We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe choice and reasonable for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kasteel Elsloo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kasteel Elsloo to your Saves list
Kasteel Elsloo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maasberg 1 | Elsloo, 6181 Elsloo, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elsloo
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Safe choice and reasonable for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed at Kastel Elsloo for one night on business. The hotel is not targeted at the business traveler, but was conveniently located for a meeting I had the next day at Geleen. The hotel is I arrived late at about 9pm – dinner service was closed, but the bar was open for. The room was on the first floor (no lift). Basic, small, and old furnishings but nothing really to complain about. Breakfast was disappointing (limited choice and poor service), and I did not think it was worth the 13 Euros. Overall – a safe choice and reasonable for the price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
6
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed in a nice and quiet room, it was clean and warm, had everything we needed. The surrounding area is also very beautiful, there's a small park behind the castle, a canal and the city centre is reachable by foot even though it's quite small :) there is also plenty of space to park your car in front of the castle

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Based on the spotty reviews, I have to think that the specific room makes all the difference at this hotel. I was in room 4, up a narrow and steep staircase to the first floor (the lady on reception kindly ran my awkward case up the stairs for me). Room was decent sized with two single beds put together, a small TV, single wardrobe, small round table and two fancy chairs. Bathroom very large relative to the room and had a tub with shower over. Nice toiletries and extras (shower cap, shoe shine sponge, etc) and hair dryer in the bathroom. Room had two large windows overlooking the front of the property. I found nothing disagreeable about the position of the room or its layout. The bed was a little soft for my liking and the pillows a little too high and hard, but also this is a personal preference. Wi-fi and parking are at no charge, note the parking can get busy when there is a conference on. We had the set dinner in the hotel's restaurant and it was outstanding. Breakfast was above average yet standard offer for a Dutch hotel. The quiet garden setting of the hotel was great and I would like to return someday when I have time to enjoy it more!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, Netherlands
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

The setting of Kasteel Elsloo is perfect: at the border of a quiet little town, next to a canal. But still very close to Maastricht. The castle looks splendid from the outside, and the interior had that 'castle charm' to it.
It is used a lot for business meetings, conferences etc. And that was also my reason for staying there: a 2 day meeting.
The restaurant is pretty good, no complaints! Lunch is nice, breakfast standard.

My problem is the hotel room. I have stayed many nights in hotels in/around Maastricht this year, so plenty of choice, but since I had a 2-day meeting in Kasteel Elsloo, I stayed here. The room was very small. No decoration. Small bed (ok, I was on my own, so no problem) but a bit too soft for me. TV? A 20-year old micro-TV with a screen smaller then my iPad. It stood on a small table that could only handle this small TV. A very small table with a chair. That's it.
Oh, lighting was very poor. Half of the room was just dark (which is interesting, since the room is so small). No cupboard to store some things, just a place to hang a coat, your trousers, etc.
Bathroom? Old, but clean. But please people, why don't you install a shower screen around the shower. Or even one of these ugly shower curtains.... But now there was nothing: I showers very carefully, but after 5 minutes it still looked as if the entire room was flooded...

Having spend many nights in hotels in the last 20 years, this room ranks in the bottom 5.
And it's too bad, because the location is perfect, the building looks great, the restaurants is pretty good, etc. Now please close down the hotel part and refurbish it completely!

I won't go back there to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Elsloo hotels

Zuid Scharwoude
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I have visited Kasteel Elsloo many times. With my wife, for an artistic weekend in Maastricht, with business friends for visiting a business fair in Cologne, and with culinary friends for wine tastings and good food. The service is always friendly and decent. The chateau is beautiful, rooms are decent but not overdone, the terrace is lovely and close to the beautiful (parc)garden. The restaurant is warm and elegant, with a lot of space, and the menu is based on many local specialities like the livar pig. The winelist shows many rather unknown wines, and of course offers also a choice of local Limburg wines. The ''Castle arrangement'' offers you a room + breakfast and a 4-course dinner at a very attractive price. Maastricht is only a few kilometers away, and can easily be reached by bike. It's a place with grandeur at a decent price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

Wonderful experience in February 2008.
We booked a weekend at the castle, using their website and choosing one of the standard hotel arrangements.
We hoped for a romantic weekend but we were overwhelmed.
The castle is located at the outskirts of a quiet little town, bordering a canal and some woods.
We had a standard double room facing the front courtyard. Clean, comfortable and warm. The beds were big but a bit too soft, though.
The hotel has a specific charm, combining modern comfort with history and the pampering feeling one gets.
We took a nice ( longer than we thought ) walk along the canal and then another one in the woods nearby. The fresh air did us good and only built up more apetite.
The restaurant is extremely nice. Classy cuisine, part of the gastronomy chain in Limburg - The Netherlands and Belgium.
The package we booked included 2 nights, breakfast and 2 special dinners in the castle's restaurant. The first dinner proved to be really special as we had the whole restaurant just for ourselves - coincidence of course and ''our own private exquisite waiter''. The whole dinner took two hours during which we felt like king and queen of the castle, being served delicious food with complicated names and ingredients. The drinks are not included in the package and they are highly priced but they are worth every cent.
We would definately go there again and it's in our most romantic getaways top ten.

  • Liked — Dinner experience
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasteel Elsloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasteel Elsloo

Address: Maasberg 1 | Elsloo, 6181 Elsloo, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Elsloo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elsloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kasteel Elsloo 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kasteel Elsloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasteel Elsloo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.