We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for Nikolas =)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Creta Vitalis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Creta Vitalis to your Saves list
Creta Vitalis
Main Street | Kalathas, Kalathas, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kalathas
Essex, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Go for Nikolas =)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The whole place was a great experience. I had a balcony room with a view over the Mediterranean, and the staff were so friendly! They were very helpful, and the owners helped me book a tour to Samaria Gorge when I wasn't able to book anywhere else. The beach is about 3 minutes away by foot or 30 seconds by car. There are also hills nearby across from the Kalathas beach that have some pretty awesome rock face, like 30 ft highish, and those were fun to climb! Especially at sunrise. Breakfast is included in the price of the hotel, and it was eggs, yogurt, bread, and orange juice. The area is really great, only about 20 mins from Chania, about 5 mins from Kounoupidiana. The nearest restaurant is about 5 mins by car, Taverna Irene, just turn left on the street and you'll get there. =) Great food! Also, the owners' grandson, Nikolas, lives there on holidays, and OH MY GOODNESS! He is sooo sweet and sooo cute, six years old, acts like he owns the place, loves playing, super adventurous, loves jokes, barely speaks English but will make ppl of all languages laugh haha. He was my fave part of the hotel for sure!! A definite must if you are in the area. It's nice not to be in a city. Also, they had bungalows and houses there too that you could rent out that were fully equipped with stove, refrigerator, etc. That would be great for couples or family, as some of them are two bedroom. The whole thing is very charming and authentically Greek (not Western at all, but very comfortable).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta V, Owner at Creta Vitalis, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you very much for visiting Creta Vitalis. We are really happy to hear that you had such a nice time. This is exactly what we wish from our customers! Your description is very accurate on the area and distances and its very helpfull for other people... Nikolas will be one of the owners in the future so he is learning the job! We hope to see you again in the future. Have a great winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

On a slope with sea view and a porch. Nice view. Hotel has a pool overlooking the sea. seemed very clean. Roomy room ,Nice bed and a kitchenette with large fridge in our studio.
Very nice family owners who was very friendly. oozing hospitality and friendlyness.
Close to the very nice fine sand beach. However short but very unsafe walk on the winding narrow highway partly between stone walls with through traffic and scoooters swooshing by down to the beach area. Not a touristy area. Families better use a car for safety. A good restaurant on the beach serves lunch/dinner from 1 pm. Internet probably works from some rooms but ours (307 with stunning sea view) had too weak signal.
Hot water hat scalding temperature. Be careful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta V, Owner at Creta Vitalis, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed it. You are absolutely right the road to the beach misses a pavement so as to be safer.. Unfortunately it is a local authority problem that we have already asked for...and we hope they will do something about it. It is only 3-5 minutes walk to the beach and a car is not necessary , but greek drivers are a little bit dangerous sometimes.
Thanks for telling us about your internet signal. We will fix it.
Have a nice time back home. We hope you would like to visit us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nis, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Nice hotel, close to the beach. Beautiful sunsets. Clean swimming pool. Friendly staff. No restaurants near (the closest one is about 15min of walk).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creta V, Owner at Creta Vitalis, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It was very nice that you enjoyed it. You are right there is only one restaurant at the beach, all the others are in a near distance but you need to drive for 5-10 minutes. We hope there will be a second restaurant in the future to serve the area. We hope to see you again on your next visit.Have a nice time back home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Creta Vitalis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Vitalis

Address: Main Street | Kalathas, Kalathas, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kalathas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kalathas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CRETA VITALIS is one of the first hotels built in the area. It can accommodate 100 people in 10.000square meters and it is located in the residential area of Kalathas, just 8kms from the beautiful city of Chania. The port of Souda is only 9kms away, whereas the international airport “Ioannis Daskalogiannis” is only 6kms away.The beach of Kalathas is only 150metes away (5-minute walk from the hotel) and you can also swim at the Creta vitalis pool with the beautiful sea view and enjoy the unique sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Creta Vitalis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creta Vitalis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.