We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Franchi Bardavi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arielli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palazzo Franchi Bardavi
Save
You added Palazzo Franchi Bardavi to your Saves list
Via San Nicola 15, 66030 Arielli, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Arielli B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Having attended a lunch here previously and been bowled over by the views, the amazing dining space, the food and the hosts, when we heard there was a wine tasting we were very pleased to return, this time to stay for the night as well. Valeria and Daniele were wonderful hosts, and looked after us very well, even though they were organising the wine tasting that evening. Our room was lovely and quirky with fabulous toiletries (so important!!). The wine tasting itself was great fun and Valeria had very kindly organised it so that we were able to join a table of other English speakers so that we were not alone - this was greatly appreciated. The food that accompanied the wine was absolutely delicious. All it all it was great fun and hopefully we will return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valeria maria g... f, Proprietario at Palazzo Franchi Bardavi, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Just a quick one to thank you dearly for your nice review, which means so much to us and for our business. It is such a pleasure to meet people like you, exchange ideas, spend some nice time together. we really hope to have back soon! Merry Christmas
Valeria Franchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montefiascone, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights mid-Sept 2012, to meet some friends who were staying nearby. What more can we add to what has already been said? The moment we arrived, we were warmly welcomed by Daniele, who immediately offered us a glass of Prosecco followed by a plate of salami and cheese. After several hours travelling, this was exactly what we needed!
The palazzo has been beautifully restored, maintaining the original character of the building but with some modern touches. Daniele and Valeria are the perfect hosts, very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We had an excellent dinner in the restaurant on our first night, as unfortunately a thunderstorm meant we could not eat on the terrace! The following day we were lucky enough to be able to join a lunch party in the lower part of the restaurant. This was a set menu for 20 euros a head, including wine and it was amazing. So many different dishes to try - all delicious. We were very fortunate that the weather was awful or we may never have experienced this wonderful feast.
The bedrooms are themed, very well appointed with modern bathrooms and very comfortable beds. Valeria kindly gave us a guided tour of all the rooms (ours was 'Sarto').
Thankyou for a wonderful weekend, can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahant, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed for four nights at the end of August, 2012 - Daniele and Valeria are wonderful hosts, very helpful...everything very nice, clean. Dinner on the terrace in the evening is five-star...the choices of local wines are outstanding...it is easy to go to local shopping, easy to get to a very nice beach in Ortona...many nearby locations with interesting history...for us it was very serene, peaceful during the morning, lively in the evening...if you want to discover Abruzzo, this is the place to start!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valeria maria g... f, Proprietario at Palazzo Franchi Bardavi, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your review The support and satisfaction of our customers is very important to us. Even more when they have faced such a long journey to get here: it is an honor for us to have helped you discover a little bit of this wonderful land, still secret and genuine for large part of the tourists all over the world. What you do to support and "spread the news" is so important, crucial - not only for us but for the whole region of precious a
Abruzzo! We hope to have you soon back here to discover other colors and seasons of this beautiful area.
Regards and best wishes.
Valeria Franchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

we stayed in Palazzo Franchi Bardavi in late May 2012 for 4 nights. we travel a lot but very rarely come across a place that is blessed with a combination of so many parameters: very modern facilities in a very old, special and beautiful building full with atmosphere; sparkling clean; located in the heart of an old Italian village, wonderful views: slopes of endless vineyards and olive trees and snowed mountains in the horizon, located in the midst of an active agriculture area: strawberries trees, figs, olives, vineyards, and more; 15 minutes drive from the blue, calm and inviting water of the Adriatic and small local fish restaurants; the hosts, Valeria and Danielle are very friendly and from the first moment made us feel at home and were happy to send us to hidden gems in the area. all in all we had an enchanted 4 days with them. we will surely be back!!!

Room Tip: The Baron Suite is slightly more expensive but worth it - very spacious, 6 windows!!!, wonderful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed in this bed & breakfast for a long weekend with my family, occupying all the available rooms. They each have their own style and touch, but they are all wonderful: beautiful, quiet, clean, spacious. Valeria and Daniele are exemplary in their hospitaly, making sure that each of my family members got the special attention they needed.
We also had a large festive lunch on Saturday, which was really magnificent: the food was great, as was the atmosphere. It is clear that also local people love to come to the in-house restaurant.
The Palazzo Franchi Bardavi is a beautiful place to stay: the building consists of several archeological layers (a medieval borough and later additions from the 16th, 18th and 21 century) which have been very nicely integrated by the architect. From Arielli one can be both at the sea and in the mountains within 20-30 minutes.
I am sure that we will go back some day! Hopefully soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

The rooms are luxurious, 5 star hotel range, the location is amazing. You can see both the mountains and the see from the terrace. Free wi-fi, food is great and owners are amazingly friendly. Highly recommended for a quiet relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We just returned from Arielli, Italy and met a lovely couple, Valeria and Daniele, as we were roaming the streets of this quaint little town. They own the 'Palazzo Franchi Bardavi', a charming bed and breakfast with spectacular views. We only wished we had known about it earlier. Fortunately we had the opportunity to eat in their delightful restaurant with heaps of atmosphere. The food was outstanding, and an excellent wine selection was available. Valeria took us on a tour of their rooms, and if we go back to Arielli we know where we will stay! Without a doubt, Valeria and Daniele will make your trip memorable.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Franchi Bardavi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Franchi Bardavi

Address: Via San Nicola 15, 66030 Arielli, Italy
Location: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of Chieti > Arielli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Arielli
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Franchi Bardavi is an elegant Relais wich offers four beautiful double rooms. It is set in a wonderful and peaceful countryside village, in an ancient suburb between mountain and see which offers the possibility to enjoy a cosy and warm stay. Each room is dedicated to a theme and this is why each one has its colors, atmospheres, details and furniture. They also have private bathrooms and TV. We offer genuine breakfast and, thanks to our restaurant, Pane&Olio, you can also choose half or full board service. We organize parties, ceremonies, conferences and meetings thanks to our huge spaces. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Franchi Bardavi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.