We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's starting to creak a bit...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Luton South - M1, Jct 9

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Luton South - M1, Jct 9 to your Saves list
Premier Inn Luton South - M1, Jct 9
London Road, Flamstead AL3 8HT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £54
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flamstead
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It's starting to creak a bit...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Been staying at this one for 3 weeks now, There is something seriously wrong with the bathroom floors, The first week I asked to move room because upon entering the bathroom area, My foot went 2 inches into the lino, felt like there was a huge hole underneath it, I mentioned it to reception and they moved me, No holes under the lino this time but the floor in the bathroom was strangely lumpy still, Week 2 completely different room on the first floor and same again, Floorboard must be rotten in most of the room and it stinks of damp. Time for a major re-fit me thinks. Also the cups in the rooms seem to have someone elses dried on drink in the bottom of them, not always but more often than not. As previously mentioned on another review, the harvester on the grounds is a nightmare anytime after 6pm to get served and of course you can't book a table. It's time to spend some money on this old moat house premier inn.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the road, The rooms round the back get a good amount of deers running in the wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    75
    33
    12
    9
See reviews for
87
79
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Premier Inns : consistently OK & that's certainly not a complaint. I like the beds & they're quiet enough. This one, just off junction 9 of the M1, was perfect for me to experiment going into St Pancras by train from Harpenden.
It all worked like magic & I shall do it again.
I might be restricted by the wifi - which is a major influence in where I stay sometimes. Thirty minutes for free is OK but takes a bit of planning, to get all't data in a queue & do one's Facebook & Tripadvisor updates within time.
I don't like the general trend of not fitting shaver sockets in the bathroom & removing towel heaters on H&S grounds ...laughable, unsafe towel heaters for god's sake ...come on hotels, let's have the truth about towel heaters & towel exchange ....it's about saving money. Stop telling your guests "pork pies".

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Situated almost next to J9 of the M1, it is close to Luton Airport and Whipsnade Zoo. The hotel, I was told, was only taken over by Premier Inn about 2 years ago, which explains why it is slightly different in layout to most other hotels in the chain.

The big downside is the adjacent Harvester Restaurant, which is not part of the Whitbread Group, so nothing can be done to improve things. You can not book a table in advance. On arrival, at busy times, you may have to wait for a table to become free. (I had to wait for 30 minutes - at 5.30 - and the bar area was full with people just sitting aound and waiting to be seated. I put my name down on their list and walked back to my room. When i returned half an hour later, new arrivals were being told the wait was over 45 minutes.) It is very noisy - as it is popular with families with babies and very small child.ren If you can't live with that, then you need to find another restaurant or maybe book into another hotel altogether. (Trip Adviser restaurant reviews can be found under Harvester Flamstead.)

However, back to the hotel. There is plenty of car parking space, even with the busy restaurant next door. The Reception area is bright and open, with a breakfast bar (normal Premier Inn English and continental) behind. (You can also buy teas and coffees outside of breakfast times.)

I had a ground floor room, 101. The room maybe slightly smaller than in other Premier Inns and the bathroom only has a shower and not a bath, which was fine for me. The room and bathroom was clean. The bed was quite firm. The TV (with the normal Freeview TV and radio channels) was smaller than others in the chain, but adequate.

Planes taking off and landing at Luton can be heard with the window open - but not when shut. There was no phone (although a phone/computer socket) and no shaver point in the bathroom. You do get free wi-fi for 30 minutes each day, although in the evening it was so slow that I was timed out from that before being able to use it. The following morning, however, ther was no problem.

I was woken at 3 a.m. by a low humming noise, which I reported the following morning, and by the time I checked out, the cause had been traced and will, hopefully, have been rectified. Otherwise, the place was quiet. They had a 'computer problem' which meant they could not take any payment for my breakfast - which was compensation enough for having been woken during the night. All staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.

In summary, there's not much wrong with the hotel - but beware of the restaurant next door..

Room Tip: Book online well in advance for the best prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is just a minute from the M1, and really handy for the major airports (around 30 minutes to Heathrow for us). The rooms were quite cool temperature-wise, but general comfort was good, as was the slightly expensive breakfast the following morning.

You get free wifi for 30 mins only, so use it wisely! I think it's time for hotels like this to realise that free wifi is quite a selling point for them. All round, great stop off. Recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Adrian at checkin was fab so expectations high but woke up to find absolutely zero, nil, zlich, nada hot water in the bathroom and shower. Reported to reception who informed would be fixed in 10 mins. One hour later heard her telling guests the same story, so wash down in sink courtesy of the kettle. Big Premier Inn fan but second time water supplies have not been in situ and this is a basic need that should be satisfied surely. Starting to move my very high business use to another chain where service is great and price more competitive. Waiting for good night guarantee to kick in within '5 working days'.....it better had.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Luton South - M1, Jct 9, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay and we sincerely apologies that there was not water during your stay. Please can you email your booking details to talktous@premierinn.com so we can ensure you refund has been processed in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Thank you once again for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

As per the title really. The room was chilly and took a while to heat up. Our bathroom only had a shower which was OK, but the bathroom could really do with a upgrade like so many Premier Inns have had.

The rooms were smaller than usual but at £29 for a night you can really do a lot worse.

Plus points were the friendly staff, cleanliness of rooms and nice quiet breakfast area.

We would stay here again if we were in the area and required a bed for the night.

Room Tip: Request a room facing away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here as we were attending a military event. Very clean, nice comfy bed and pillow, fabulous breakfast.Easy to find, no issue with noise, it was really quiet.We were able to park outside and there was plenty of space. Breakfast was excellent. You can order on line or when you arrive and its cooked freshly for you between 6.30 and 10 if I remember correctly. Huge choice, usually cereals,fruit bowls, toast,crumpets, croissants and cooked breakfast,juice and coffee for just over £8. Or a cheaper continental brekkie, Children eat free. There is a harvester next door for evening meals/lunches. Only prob we had was the room just wasnt that warm and we didnt have an extra blanket so felt chilly all night, our daughter was next door and hers was ok but not as toasty as some places, maybe ours was a faulty heater. We kept trying to adjust it but it wouldn't warm up! Great value all the same. Id use them again no problem. A lot better than any travel lodge I have stayed in!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Luton South - M1, Jct 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Luton South - M1, Jct 9

Address: London Road, Flamstead AL3 8HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Flamstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flamstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Luton South - M1, Jct 9 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Luton South (m1, Jct 9) Hotel Flamstead
Premier Inn Saint Albans
Holiday Inn Saint Albans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Luton South - M1, Jct 9, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.