We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frutt Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Frutt Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Frutt Lodge & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Frutt 9, Melchsee-Frutt 6068, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Melchsee-Frutt
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Though its quite tough to get here, and its a bit pricey, I would say its WORTH IT!
A night stay here is really good but if you can stay for 2 nights or more- its gonna be great!
Hotel isnt crowded.. The breakfast buffet is fantastic! The room where we stayed was very clean and quite big. I would have to give kudos to the staff. I got hungry in the middle of the night and we couldnt find any restaurants that are still open. If im not mistaken it was about 1am. We tried to call the reception to ask if they would still serve food. They apologized because the restaurant is already close. However, after few mins, someone brought us sandwich :) We were really surprised.. Trust me, we were not billed for this sandwich. Thats how they value their customer. Maybe its funny for some that I am attaching the photo of the sandwich here, but-who cares- they made me very satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    36
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
41
72
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I was only here overnight for a meeting but what a lovely location. Yes you will need to take a gondola to get to your hotel but just beautiful. The room is very large and the service is great. It is pricey but service was outstanding. Would have loved to have had time for the spa.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frutt_Lodge_Spa, Stv. Direktion at Frutt Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear missweim,

We would like to say thank you for your feedback after your stay in our Hotel frutt Lodge & Spa. It is a great pleasure to hear, that you were very satisfied with our services. Your feedback is helping us to improve our services continuously.

Dear missweim, we would be pleased to welcome you in our Hotel frutt Lodge & Spa again. Maybe next summer?

With best wishes from your mountain island

Christine Kretschmer
Vice Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The place is not easy to get to and it should be pointed out that in winter in extreme weather the lift is often closed and there is no access at all.
We were snowed in for two days but luckily there is no better place to be stuck in.
The hotel is a masterpiece of mountain architecture combining a modern look with a traditional Swiss wood style.
The rooms are big and spacious and very well appointed with solid furniture and elegant fittings. The bathroom is very well designed with a large walk in shower, twin sinks, and a bathtub looking out through glass to the bedroom. It is all separated by a carved wooden sliding door. There is also a comfortable sofa in front of a large window with a view. The cupboards and the doors are all made of beautiful wood. The soundproofing of the room is not as good as one would expect however.
The pool and sauna area are equally impressive and kept clean by very efficient and friendly staff. They provide fresh home made ice tea as a welcome refreshment after a hot sweat in the spacious sauna with big windows which overlook the ski area. Quite an experience!
The restaurant has wonderful wooden panels and is elegant but not pretentious.
The food however is exceptional. Really really good, and with a wine list to match!
There is a cozy lobby area with a fireplace and bookshelves and a massive chandelier and a bar tucked away with an impressive collection of cowbells.
The staff are very friendly and professional and the manager makes the rounds everyday greeting his guests personally, and giving tips for skiing or hiking, or choosing wine.
The whole place is quality and class with a family atmosphere

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are bigger and better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent a week skiing here with the family in February of 2013. Absolutely worth the effort to get here! The setting is fantastic: 2000m altitude, no cars, just ski in and out. Note that there's no real village to speak of, and getting to some of the ski areas can be a challenge (crossing a frozen lake for instance). But this is more than compensated by the impressive scenery, the pure mountain air, the absence of large crowds, and of course the sheer comfort of the hotel. Great service, comfortable rooms and fantastic spa facilities.

You really wanna get away from it all and do some relaxed skiing in the process? Frutt is the place to be.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A word of warning: There is - I can assure you - a road leading up to the Frutt Lodge, but cars can only drive up during hours with an even number, and down with an odd. Or perhaps it was the other way round. But discovering this shortly before a seminar speech and then running for gondela which swings you up the mountain, was something that my time schedule had not allowed for.

The hotel itself is almost alone at the top of the mountain, although some appartments are being built. It has all the things you need for a seminar or internal meeting, and the restaurant is well managed with good, if slightly conventional, food. The bar prices are not outrageous, as you might think, at a place where escape in an impossibility. And the rooms are good too!

Just one more word of warning: Don´t assume that you will have sun - and when the fog and the clouds come down, you´re probably not going anywhere except from seminar to room to bar to restaurant etc.

Room Tip: Above the clouds ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Zug, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I expect this level hotel to have an inside smoking area somewhere and not to send guest (spending 400 francs a night for the room...) at MINUS 10°C to stand outside the main entrance door for a smoke like some sort of freak This is disrespecting the customer - smokers are to be treated in line with the hotel's star rating and facilities should be provided for them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frutt_Lodge_Spa, Manager at Frutt Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Marion R,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback after your stay.

As we are already aware of this matter, we are planning to build a smoking lounge in April 2014.

However we would be glad to welcoming you again on our "mountain island"

Best regards,

Ilze & Ralph Treuthardt
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed there during the February school holiday and we loved the hotel. Tasteful decoration and impeccably clean. We had a fantastic room with an unbeatable view. They have a great chef and the food is very good. The service particularly at the restaurant is very good and during the whole week they offered a great variety of delicious dishes. Also great wine selection from all over the world and this includes a wide variety of excellent open wines. The spa is also very good and treatments are excellent. Also very child friendly. The only thing that could be improved is the english level of some staff at the reception. But overall this is a very well managed hotel and quality price ratio is really very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frutt_Lodge_Spa, Manager at Frutt Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear lovelacuisine,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review and your stay at our hotel.

Your remark concerning the language skills at our front desk, helps us to improve our services in the near future.

We would be very glad to see you soon again.

Kind regards,

Ilze & Ralph Treuthardt
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frutt Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frutt Lodge & Spa

Address: Frutt 9, Melchsee-Frutt 6068, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Unterwalden > Canton of Obwalden > Melchsee-Frutt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Melchsee-Frutt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Frutt Lodge & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Frutt Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frutt Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.