We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House Full of History - Food Full of Flavour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olveston House

Olveston House
Olveston, Olveston, Montserrat
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Olveston
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Tel: (664) 491 5210
Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“House Full of History - Food Full of Flavour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I reviewed it as hotel already, because Olveston House is a guest house. but it also works as a restaurant - not only for staying guests. and - this is really good news, because it is EXCELLENT!

We spent a week in Olveston house. It has an interesting history, as it for years was a residence of Sir George Martin, legendary producer of The Beatles, who recorded their music in Montserrat. His Montserrat Air Studio saw also many other famous musicians of seventies and eighties. Various memorabilia confirm this story. In our room a Gold LP commemorative plaque announced sales of 100,000 copies of an album by Ultravox. The hall-room is decorated with fine, artistic photographs of John Lennon, Paul McCartney and other group members - all taken by Linda McCartney.
When it comes to location, Olveston house is perhaps in the best spot of the island.
But perhaps the most surprising and remarkable is - the food.
Neither my wife or me expected a world-class cuisine in Montserrat. But the fine food served in the house is much more than your typical guest house food.
Finely served, elegant dishes created by Sarah - a chef professionally trained in London - made us eat more than we perhaps should. Be it spicy Tandori chicken, tender King fish, delicious spiced shrimps - we could not resist this unexpected pleasure, having it all - including mouthwatering desserts, local juices and smoothies.
Combination of fresh local produce with world class cooking made our dinners really memorable experience.
Our only regret is that - not knowing how good the food is at Olveston House - we did eat out on our first evening!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
399 helpful votes 399 helpful votes
“A great Friday night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Lovely food. Reasonable prices. Very friendly. Would highly recommend.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Creek, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“History in the Restaurant, but the hit is in the attentive staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Unlike other Caribbean islands the menu is in EC currency, great food at good prices, an adaptable staff to suit your needs. Definitely a place to eat when visiting Montserrat, phone ahead to reserve as are not open every night but if they receive reservations they will be open. Every second Wednesday is BBQ night, if you do not reserve early you will not get a table, Friday is Pub night expect good food and enjoy the evening. Homemade juices, last week received, real Mango juice and delicious deserts made on location, not imported. Real food made locally. YUMMY.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This is ideal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

This restaurant epitomizes British caribbean colonialism. On a 70 degree evening in January the balcony was full primarily with local from all over. Several languages spoken. Excellent service, good fare, perfect atmosphere, and the only place in the caribbean I have ever found a Sam Adams.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the best reasons for visiting Montserrat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The best meal on the island. We had Sunday Lunch which was fabulous. Fresh Fish and Fruit, with the best Rum Punch in the Caribbean.

I felt I was rewarded with this meal for taking this adventoursome and worthwhile excursion to Montserrat.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olveston House also viewed

Montserrat, Caribbean
Montserrat, Caribbean
 
Montserrat, Caribbean
Montserrat, Caribbean
 

Been to Olveston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olveston House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.