We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oulton Hall & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oulton Hall & Spa to your Saves list
Oulton Hall & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rothwell Lane | Oulton, Oulton LS26 8HN, England (Formerly De Vere Oulton Hall)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Poor room not re-furnished as promised, one plus was a very comfy bed. Ate in the restaurant both nights, couldn't eat my steak, complaint handled well. Breakfast was fine but not enough staff at busy times. Leisure Centre not big enough.
Top price, we left very disappointed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel R, Director of Sales at Oulton Hall & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Dabren1963

Many thanks for your review. We value all comments and I am sorry your stay was not in one of the refurbished rooms as promised. I do hope that should you find yourself in the area you will contact me to arrange a repeat stay so i can ensure you get to experience the new rooms. We don’t want any guest to leave disappointed and I hope you will give us the opportunity to demonstrate this was an isolated experience.
kind regards RachelR
Please email me to arrange your next stay on rachel.riches@devere-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    420
    227
    124
    67
See reviews for
154
626
24
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
grimsby
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I booked in for one night for our anniversary, I upgraded to a suite, room 104 the Wensleydale Suite in the Old Hall, it is in fact above reception. My first challenge was finding a car park space within reasonable distance of reception, failing to do this I dropped my wife off first and then went in search of a space, failing to find one I double parked and went in to reception to update my wife. The concerige helpfully took my keys and said he would park it leaving the keys at reception. Not totaly what I wanted but a solution.
Our room was big and came with a four poster and firm mattress which didnt do my wife any favours it was too hard for her. The handle on the loo flush sometimes was loose and wouldnt flush for some time. It was v warm in the room so we searched out and found the thermostat control on the wall which we knocked down. We still had a v warm night, in the morning and by accident I found the radiators had independent radiator thermostats on which we could have turned off.

At this point let me say my wife has only ever returned a meal once in her life and is generally very easy to please with menus.

As Devere customers/owners I receive offers and so it was with this initial booking, I had purchased a package including a 2 course dinner in their restaurant just below us. I tried to use the telephones in the room to ring reception but couldnt use either of them. The speed button to reception just didnt work so i ended up wandering down stairs that is after the bride from the wedding party had finished having her photos took on the stairs which she was spread accross, she did move to one side to allow me by when she could.

We went to the restarant and was oferred a fixed menu of 2 course options as part of our package or £21 each off the main menu which is what we did. There was nothing on the fixed menu that interested us. Indeed there was nothing on the starter list my wife could choose so we went straight into mains saving room for pudding. The menu is said to be fine dining and I think part of the problem for us and my wife in particular was the added "flavours" turning something we/she could eat into something too off beat. We ordered a drink and the sommelier was asked what gins they stocked, he could only remember Bombay Sapphire, we ordered a double it came as a single. I ordered the scallops and pasta in coral sauce which was fine, the scallops were very nice, some edible flowers added variety to the meal. My wife played safe and ordered the ribeye steak cooked medium. It looked odd and I said to her is that a ribeye? it looked like a "beef steak" and her face said it all, it was v tough so tough she wanted to spit it out. I tried a piece and it was v tough. She couldnt eat it and we sent it back with the advice as above. The waitress asked if she wanted anything else but she had been put off and didnt order a replacement. The head waiter came over (didnt get his name but he said he is from Surrey) and he was lovely. He handled us both very well, took interest in our concern and on hearing it was our anniversay brought us a glass of bubbly each on the house which was a v nice gesture. he took the meal off our bill. We ordered a dessert, my wife wasnt finding anything grabbing her on the dessert menu but in order to keep me company ordered the cheesecake, this ocmes with a Rhubarb compot which she had changed to cream which they did no problem. In her words it was a very ordinary cheesecake and she only ate about a third of it. i ordered the cheese plate which was great with a good selection and good sized portions plus excellent "chutney". It was served with no advice what the cheeses were which would have been nice. I asked the sommelier what the cheeses were and he didnt know and started reeling off the top of his head cheeses he know they stocked.

We finished our meal and asked for the bill. The system was down so we said we would sort it out in the morning when we check out. When we did there was £26 on the bill for wine. We hadnt had wine. I queried it and the receptionist looked it up and told me the name of the wine we were supposed to have had, I reinforced we hadnt had any wine and she took it off the bill.

Breakfast was good, lots of hot and cold options, I had the smoked fish and poached egg which I enjoyed. I went to ht ebuffett before hand for fresh pineapple, there was a name plate for it but on the two occaisions I got up to get some there was no pineapple, there were other empty bowls too so I had something else.

The final straw to date is that Devere sent me an on line survey to complete which I did to give them this feedback in effort to help them and agreed to be contacted by their management to discuss my feedback. Week and a half later no one has been in touch. Not quite there Oulton Hall.

Room Tip: The email offer to upgrade to a suite is genuine and good value, our room was huge and we did feel l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We went to the hotel as day guests to use the spa and gym facilities, but after our experience we were glad we weren't staying if the rest of the hotel is of this poor overall standard. We got off to a reasonable start on arrival and were offered a drink in the bar/cafe area, although this was very dark with black slate wallpaper, a drab theme that was continue in much of the facilitiy. We were given our complimentary robes and slippers. The slippers were way too small for my feet, but when we asked if we could get a bigger pair we were told they only came in one size (and more or less tough luck - a theme little did we know then would continue). The dark dingey changing rooms were cold, particularly the gents which was like walking into a chiller. They had experienced some form of flood with damp and wet towels strewn on the floor and overflowing from the towel bin. When I queried this with the reception I was told they were aware of the problem with the temperature in the gents and acknowledged my observations about the complete mess in there. To be fair the time we'd used the gym the changing rooms were tidied up, but alas no action on the heating situation in there and this was still not rectified hours later. The gym was reasonable size for a hotel, if not limited on fixed upper body weight machines and with just one cross trainer. The pool area was nice (and warm) if not dull and dark as with the other areas. We managed to get messed up on our treatment times, which didn't really add to the relaxing time we'd intended. The complimentary gown was pretty small fitting and very short in the arms. again when questioned I was told by the reception staff that they were all one size (they said XL, but I'm only a medium frame and it was small for me!) They did offer for me to try another, but this was the same size. But, the treatments were pretty good, if not cut short and a little spoilt as I felt frustrated with the whole place before i went in. The relaxation area after the treatment was a very black and dark affair and not at all relaxing as other guests insisted on talking in loudish voices. So we retreated to the much warmer and slightly quieter poolside area. The pol is a reasonable size, as are the steam and sauna areas. The showers had mold on the ceiling, a broken lock on the door and a broken soap dispenser. Other than that it was fine, but overall not the nice relaxing experience we were after or in deed should have expected from a hotel of this standard. Needless to say we won't be rushing back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived after a 5 hour drive and reception staff soo friendly and patient as I want to see a couple of rooms so I can choose my upgrade options. I love a bath so the chambres min this time but the suites are def for me for our next stay. Love the baileys and hot choc touch, thankyou. And the club sandwich and champas in chapagne bar are superb. A stylish and welcoming hotel

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We booked for one night to attend an event happening at this hotel. Booking was quick and easy and check in was the same. The hotel is a beautiful stately home and, upon close inspection, looks as it it has been spruced up in recent years (I have been before.). Our room was on the second floor and was large in size with all of the basic ammenities you would expect, including wifi. The room had a nice modern tv, comfortable bed, kettle and fridge. The bathroom was large with seperate tub and shower. Our main complaint was the shower as it has not been thoufgt out well and my husband flooded the bathroom when he had a shower!

Nesides the main event, we did use the Champagne Bar at the end of our evening which had nice, comfy seating areas and the resturant for a nice breakfast in the morning.

Check out was quick and professional.

We were very happy with our stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at De Vere Oulton Hall for one night. Whilst only an overnight stay, we left feeling relaxed having had a great day. We stopped off for the night after staying at another De Vere hotel which hadn't met our expectations. Oulton Hall was great. The check in was swift, the staff friendly and warm, the room was nicely decorated and the pool was lovely and warm. The spa facilities have been re-modelled since our last stay and I have to say they look great. We had an evening meal at the Claret Jug - the food was very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Absolutely fantastic this hotel has the lot excellant service staff. We were here for a friends wedding and found the food is second to none and nothing is ever a problem,
The prices are a wee bit high and rooms are to a very high standard
On the whole a very beautiful place very clean, nice grounds, only slight thing would have to be we eat in the main room next to the champs bar but the evening part of the wedding was a 3 mins wak away but this was not clear. as its darker now very poor lighting to get ther and had to kind of guess where you were stepping
Apart from this I would return and tell everyone to visit such a beautiful place, staff amazing 100% will return
Thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oulton Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oulton Hall & Spa

Address: Rothwell Lane | Oulton, Oulton LS26 8HN, England (Formerly De Vere Oulton Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Oulton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oulton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oulton Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sweeping driveway leads up to one of the grandest entrances in Yorkshire, where you’re met by a very warm welcome from our concierge. This unique 18th century former family home has beautiful landscaped gardens and lawns. Inside you’ll find grand staircases, 152 bedrooms, a state-of-the-art spa & fitness club and private function rooms. Dining at Oulton is a treat for the senses. From the classic Yorkshire afternoon tea served by the butler in the Drawing Room, to Champagne on the terrace, or a steak from the Calverley Grill.If you’re interested in the outdoors there are many activities that can be arranged. Or golfers of any level will find challenge in the 27 holes that are the meandering fairways and perfect greens of The Calverley and Hall Courses. Raise your game even further with the North’s leading golf facility in the Nike Academy. As well as custom fitting, the Academy uses the latest technology to significantly improve your game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oulton Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Oulton Hall Hotel Oulton
De Vere Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall Leeds
Oulton Hall & Spa Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oulton Hall & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.