on cold nights - what more do you want! Well worth a visit in the summer -plenty of seating in front of the pub in a lovely setting.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Superb food, great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Britannia Inn is in a fabulous location. Elterwater is a really pretty little village a short drive from Ambleside. There are a few parking spaces on the lanes around the pub but we parked in the little car park just across the green, down the lane. I find it's usually best to book a table as it can get very busy. We ate in the restaurant (though on a previous occasion we ate in the bar opposite a beautiful roaring log fire so either is fine). It was fairly quiet in the restaurant as we dined early but there were reserved signs on all the tables, and there were plenty of people in the other areas of the pub ordering food. It is not a big place but the small size of the rooms makes it really cosy and gives you that sense of the fact you're in a building that is *well* over 200 years old.

The service was friendly and quick and there was plenty of choice on the menu, all of which is locally produced and/or homemade I believe. There was no real wait for food and it was all delicious when it arrived. We had soup and deep fried Brie in Thyme crumb for our starters and home-made shepherds pie and chicken and leek pie in a suet pastry for mains. We would have loved to have dessert as well but the pies were so huge we genuinely didn't have even the smallest amount of room to fit them in! The lad who took our order said afterwards that he did wonder when we ordered starters and then the pies!

Cost-wise, 2 pints of diet coke, 2 starters and 2 mains were a little under £48.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“V average! Quite disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We used to come here quite a lot but hadnt been for a while! We'd heard not fabulous reviews recently but we have fond memories so knew we wanted to go back! We had a strange conversation whilst trying to book a table- she was v confused and informed us that there was a 10% service charge! We came off the phone confused and not our first impressions weren't great! We arrived and were seated! Atmosphere was lacking! We were all line up against one wall! The fire area was lovely! Menu looked fab- we were excited! Starters were good. Main course arrived! The venison and steak both looked fabulous but the venison was so tough I could barely eat it! The chips were frozen!!!!!!! The steal too was chewy! The mash looked better than the chips and onion rings were v good. No one asked how our meals were and even though the waitress took my plate back full of venison, still didn't ask! we ordered pudding as we were still hungry! Sticky toffee was fab! Crime brûlée was just ok! Our bill came and it was very steep! As the Room is so little I waited outside the dining room for a waitress and complained! The standard of the meal was v average and that bill was v steep! Also the 10% service charge doesn't include waitress tips!? The waitress sorted our bill for us so we left happier and we would def go back for drinks and a bar snack or two but unfortunately won't be returning for dinner! Sorry Britannia, we so wanted you to be good :(

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Pub Named after a Ship in the Lakes?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

What more can be said than what people have already written about this pub. Great beer, great food and a great pub. It is a little on the small side so if you want to eat inside, which is preferable as its usually raining, then get there early. The bar is tiny by modern standards but its all part of the charm. A great place to sit out when the sun shines. We would recommend you go walking first because you won't want to move afterwards. They have rooms too, although we've never stayed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Britannia Inn also viewed

Great Langdale, Lake District
Elterwater, Lake District
 

Been to The Britannia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Britannia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.