We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel on our trip” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Metropole Hotel Phuket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Metropole Hotel Phuket to your Saves list
Metropole Hotel Phuket
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Soi Surin, Montri Road, Talat Yai, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Talat Yai
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The worst hotel on our trip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We traveled Thailand for 3 weeks and we were so disappointed with the Metropole. We arrived late and were given a small double even though we booked a room for 4. Mistakes can happen and details can be overlooked but the way we were handled was unacceptable as was the time we had to wait. 2 hours to get a poor solution to our room then 2 hours for room service. Tv didn't work and aircon leaked but the worst thing about the hotel was the attitude of the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peerapong, General Manager at Metropole Hotel Phuket, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We are sorry for the inconvenience caused and I've some talking with our Executive House Keeping, 2 hours waiting for room services must be improved as soon as possible. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    31
    24
    26
    25
See reviews for
13
23
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

nice and clean room,goodlocation but try to eat spmewhere else and some local food not in the hotel. the room rate could be cheaper as there are many hotels and guesthouse in town that worth to try and possibly cheaper.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peerapong, General Manager at Metropole Hotel Phuket, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us recently and hope to welcome you again in the next vaction, once we let you know that almost hotels in Thailand provided local Thai food like Metropole Hotel served local food at The Metropole Cafe' (2nd floor). Next stay please do not hesitate to contact our GSA for more hotel information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed here with my family for one night because we needed to catch the plane in the early morning, so its easier for us.The aircon in the room i stayed in was leaking. New Samsung TV. toilet was clean, bed was clean.
GUYS, THIS IS IMPORTANT
So my dad, he's quite blur and he told the receptionist that our room number was a floor above our actual room number and the receptionist didn't even check, she just gave my dad the room key and my dad went up and we actually opened someone else's room. SO overall its quite dangerous, triple lock it when your in there, and if your going out, keep your things in the safe.
Breakfast was okay for what your paying for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peerapong, General Manager at Metropole Hotel Phuket, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your comment and sorry for the inconvenience caused. It's very important thing should be aware for hospitality business and security system. It's must be improve immediately.

Thank you and welcome you and your family again next year vacation.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for only one night, just to catch a ferry at the day after.
The hotel deco is a little old but well maintained. Rooms are clean but as some other reviewer mentioned there was a terrible smell of sewage at the bathroom. Staff was not so friendly (desk and bellboy who rolled his eyes at us when we tried to ask something...) - so we said nothing and just waited to leave.
Breakfast was nice with a good variety.

Room Tip: Check there is no sewage smell at the bathroom before accepting the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peerapong, General Manager at Metropole Hotel Phuket, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comment, We have notified the mechanic to check the sewage pipe system and also add more standard service course training as soon as possible.

Thank you and hope to welcome you again next holidays.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I am very happy to stay at the Metropole hotel in downtown Phuket. At a time when the night view of the city of Phuket hotel room is fabulous, beautiful town of Phuket with sparkling city lights.
Close to Shongthaews, buses to various famous beach destination of Phuket, on the left and right site many stores like 7 Eleven and others
The rooms are clean, soft bed and warm water Sower mmmm cool and comfortable
Hotel staff was very friendly but at the breakfast restaurant its staff can not smile but once friendly housekeeping.
Breakfast is delicious, like Asian flavors with a great selection of hot breakfast.
Never one electric outages make the next room crowded at all.
Room rates are priced according to the location of the hotel

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the beautiful city sights
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peerapong, General Manager at Metropole Hotel Phuket, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Mr.Mohamad Talim,

Thank you so much for your stay with us recently and thank you again for your comment with compliment to our hotel. We hope to welcome you and your family again in the next holiday.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there only one night. Thank god!

i assumed it used to be a great hotel but has not been maintained correctly.

Service is too informal. food was average and breakfast was all cold at 7am!

Room was ok but there was a horrible smell coming from the toilet. not pleasant at all.

Pool didn't look clean.

will not stay again here nor recommend it to anyone.

The whole place needs a massive renovation.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaithawat, Manager at Metropole Hotel Phuket, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Ncharry,

Thank you so much for your comment but we let you know about our breakfast which served both American breakfast and continental breakfast for your selection, something cold something hot and also room toilet smell as well, we got 248 room available if you need to move to another room and the last comment our swimming pool did't look clean, I am not sure if you just take a look but we got a lot of Fitness and swimming pool member from local Phuketian and now we got renovation project to our swimming pool in a few month.

Thank you for your comment, we hope to welcome you and your family again in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Canyon, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed 2 weeks at the Metropole Hotel. Very good breakfast buffet. Very friendly and helpful hotel staff. Big rooms with good beds on 16 floor.Close to the shops, It is not necessary to take expensive taxis, you can rent a motorbike or stop a taxi on the way. It will cost you 200 Baht to the Central Festival.

Good internet connection at the hotel (wireless). You get free beach towels.
The pool not big,but comfortable.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friend

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaithawat, Manager at Metropole Hotel Phuket, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Hellcopter,

Thank you so much for your compliment to our property, We hope to welcome you again next year on valentine's day.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropole Hotel Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel Phuket

Address: 1 Soi Surin, Montri Road, Talat Yai, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Talat Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Talat Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metropole Hotel Phuket 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Metropole Hotel Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Phuket Town
Metropole Phuket Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropole Hotel Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.