We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Useful as place near Maastricht airport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kasteel Elsloo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kasteel Elsloo to your Saves list
Kasteel Elsloo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maasberg 1 | Elsloo, 6181 Elsloo, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elsloo
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“Useful as place near Maastricht airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Needed a hotel near Maastricht airport and this place came up when I did a search. I booked only a few days ahead, and got the last room - hotel as hosting a large wedding party and I was the only person in the hotel not part of the wedding guest list. Music was just audible in the room, but staff were decent enough to pick a room for me that was on the opposite side of the building to the noise.

Room was a little basic - had a bathroom and bed was OK, but I was paying cheap and seems fair that I got one of the small and cheap rooms rather than the nice rooms. Reception was friendly and happy to arrange spend time arranging a reliable taxi for the morning.

Be aware that the hotel is about 20 mins walk from the nearest train station - was not particularly fun walking there late at night ! If heading to Maastricht airport, it's much too far to walk.

Would have liked to try the restaurant or see the grounds, but arrived too late and had to leave too early.

Hotel served its purpose - can't really complain

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
7
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zuid Scharwoude
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed in Kasteel Elsloo with family and friends tio celebrate a 65th birthday. We had a 4-course dinner, the 2 first dishes and the dessert were beautifully presented and tasted great. The main dish was a bit disappointing. The service was, as always, very friendly and professional. Wine choice was surprising. In the evening we had snow whit gave the illuminated terrace a fairy-like appearance. The bar stayed open long enough and served great local beers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Beautiful old building, and rural surroundings, tranquil, but not too far from the Motorway.
They seem to operate as a Gourmet restaurant, (which I didn't want), but with very basic rooms. Quiet, but depressing. I am sure in the summer, I would have enjoyed a walk or to sit on the terrace, as you really would not want to spend more time than necessary in the room.

Sorry, not a place that would really encourage me to go back in a hurry.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed at Kasteel Elsloo for a couple of days on business with colleagues. The Hotel has beautiful surrounds beings situated in parkland, near a canal and on cobbled streets. The hotel staff were very welcoming, spoke excellent english, and the dinner each night was exceptional. Great selection of local beers in the hotel bar are a plus!

The rooms are comfortable, and with good radiator controls for the winter - not over the top luxurious, but for the price, they are very reasonable. Breakfast was included and was a very good continental selection. I would deftinitely stay here again, both for business or with family.

You do need a car to access, and there is plenty of car parking on site in the grounds.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms can have an angle to the roof, so not great if you are taller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for two nights as a young couple. The castle is located in a nice and quiet village close to the Belgian border, the highway and Maastricht. The location is really nice, with a large garden/park.
The room itself was not great, but also not bad. Everything what is needed was present, but the decoration could be a bit more recent, especially the badroom (it was a bit dated, but clean). The we got room was rather small.
On the first day, the hotel was not too crowded, yet they gave us a room under which a crane was located to do construction works early in the morning. Clearly, that was quite annoying. We got the usual apologies, and they were willing to relocate us if the construction works would be going on for a second day. As the second day was a weekend, this was not the case.
The hotel has a big restaurant, but we only had breakfast there. The breakfast was ok, but nothing more (good quality, but quite limited in choice).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel was recommended to me by a friend who lives in the area. It is respected locally, and often used for business functions as well, as it has a large assembly hall.

This hotel is really a converted castle. It is an absolutely charming property on the outside. On the back side it even has a real functioning water mill.

My room was on the top floor, and since there was no elevator, the front desk person arranged quickly for one of the staff members to take up my suitcase. The room was actually quite large. It had an unusually long hallway. The large room itself, and the rather sizable bathroom were at the each of the long hallway's ends, respectively. I had a large bed that would be sufficient for two people.

The room had an old-fashioned TV set. I have noticed that lately my perception of the hotel room quality is affected when the TV is not a flat screen, creating an association of the room being outdated. While the room was totally functional, with a desk area and other amenities one expects from the room, and it was rather stylish overall, I still was left with a sense that it was not a match to the romantic feel inspired by the exterior of the castle.

Breakfast was included in the room price, and they had a very rich and varied offering. It is served in the same room that functions as a restaurant in the evening. And they do an amazing job as a restaurant. We had dinner there, and were lucky to try their signature white asparagus - highly prized in The Netherlands - as it was in season. There is also a lovely patio-type area outside the hotel where they serve drinks.

The hotel is literally on the border with Belgium, and you can walk across the street, climb up a few stairs and find yourself in Belgium. The surrounding area is very clean. Overall, it is a lovely hotel if you find yourself in that area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed at Kastel Elsloo for one night on business. The hotel is not targeted at the business traveler, but was conveniently located for a meeting I had the next day at Geleen. The hotel is I arrived late at about 9pm – dinner service was closed, but the bar was open for. The room was on the first floor (no lift). Basic, small, and old furnishings but nothing really to complain about. Breakfast was disappointing (limited choice and poor service), and I did not think it was worth the 13 Euros. Overall – a safe choice and reasonable for the price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elsloo
4.3 mi away
Terhills Hotel
Terhills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maasmechelen
5.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
4.5 mi away
La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie
2.7 mi away
Bastion Hotel Geleen
Bastion Hotel Geleen
#1 of 2 in Geleen
3.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
#5 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
3.0 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Stein-Urmond
6.0 mi away
Hotel Merici
Hotel Merici
#1 of 5 in Sittard
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasteel Elsloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasteel Elsloo

Address: Maasberg 1 | Elsloo, 6181 Elsloo, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Elsloo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elsloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kasteel Elsloo 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kasteel Elsloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasteel Elsloo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.