We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Richmond Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Ashling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Richmond Arms
Save
You added The Richmond Arms to your Saves list
Mill Road, West Ashling, Chichester PO18 8EA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 West Ashling B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Cannot thank Jack and Emma enough for their hospitality at their gorgeous pub with rooms that we stayed over while at Goodwood Races. Idyllic country village location next to a gorgeous duck pond, good parking and excellent walking and cycling routes close by. We stayed in room 1, the larger of the two and it was spacious and beautifully furnished with one of the best hotel bathrooms I have enjoyed anywhere, huge hot power shower and separate roll top bath. Not only were they lovely and chatty when we had an impromptu bottle of wine on our return to the pub but they also cooked us the most amazing lunch . We are both total foodies and enjoyed both the full english breakfast and the lunch menu, both were simply exquisite and not the sort of quality of food I expected to find in this tiny village. Their past careers as super yacht chefs explained the quality and creativity in the cooking not to mention their fantastic service. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went to the Richmond Arms for Sunday lunch. Food absolutely delicious, and the service was outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble. We kept changing our minds about where to sit: outside or in and they were incredibly accommodating, also in terms of the food. We have been to a few restaurants recently where the staff have refused to alter the make up of a dish (for example substituting potato for polenta), but not here. I really couldn't fault it. The menu is short (as it should be), but varied. I could have eaten everything on the menu. They were also very helpful with my son who has a nut allergy. When it came to choosing dessert the waitress came out unprompted to explain what was nut free and what could be adapted. I will definitely return, just wish we lived a bit nearer. We had eaten at a Michelin starred restaurant the night before but all agreed that we preferred The Richmond Arms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I discovered this restaurant during a birthday dinner. And what did I miss all these years!! This is a truly hidden gem. The food is truly Michelin style: quality, taste and presentation. All five stars out if five. I eat in lots good quality restaurant including Michelin star ones with work and this one is really in my top 3 now. Amazing place and would deserve a star! Homemade ice creams are superb, tagine lamb excellent flavours, asparagus and running eggs just beautiful!
Most recommended and most importantly excellent service!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

A country pub atmosphere with fine dining food. Good attentive service and a varied menu.The beef brisket with spring slaw and just the best chips was fantastIc. Keep up the good work, will be back soon...!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We went on a Friday lunchtime. Has a great atmosphere eighteen for a quiet drink or a gourmet meal. The food ie terrific . A quite long list of tapa like starters with excellent prawns and squid and asparagus but the baby artichoke salad was exquisite. My pain I was told by the waitress was a cheap cut but tender and absolutely delicious with a perfect bear aisle. My wife had a double scallop starter and we also had lamb tagging and I think fish. Very friendly and efficient service, interesting wines, only downs were limited parking and no garden. I wish this was my local

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here last night and enjoyed an exceptional meal, good value and very interesting menu. The starters were superb and we plumped for the squid and sardines. The mains of rib eye and Dover Sole were terrific too. The chocolate moose lived up to my usual high expectation & the wine list is extensive. The room [no 2] was spacious and wi-fi was both free and easy to access. There was both a bath and a large walk-in shower in the bedroom en-suite. The staff looked after us really well and as a venue for a special night, this could not have been more perfect. West Ashling is a very picuresque village too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Well this is the fourth time I've been there and again it didn't disappoint. I've eaten there for lunch and dinner and every time the food has been amazing. Not only that, the service is excellent but not intrusive. I would recommend very highly and each time I've been the menu has something different to temp you. Enjoy!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Richmond Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond Arms

Address: Mill Road, West Ashling, Chichester PO18 8EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > West Ashling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Ashling
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Pub, Restaurant, B& B in an idyllic Sussex rural village at the foot of the South Downs, 5 mins from Chichester. Locals' bar and country kitchen serving locally sourced meats, seafood, game and vegetables in an innovative manner. Roasts on our "Rotisserie" and meats/seafood grilled over charcoal. Classic bar snacks re-invented, regularly changing local microbreweries beers, home made hedgerow "eaux de vie" and large list of wines by the glass.... expressive of their origins and "terroir". ... ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Richmond Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.