We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach, shame about the hotel!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of 3 Martini Beach Bar Restaurant and Apartments

Save Saved
You added 3 Martini Beach Bar Restaurant and Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
3 Martini Beach Bar Restaurant and Apartments
Valley Road, Crab Hill, Saint Mary's, Antigua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Crab Hill
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, shame about the hotel!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I’m afraid we would not recommend this hotel. On the positive side, the room was big and had an excellent view, and one of the best beaches on the island was right outside, across the road. Also there is a very friendly assistant working at the hotel whom we liked very much.

Our experience at 3 Martinis was overall negative, due mainly to the poor customer service from the hotel owner. This was despite the fact that we were the only guests at the time and one would have expected an even better service. Our fridge and the shower were not working when we arrived. We were not informed of this on arrival and when we asked about the shower we were told they were working on it (why had they not warned us?!). When we asked for the fridge to be fixed, it felt like we were inconveniencing the hotel owner from his otherwise quiet day. It then took until the following day for them to replace the fridge with one from the other vacant rooms.

Another sore point was that our room was not cleaned every day. For a hotel charging around US $100 per night, one would expect the room cleaned, ideally with towels and bedding changed, every day. No, at 3 Martinis, every other day is the custom, and even then on one of those days they forgot to do it altogether. When we asked for clean towels we were told they didn’t have any available, despite the fact they had five other vacant rooms at the time! Over nine days and nights our room was cleaned and linen changed only three times.

The last straw came, when with one hour to go until our taxi arrived to take us to the airport on a Friday afternoon, the hotel owner could not find our passports, which we had handed in to him for his safe keeping on our first day. He had not put them in his safe as we had requested, as he could not remember the code! He had misplaced them, much to our concern! Thankfully, he found them just in time, but did not really acknowledge the gravity of the situation, much to our frustration. His losing them could have cost us thousands of pounds not to mention the inconvenience.

Needless to say, we will not be going there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
12
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Its a bit out of the way, but has a beautiful quiet beach right on its doorstep. I think we were well off season so was very quiet, and only a few locals at the bar. We had a nice balcony were we drank and watched the sunset. Only stayed one night, but enjoyed it. I hate to say it, but there were a few cockroaches about the room, so I gave the cleanliness a two, but I suppose this is the Caribbean. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Good time, very friendly staff, good martinis, great place to sit and watch Florida folks walk by.Dont go if expecting "cheap" drinks but atmosphere and staff well worth it . especially if you like James Bond! Room are available also, the best location right in middle of town.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed at 3 Martini for two nights. My room (room 3 on the ground floor) was enormous. There's no AC, but the temperature was comfortable at night. And the best part about the room was falling asleep listening to the waves come into the shore, as the hotel is literally just across the road from the beach. If you're the fluffy pillow, mini bar, in-room TV type, this is not the place for you. But if you want somewhere with a local vibe and lots of character instead of a cookie cutter resort, 3 Martini is a good choice.

The food was excellent. I ate at the hotel both nights. I'm pescatarian (vegetarian + fish) so Diane prepared food that worked for me, and it was very tasty! Diane and Godfrey are great hosts. They have both lived in various places and done lots of things, and are interesting to talk to - which I did both evenings I was there. Diane was also very helpful in giving me a decent map (unlike the useless one I got from Avis) and advice on my proposed itinerary for the day I toured around much of the island.

Crab Hill is a good location - esp if you want to avoid staying in St. John's (who wouldn't?) and the more touristy parts in English Harbour. I had a rental car, and was within easy driving distance of all the main tourist sights.

So I'm glad I picked 3 Martini and would stay here again if I go back to Antigua.

Room Tip: Room 3 is on the ground floor and very large with twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

A lot of reviews talk about how sparse the accommodations are at 3 Martini but we found our room to be spacious and clean with a beautiful view of the ocean just steps from the beach. The price was fair and cheaper than the "nicer" resorts around town, the owner Geoffrey was super cool. My only real suggestion to 3 Martini is they buy some wifi extenders so it reaches the rooms better but it works great at the bar restaurant. We didn't eat there, OJs is right down the road 100m and there are many other resorts on Turners to walk to. If you're looking for something off the resort circuit with tons of charm, killer views and super close to the beach I'd look no further.

Room Tip: #4 and #6 are the upstairs corner units you're looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The 3 Martini has a nice sunset view, but there are also things to complain about:

- Old building, paint crumples down everywhere
- Furnished balcony as mentioned on booking.com = two old plastic chairs
- The lounge, mentioned on booking.com, I didn't find
- Wifi only in the restaurant
- I never saw anybody eating in the restaurant nor did I smell food at anytime
- Security lock at door didn't close
- Sliding door to the balcony didn't close. A wooden stick was provided to jam between the wall and the door in order to close it
- As mentioned on the Homepage no AC
- Kitchen consisted of an old sink and two plastic cups only
- Rubbish under the sink
- Empty plastic bags in one of the the kitchen drawers
- Two drawers glued with paint and didn't open
- Holes in the mosquito nets at the windows

Even using a lot of "No Bite" I couldn't sleep well because of the mosquitos coming through the holes (window) and cleaves (sliding door). Altogether a poor value for the money, but a nice view (only for that two stars instead of one).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place, and we had a wonderful host, Geoffrey! Your are a wonderful story teller.... I had a beautiful view from my room, the sound of the water (ocean) from my room was simply therapeutic!
However the hotel needs a bit of refurbishment and face lift..., the breakfast menu also ought to have a variety.
All in all Antigua is really a beautiful place, I would defiantly recommend 3 Martini to anyone visiting the island. It has lots of warm and friendly people.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 3 Martini Beach Bar Restaurant and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Martini Beach Bar Restaurant and Apartments

Address: Valley Road, Crab Hill, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Crab Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Crab Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Front/Ocean View Accommodations at '3 MARTINI' Beach Bar,Restaurant and Apartments, a small boutique resort on the hillside opposite one of Antigua's most beautiful south-coast beaches. Come for a day and stay for a night or two. 3 Martini Resort with beach front and ocean view rooms/apartments, private patios, and luxury villa. Providing the ultimate romantic hideout complete with the sounds of the ocean to ease your drift into a perfect night of rest. The perfect escape from the usual tourist fare offered by big hotels and resorts on Antigua. The beach bar restaurant, is surrounded by a wild Tropical Garden with spellbinding daily sunsets to accompany our "happy hour" drink specials.Dine by reservation on the outside terrace nightly (space very limited during full moon phases). Enjoy romantic seating on the veranda overlooking the emerald waters of the Caribbean Sea while dining on a unique menu of International and Island cuisine mixes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your 3 Martini Beach Bar Restaurant and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3 Martini Beach Bar Restaurant and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.