We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room & breakfast, super helpful staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Dara Boutique Hotel & Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added New Dara Boutique Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
New Dara Boutique Hotel & Residence
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14/18, 14/21 Moo 4, Chaofa Road | Vichit, Muang, Wichit, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly Dara Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Wichit
Krakow, Poland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great room & breakfast, super helpful staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We found a deal for a Junior Suite on booking.com and it was great value. We had it so last minute that it was at a price of the standard room almost, so the room was great - clean, modern. I have read the other comments and it is true that the lights are super dim - usually I don't mind but in the bathroom it's a must for any woman! We were pleasantly surprised by the cool, modern swimming pool area. The wi-fi is great.

Breakfasts are great with a variety of omelettes, eggs, bacon, pastries, fresh coffee which was also a nice surprise because we were used to noodles for breakfast. The staff were very helpful. The hotel offers a complimentary tuk-tuk service to the nearby shopping centre which is useful for finding taxis.

Overall a super pleasant stay!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
5
13
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Small new 3 star standard basic hotel located at a junction. Nothing nearby save its within walking distance to Central Festival Mall. Hotel provides free shuttle to 3 locations only. Central Festival Mall, Big C and weekend night market which are all nearby. No proper footpath though so have to dash across roads and manoeuvre through the traffic if you decide to walk. You need to take a cab or tuk tuk if you want to go to Phuket town. No difference in price. Nothing much to see or do in Phuket town. Small clean room with all the basic stuff provided. Big fridge. Cable TV and wifi available free. Small lobby and miniscule pool and cafeteria. Staff mostly helpful but need more work on the friendly section. At least one reception staff working night was extremely impatient when asked with too many questions to the extent of being rude to most. Security guard double up as a bell boy and technician double up as driver. All the better, well known and chic hotels are located at Patong beach

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel, I was happy with everything considering the low price I paid until the last day, when we where checking out I told the lady at reception that I wanted to book a ferry to phi phi island for 600 baht that included transport to the pier from the hotel. She told me that the ferry (cruiser) was booked up so I had to order a taxi which cost me 500 baht. The taxi man by the way is the most annoying taxi driver I have ever came across and he works for Dara hotel . He is always trying to get you to pay for things in advance and trying to bring you places you don't want to go. Anyway when we got to the pier we noticed that the very same boat we booked with for a total of 600 baht going to phi phi was the same company that was advertised in Dara hotel saying 600 baht for the ferry and transport to the pier. So they had lied to me about the boat being full and instead of paying 600 baht I paid a total of 1100, 600 for the ferry and 500 for taxi. So basically they told me the ferry(cruiser) was fully booked and when I got to the pier we where approached by a guy working for the same company and we bought our tickets there. Also there was a lot of noises in the room we stayed in , a rat or a possum running around inside the walls . Swimming pool is amazing tho and the location is terrible. Average hotel and I thought I'd let yas know about the whole boat situation.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info_DARA-HOTEL, General Manager at New Dara Boutique Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Sincerely apologies for any inconvenience may occurred during your stay, we may response to your comments as follows:

- Ferry Ticket : Because of seats limited for mini van transportation transfer available each trip was the reason The Phi Phi Cruiser claimed the booking was full, Hotel was not lie.
In fact, if Hotel can sell more ticket why would not we sell ticket to guest? No point to lie.

Ferry Company also has their own ticket selling booth at pier and ticket cost the same as including transportation 600 THB (it is their cost structure and to ease guests coming from hotels), not sure why booth selling ticket mentioned about this ticket which inclusive of transfer anyway, since all guest going to pier to buy a ticket was going by themselves (own arranged transportation) surely there was no problem about limited van seats.

- Taxi driver : Hotel had short list registered freelance taxi drivers to accommodate guests to minimize unpleasantness may occurred to guest. Or guest may left wallet/ luggage in taxi then we can find out who was the taxi and got stuff back to guests. Since we got complain we will banned from hotel's list. Sorry again for this taxi unpleasant behavior.

- Location : Hotel locates nearby Phuket famous shopping mall (Central Festival Phuket) but apparently there is a underpass construction on going cause minor disturbance and harder to cross the road to Shopping Mall. Underpass construction is one of Phuket high way upgrading 2 years plan to made this area be a center of Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Strategic location at Phuket town area. Near to Central World and Homework, within walking distance. Room is spacious, clean and colourful. But I personally feel that the room lighting is too dim, may be it is so called "romantic" :) Western buffet breakfast is delicious, at pool side. Overall, I am very satisfy with this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The room was quite spacious and furnished ok. However, the bathroom is not - no tiles, flush wasn't working (even if we reported it several times!)

Hotel staff cannot speak english. This made it difficult to get answers for questions like how to get a cab, if they had a weighing scale, etc.

The only airconditioned area is the rooms. Hallways are open air. The breakfast area is also not air-conditioned. The summer heat was quite stifling!

Tuktuk to the mall across was not available all the time. Even if the mall is just across the hotel, there are no designated pedestrian lanes! Crossing the main roads was always a life-or-death situation!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed last week in this hotel. The rooms are ok, but the beds are the hardest bed i ever layed on, really bad. I tried to explain to reception, bug nobody in this whole hotel speaks normal english. They don't want to solve the problem, that's bad service.

The breakfast tastes quite bad and the location and views are also not really nice as the hotel is next to a busy road. This is not a hotel you go to for your pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have just returned from a weeks stay at the Dara hotel in Phuket. It was an unexpected trip (a result of my son being admitted to hospital in Phuket). My room was very quiet (even though on a main road and beside a construction site), very clean, functional and generally comfortable, although i have to admit the bed was very hard. For 200 baht (approx $6.50 AUS) I enjoyed a hearty breakfast that lasted me through the day. Cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast/croissants, eggs and bacon/ omelette, juice and coffee. Of course there was also some asian dishes to choose from as well. The staff were very friendly and made every effort to accommodate my requests. The pool area was a great place to sit and enjoy the sun. I chose to walk across to the nearby Central Festival shopping centre - a 5 minute walk or you can use the hotel tuk tuk. If you are looking for a bit of downtime after some hectic travelling around this is the ideal place. However, if you want nightlife, restaurants etc you need to travel further afield. Good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Dara Boutique Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Dara Boutique Hotel & Residence

Address: 14/18, 14/21 Moo 4, Chaofa Road | Vichit, Muang, Wichit, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly Dara Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Wichit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Wichit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Dara Boutique Hotel & Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
" New Dara Boutique Hotel & Residence is a new 4 stars boutique hotel with 170 guest rooms (2 buildings) outdoor swimming pool, fitness room & conference rooms in Phuket only a few minutes walk away from bustling shopping centers, entertainment venues and dining areas, located in the hub of shopping and tourism in the island. You'll get easy access to the island's famous attractions, such as the Phuket old town and Central Festival Phuket. Commute to sandy beaches, tropical island golf courses and relaxing spas in only half an hour or less. New Dara, derived from the word "dara" which means "star," is a place where you can feel the thrilling ambiance of a movie set and feel like a superstar. The hotel's stylish design is inspired by a movie studio theme that features loft scenery, brick, pine wood, and shades of black and white. Each room also showcases beautiful, original hand-processed photos created through black-and-white film processing in a darkroom. The lobby display art pieces featuring the island's world-famous tin mining, which helped shape the economy of Phuket in the 16th century. Feast your eyes on the walls of the interior, where you'll see unique art pieces that exhibit historical tin mining, local lifestyle and popular movies shot in Phuket and nearby areas. New Dara will ensure comfort and quality service so you can enjoy superstar accommodation and a memorable holiday experience. If you're an art lover, a photography enthusiast or a movie aficionado looking for something new and exciting, New Dara is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your New Dara Boutique Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Dara Boutique Hotel & Residence Phuket, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Dara Boutique Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.