We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chillacking to the Max !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 3 Martini Beach Bar Restaurant and Apartments

Save Saved
You added 3 Martini Beach Bar Restaurant and Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
3 Martini Beach Bar Restaurant and Apartments
Valley Road, Crab Hill, Saint Mary's, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Crab Hill
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Chillacking to the Max !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

If you’re looking for peace, quiet and the true flavour of Antigua LOOK NO FURTHER! We Loved this hidden gem and all it had to offer. The owners, Dianne and Mr.G, couldn’t have been any more accommodating. From renting cars, delivered right to your seaside barstool, to equipping you with all you need to set up camp at your own private beach for the day.Our host made it easy and beyond affordable at $125 a night and a Hot Breakfast included!

We’ve travel to the Caribbean twice every winter and always to all inclusives. This was our first vacation out of our comfort zone and exceeded all our expectations. The atmosphere is beyond laid back. The beach and water is beautiful and pretty much deserted most days. 2 or 3 days a week the cruise ships come to port in St’John’s and run tours at the opposite end of the beach . 20-30 people was the most we experienced any day. Most days we were the only people on the beach, it was like vacationing as the rich and famous would only without having all the $$ in the bank.

The apartments have charm overlooking the ocean. They are in need of cosmetic repairs, window screens, new screen doors, window handles as I’ve heard others complain of but it is so minor in the Big Picture it’s hardly worth mentioning. The view from the balcony is amazing! We watched Pelicans dive-bombing a few hundred feet from our balcony every morning as small local birds snacked on breadcrumbs inches from our morning coffee. Each evening sipping Caribe’s on the same balcony the most extraordinary sunsets we’ve ever experienced mesmerized us. The sun slowly slinks away between Mt.Montserrat (an active volcano) and St. Lucia in the distance every evening painting the sky a dissimilar palate without fail. What a magical way to say goodbye to the sun each day, perfect vacation memories.

Another Diamond in the 3 Martinis vacationers crown is a charming Englishman whom answers to the name of Richard Lee (AKA Master Chef! ) .Pure character with a zany flair for life and food. You’ll want to pack Mr. Lee in your suitcase and bring him home with you. Antigua will soon sing the praises of Mr. Lee’s cooking brilliance. His simple straight forward home cooking style mixed with panache for adding the perfect flavour is unrivalled! If you’re lucky he’ll play you a classic tune or two on his acoustic guitar while enjoying a cold caribe (local beer) as dinner settles. Richard, dinner time at home here just isn’t the same anymore, we miss you.

3 Martinis is the perfect launching pad for all your Antigua adventures. In the mist of the local Crab Hill community we experienced nothing but welcoming smiles from everyone we met. You can walk the beach in and out of hidden deserted coves for miles or catch the local bus for 3 EC that will take you to St.John’s to explore for the day, it’s all easy and laid back.

We’ll be back to 3 Martinis to visit our new friends Dianne, Mr G and Mr Lee the next time we need our batteries recharged from the chaotic pace of today’s world. We still have 340 more of Antigua 365 amazing beaches to explore and all within a 1 hour drive from our new home away from home 3 Martinis

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
12
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

Antigua - 3 Martini Bar & Restaurant & Apartments
January 2009

We have just spent two months cruising the Windwards and making our way North into the Leewards where we would leave our boat in Jolly Harbour, then returning to the UK. As the boat is 'lifted' and left in the boatyard, I was looking for somewhere to stay on the last night before our flight home.

Making enquires in Jolly Harbour for somewhere to stay for one night we were recommended the above.

Whilst I felt that Diane and Godfrey who own 3 Martinis were most pleasant, the 'hotel and restaurant' were a complete letdown. I have no problem with simple or basic, what I do have a problem with is dirty, broken, and generally run down. On first impression, the place is very tired, falling apart, and somewhere you really would choose to leave if you could. Our room was on the lower floor, the upper floor being 'more expensive', it consisted of a kitchen, sofa bed and en suite.

The kitchen was non existant, the large steel sink was taped off with a large dead grasshopper left, the taps did not work, the bed was an ample size but that is where it ended. The 'sofa' and bed had fleas, the bathroom was quite disgusting, all around the toilet the tiles had been removed, and the area was wet and rotten, only one of the shower controls worked, but came out of the wall and could hardly be turned, the 'curtain' was covered in mold and falling apart.

The louvred glass panes were broken and did not move, a fan was provided but the plug had to be wiggled to stay in, likewise the only lamp by one side of the bed was not something you would want to meddle with exposed rotten wiring. We had a pretty large cockroach which we eventually managed to kill, my husband went to the owners, a lad came to our room with a spray can, saying we should be lucky that it was just this one!

I have looked at other reports of this 'hotel' and simply cannot believe what I am reading, it is almost as though they are talking about another place! I would never ever recommend anybody to stay here, we were going to stay in a hotel the day we returned to our boat, but will now return to the boatyard, at least we have a 5* boat to look forward to.

As I mentioned the owners are most pleasant and helpful, the view of the ocean is lovely but the place is a joke,

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

A rarity for Antigua's lovely south-west coast - a beach bar with no attitude problem ! Expect a genuinely warm welcome from Diane (from Toronto) and Godfrey (from Jamaica). Dinner needs to be booked the day before but is well worth it - Angela the cook produces delicious warmly-spiced slow-cooked casseroles with Jamaican flair (Jerk chicken, brown-stewed beef, curried goat etc) served delightfully by Diane. Expect to pay about 50EC / £13 / 18 US for a starter salad and main course. Location is just east of OJ's opposite Crab Hill beach, between Darkwood beach and Johnson's Point. Parking is awkward - use the verge opposite. See two photos, attached. For more of my photos from this area see www.webshots.com/user/aloudon

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

We stayed here for a week in January. The bar is right on the beach so you can get from your room to the water in less than a minute.

Diane and Godfrey who run 3 Martini were very friendly and laid back hosts.

The room was fairly basic but large and good value. We also had a lovely view of the beach from our balcony.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2008

To our friends Godfrey and Diana, you made our Holiday fantastic and we look forward to seeing you in July.

This is the best place we found in Antigua, right next to the beach and so friendly. You cant go to Antigua with staying here and feel the real Caribbean.

Colin and Karen.
Scotland

  • Liked — Everything, the garden is full of fruits and flowers and the view if the beach no more than 10 meters away
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2007

On the way to a sailing trip around Antigua, 3 Martini's was our congregation point before our sail - it happened to be New Year's Eve! Perched high on a hill, my hotel room was spacious and tropical. The view from the balcony was magnificant - a non obstructucted view of the sea. The restaraunt and bar are also wonderfully positioned for great views of the sea and gentle breezes. Diane and her staff provided the most memorable New Year's offerings - excellent food, drinks and fun! Great music! Thank you Diane and Godfrey for starting off my 2007 and sailing trip so memorably - you're the best!!
Your friend from Arlington, Texas.

  • Liked — Location, views, food, drinks and music
  • Disliked — Minimal bath amenities - soap, shampoo, etc.
  • Tips/Secrets — Great place but be prepared for stairs - no elevators
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2007

I spent a fabulous New Year's with 7 friends at 3 Martini! Diane and Godfrey are delightful and warm hosts, devoting their time and attention to making us feel at home and helping us celebrate in fine style. And let's not forget the beauty and charm of Lady, queenly pup in residence! I hope to return again to sample Antigua's and 3 Martini's hospitality.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 3 Martini Beach Bar Restaurant and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Martini Beach Bar Restaurant and Apartments

Address: Valley Road, Crab Hill, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Crab Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Crab Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Front/Ocean View Accommodations at '3 MARTINI' Beach Bar,Restaurant and Apartments, a small boutique resort on the hillside opposite one of Antigua's most beautiful south-coast beaches. Come for a day and stay for a night or two. 3 Martini Resort with beach front and ocean view rooms/apartments, private patios, and luxury villa. Providing the ultimate romantic hideout complete with the sounds of the ocean to ease your drift into a perfect night of rest. The perfect escape from the usual tourist fare offered by big hotels and resorts on Antigua. The beach bar restaurant, is surrounded by a wild Tropical Garden with spellbinding daily sunsets to accompany our "happy hour" drink specials.Dine by reservation on the outside terrace nightly (space very limited during full moon phases). Enjoy romantic seating on the veranda overlooking the emerald waters of the Caribbean Sea while dining on a unique menu of International and Island cuisine mixes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your 3 Martini Beach Bar Restaurant and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3 Martini Beach Bar Restaurant and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.