We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thank god for trip-advisor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandalwood Luxury Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sandalwood Luxury Villas to your Saves list
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211/7 Moo 4, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Massages and Meals!
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Maret
perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“thank god for trip-advisor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

there's not really much that we can say that the reviewers before us haven't already said.

Sandlewood villas are everything that you would expect from the past reviews. Magical views, immaculate villas, fantastic helpful staff, great food, relaxing day spa, great pools.....
We stayed for 8 nights and did the spa package that includes 5 treatments at the day spa. I strongly recommend the spa at the resort as we also had massages in Chaweng and we found the massages and treatments at the spa a lot better (although obviously slightly more expensive).
The staff were very helpful and helped with organising activities for us and transport etc.... They even did a little packed breakfast for us when we headed out for a day tour early in the morning. It's those little added extras that make your holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    73
    10
    7
    9
See reviews for
126
496
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

just returned from a week at Sandalwood and the service and the villas were amazing, we stayed in the Malee villa which overlooked the beaches and island, the view was amazing. George and Mary the owners were great hosts and even took us out to celebrate independence day.. the place feels idylic and totally private but the free jeep to the beach helps to see the island

Mark and Helen, England

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
konadavid, owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this review, July 21, 2009
Sawasdee krup from all of the Sandalwood team. Thanks so much for taking your time to write your review. All our staff works very hard to make our guests have a great time. And, they have fun too. They all have been notified of your review already. Thanks again, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

I spend my vacation time in many places in the world,but the Sandalwood Villas is one of the best place to stay and relax.Great service,friendly staff,easy access to any point of the island by the hotel transport.(Very important to find a proper place on the chewang beach(some places are v.poor,some very nice).Of course the Male villa is the best but the other one are also comfortable.
Reception service is excellent.Only the internet create some problem during my time.One small remark:breakfast menu could more dfferencial like in a luxury place.
Mr.George-one of the owner of this place,is a very kind and friendly person.He can help you in any problem.
We are very happy to be there and we will come back.Best greetings to you-George.
Thank you !!!
Stanley and Danuta from Dubai(Origin Polish).
P.S.Kindly ask the management to send me a photo of the whole reception team.I missed it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Irleand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

stayed here for 4 days as part of a honeymoon trip around Thailand, it really does live up to to the expectations of previous reviews on this website. Stayed in the malee villa, what tremendous views of the sea. A couple of steps downstairs and we were at the infinity pool, really nice pool which almost felt private as only 3 of the villas really use it! service was excelent for breakfast lunch and dinner which we ate every day in the restaurant. Food while not excellent was very good and did us perfectly for the few days.

No the best place to stay if your planning on venturing outside of the hotel too much as it is situated on top of an EXTREMELY steep hill and a taxi or hotel transfer is necessary to go anywhere. Although you will see that if you stay here there is no need to leave the hotel as everrything you need is in it!

I can really see why this hotel is ranked 1 on Tripadvisor and i can assure you if you stay here you will not regret it!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights from 15-17 and to us, it was never enough! The villa is situated on a steep hill and going up, and down the hill at 60 degrees elevation is thrilling. The view from our villa is much better than the Chedi Phuket or in my opinion anywhere else in Samui. It was money well spent though some would say it is very pricey. If you want total relaxation, this is the place for fresh cool land/sea breeze up on a hill. The staffs and owner are accommodating and friendly. They will assist all occupants with patience and sincerity.Joy, Koi and Jom are so helpful and sweet, they make us party revellers to stay put in this villa without even thinking of going to Chaweng for night life. If you have the cash, do spend a few days here to recharge. It is a memorable stay in a rustic and charming villa. A nice honeymoon place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evandale, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at Sandalwood and it certainly lived up to all our expectations. I had looked at so many photos of this place that I felt like I already knew it when we arrived. All the photos you see are accurate and it really is as good as it looks in the pictures - the view has to be seen to be believed.

We stayed in the Jumpee villa, which is possibly not as private as some, however for us ( a late 40's couple), it was perfect. We didn't feel the need to hide away on our own and loved the fact that the pool was just outside our door. Most of the time we were the only people in the pool anyway.

We hired a car from Sandalwood and spent our days exploring the island. We chose to eat at Sandalwood for 3 of our4 nights and found this convenient, delicious and reasonably priced. We have a fairly conservative holiday budget and found that at Sandalwood we could have a luxury experience at a price we could afford. The little extras such as DVD's to borrow, treats left in the evening, free internet access, free transport from the airport and to our next destination, advice on places to see around the island and friendly staff all helped to make this a memorable experience.

We finished our holiday with 4 nights on the quiet southern end of Chaweng Beach - for us this was the perfect combination - beautiful views from a hillside setting combined with an amazing beach experience. What more could you ask for on holidays!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

I got married on Samui on 31 May 2009, and stayed at Sandalwood's Plumeria Villa for the two nights immediately following the wedding.

We arrived at the hotel close to 11pm (though my husband had already checked in earlier and received the key). Their lovely general manager, Pon had told me that the reception desk closed at 10pm but I think they stayed back a little later to welcome us.

The room itself was absolutely gorgeous. Pon knew our wedding had taken place that day from our earlier correspondence and had assembled a lovely arrangement of towel swans and flower petals on our fluffy, queen-sized bed. A fruit basket welcomed us and there were fresh flowers everywhere we looked.

The bathroom was huge and complete with all amenities except toothbrushes and toothpaste (luckily, we had ours). We had a back door leading from the bathroom straight onto our private infinity pool. It was much, much smaller than we expected and not really meant for swimming but it was still good to go for a dip after a few hours of sunbathing.

When I woke up in the morning and got a glimpse of the resort in full daylight, I was stunned by the beauty of the surroundings. We were planning to go on a snorkelling trip during the day but we couldn't bear to leave the hotel. Instead, we spent our day swimming in the joint infinity pool (which is very, very deep btw, be careful!), having a massage at their spa and ordering room service. It was simply meant to be a place for us to unwind after the stress of the wedding but it felt like we were already on our honeymoon.

The food in the restaurant was okay, but not the best. Complimentary breakfast was provided for guests at their restaurant. There was only a very small selection available, but the service was fabulous.

On the whole, I think we got what we paid for and possibly more. We are planning to return to Samui on our first anniversary and I'm sure we will be going back to Sandalwood again!

PS. When leaving Samui, we discovered at the airport that lots of activities (including golf, snorkelling and safari) were free to guests at most 4 to 5 star resorts in Samui including Sandalwood. Please try to ask at the airport help/tourism desk when you arrive in Samui to make the most of your trip!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandalwood Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandalwood Luxury Villas

Address: 211/7 Moo 4, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Maret
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maret
#1 Spa Hotel in Maret
#2 Family Hotel in Maret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandalwood Luxury Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful island of Koh Samui, our ten Thai style pavilions are positioned around five infinity edge swimming pools. Each intimate and secluded villa has a panoramic ocean view and is linked by landscaped gardens with intricate stone walkways.We provide exclusive and sophisticated accommodation while seamlessly blending traditional Thai architecture with a modern contemporary style.At Sandalwood Luxury Villas, we strive to give each guest an outstanding level of quality service with our warm Thai hospitality. From the moment our professional drivers pick you up at the airport, our staff is available to cater for your every need. Whether enjoying an authentic Thai meal in our Blue Ginger Restaurant or a massage at our Sanctuary Spa, our goal is to make your Sandalwood stay a special experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sandalwood Luxury Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandalwood Luxury Villas Hotel Koh Samui
Sandalwood Luxury Hotel
Sandalwood Luxury Koh Samui
Sandalwood Luxury Villas Ko Samui/Maret

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandalwood Luxury Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.