We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay at Sandalwood Villas!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandalwood Luxury Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sandalwood Luxury Villas to your Saves list
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211/7 Moo 4, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Massages and Meals!
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Maret
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing stay at Sandalwood Villas!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We spent five days at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, in two different villas.

Both villas offered us amazing views. One of them had it's own jacuzzi on the balcony, which we really enjoyed.

Also, we loved the main infinity pool. It's never busy there, so most of the time you have the pool for yourself.

We are looking forward to visiting Sandalwood again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
We so pleased to hear that you had an amazing stay at Sandalwood Luxury Villas. Our Amarin Villa is a very popular villa for so many of our guests because of the panoramic ocean views from the private Jacuzzi on the villa balcony.

Because five of our ten villas have their own private pools, guests will often find privacy and relaxation at our main infinity pool. The views are incredible and it’s a great location to enjoy a cold drink or a snack from our Blue Ginger Restaurant.

It’s wonderful to hear that you plan to return to Sandalwood again. Please contact us directly so we can design a package that will make your second stay as memorable as your first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    73
    10
    7
    9
See reviews for
126
496
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Sandalwood luxury villas is by far the best place of the four places we stayed in our 3 weeks in Thailand. The villa really was pure luxury with its own jacuzzi and a balcony with the perfect overview of the entire Chaweng bay. Words cannot describe it! The house we was in (Jasmine) had a pool right beside it. It was maybe a bit small, but featured a infinity view over the bay. The beach (coral bay) is just down the (steep) hill and the hotel offers a free ride down at any time. They even give you a mobile phone at checkin so you can call them at any time for a pickup.
The staff is extremely kind and helpful, always smiling and greeting with joy.
The restaurant is a bit over average price range, but the food is good and worth it. They even deliver it to your balcony if you want that.
We had an absolutely fabulous time there and are definitely returning in the future!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your enthusiastic review of your stay at Sandalwood Luxury Villas. We are so pleased to hear that you found the resort to be “by far” the best place you stayed during your three weeks in Thailand. With so many options, it is wonderful to know that we distinguished ourselves among the many different hotels in which you stayed.

The panoramic ocean view from every villa is one of the top attractions at Sandalwood and we often hear that words cannot accurately capture the unique setting. Our Jasmine Villa is one of our smaller villas, although it has an upstairs sleeping loft that is ideal for many families travelling together.

Providing a mobile phone is just one way we like to set the tone for any guest’s stay at Sandalwood. We want our guests to know that our staff is available anytime to respond to your needs, large or small.

Private dining on the balcony of your villa is another favorite experience and we often hear from our guests that they enjoy the privacy and romance of dining in such an intimate setting.

Since you will definitely be returning to Sandalwood, please contact us directly when you are ready to make your travel plans. We always try to do something special for our returning guests and we would love to create another memorable experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Quick summary:
+ Extremely helpful and accommodating staff and owner (Robert)
+ Breathtaking views of the beach/mountains from above
+ Great food and staff at "Blue Ginger" restaurant (breakfast was included)
+ Public Infinity Pool over looking the mountains and some villas have private pools
+ Driving service to and from the local beaches (Chaweng and Lamai)
+ Jacuzzi and 2 person shower in villas
- located on a steep hill and not direct beach access (but WELL worth it!)

My wife and I spent our honeymoon here for 9 days in July. We are a newly married lesbian couple and felt utterly welcomed by everyone at Sandalwood from day one. The Sandalwood staff and owner (Robert) were very helpful and accommodating. We stayed in the Gardenia Villa which is conveniently close to the pool, reception area and restaurant. Our room had a beautiful view of the ocean and mountains. Our villa did not have a private pool but it was not necessary as the public pool was always empty and honestly you will want to be at the beach when you are in Koh Samui. Our room also had a jacuzzi and a 2 person shower.
As the other reviews mentioned, the personal attention from the staff and the amazing views were our favorite parts about staying here. We were worried about choosing a hotel that is not directly on the beach, but Sandalwood provides a free shuttle service to the local beaches and a free cell phone to call the drivers anytime. (There is a fee if you use the hotel driving service outside the typically pick up times but still a wonderful option). The hotel also has a few cars they rent out and we rented a car for a good price (1200 BAHT) and toured the island for the day. The restaurant was delicious and we had some of our best meals here for breakfast and dinner.

We had amazing honeymoon and stay at Sandalwood and would definitely recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Call to speak directly to the staff about what villa will work best for your needs. There are only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of your nine day honeymoon stay at Sandalwood Luxury Villas. We are so pleased to know that you found our staff to be helpful and accommodating. Personalized service is a hallmark of the Sandalwood experience and we love to hear that we were successful in providing that special touch with you both.

Renting a car directly from Sandalwood and exploring the island on your own can be a great day for our more adventurous guests. In addition, we also offer a half-day and full-day guided tour of Koh Samui, if you prefer to leave the driving to us.

Thank you for your kind words about the delicious meals you enjoyed at our Blue Ginger Restaurant. We have passed along your compliments to our chefs and our restaurant staff and they remember you fondly and appreciate your sentiments.

Please be in touch if your travel plans include a return trip to Koh Samui. We would love to see your smiling faces back at Sandalwood and we would be happy to create a special package for your next visit, perhaps an anniversary celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Norway, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

visited the Sandalwood luxury villas for one week, staying in the Lotus Villa with my wife and two kids.
we had a fantastic stay and this is really a hotel to recommend to every one. we have visited many 5 star hotels around the world, but this one is different in a postive way. you are not just number, but really feel you are special and taken well care of.
the staff was very service minded and pleasant. the villa was clean and perfect for us.
breakfast was good and restaurant served very good food for reasonable prices. everything you needed was in the room minibar.
there are too many things to highlight which was perfect. but l must mention the driver service which helped us 24/7 when we needed transportation, and the pleasant atmosphere all over.
the view is simply breath taking!

we will definitely visit again next year and look forward to meeting all the people working there again.

Robert, you have a very nice place and a very good team!

thanks for the great vacation we had at sandalwood and we look forward to meet you all again.

regards
Olav, Maria, Victoria and Anna.

Room Tip: book directly with the hotel and get guidance to which villa fits your needs best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your family’s recent visit to Sandalwood Luxury Villas. It is a joy to hear such a strong recommendation from a world traveler, like yourself, who has stayed in so many 5 star hotels in a lifetime of global holidays.

The difference at Sandalwood is that we have only 10 villas and we are able to provide a personalized level of service that is difficult to find at larger resorts. We are very proud of our staff who work hard every day to deliver our unique style of first rate Thai hospitality.

Thank you for pointing out the convenient service you received from our team of drivers. We provide each guest with a mobile phone so you can easily be picked up from anywhere on Koh Samui without having to negotiate with local for-hire taxis.

We are certainly looking forward to your return to Sandalwood so we can welcome back your smiling faces and create some new memories together. Please be sure to contact us directly as we have special offers available for our returning guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We spent five days in the Amarin villa. The villa is very spacious and the private balcony (with amazing views of the sea and Chaweng beach) has a great jacuzzi.

Sandalwood's main infinity pool is great; it's never busy there because Sandalwood "only" has 10 villas (some of them have their own pool), and the views are great.

The hotel staff will do anything to make your stay even better. When we asked if we could have dinner on our balcony, they immediately came to our room to make the table and light some candles :).

Sandalwood is located on a steep hill (that's why the view is breathtaking ;-)) and for some people, walking up this hill might be a bit exhausting. However, this is really not a problem because they drive you up and down the hill for free! (in luxury, air conditioned cars), anytime you want. When you want to go up, just call the front desk (using the free mobile phone they provide when you check in), and a driver will pick you up within 5 minutes.

So, even when you think the Sandalwood taxi service is too expensive (which I don't think, because you get a better car and friendly drivers), you could take a regular taxi to the bottom of the hill, and then call the front desk :-).

Also, Sandalwood provides a complimentary shuttle service that takes you to Chaweng or Lamai, 2 times a day. The front desk even gave us a call to ask if we needed a driver to pick us up because it was raining!

The (complimentary) breakfast is also very nice. You are allowed to order as much food/coffee as you want, and there is a buffet too.

When we were at Sandalwood, we decided to spend a few more days on the north of Koh Samui.
The people at the front desk gave us some great advice and they even drove us to our new hotel (for free)! - usually they pick you up from the airport and take you there when you check out (also complimentary).

We really appreciated everything the people at Sandalwood did to make our stay one of the best experiences we have ever had.

We really hope to return to Sandalwood one day!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for writing such a positive review of your stay at Sandalwood Luxury Villas. We always love to read reviews that are filled with great memories of the time you spent with us. Our Amarin Villa is a favorite amongst our guests for its beautiful panoramic ocean views, spacious layout and the luxurious Jacuzzi tub on the balcony. I remember that our Sanctuary Spa team provided you with a milk bath in the Jacuzzi tub, a Sandalwood signature treatment and a truly luxurious experience.

It is wonderful to know that you took advantage of the main infinity pool, our Blue Ginger Restaurant and so much more of what Sandalwood has to offer our guests. We are pleased that you appreciated the fact that the only way to experience the amazing view from Sandalwood is to climb 500 meters into the hills of Chaweng Noi. As you know, accessibility can be a challenge and we try to offset this by providing a variety of transportation options including private drivers, free roundtrip airport transfers, twice daily free shuttles into Chaweng and Lamai, anytime free shuttles down to the beautiful and peaceful Coral Cove beach as well as mobile phones so you can contact us quickly and easily.

As you mentioned, our staff is on call to make sure every guest has a special experience at Sandalwood. Whether it’s a private dinner on the balcony of your villa or recommendations for the hard-to-find restaurants and activities on Koh Samui, our team is ready to assist at a moment’s notice.

We are so pleased to hear that your stay at Sandalwood was one of the best experiences that you have ever had. If you do return to Koh Samui, please contact us directly and we will put together a special package for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed in several villas, each one unique & beautiful in its own way. The views are stunning & every member of staff always smiling & genuinely helpful. You don't get such a stunning view in the middle of any town, so yes it's up a short steep hill & it is an out of town hotel - that's what makes it soo special. That said there are many fabulous restaurants less than 5mins away & the hotel happily takes & returns you at short notice. The spa & staff there just add to the overall ambience of the resort. I would just like to end with a massive thank you to everyone at Sandalwood for making 10 days of my life so special & relaxing. Andy Kerswill

Room Tip: All rooms with a pool are superb, but the main hotel pool is lovely too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sandalwood Luxury Villas. It sounds like you really enjoyed the opportunity to stay in several villas and to experience the famous Sandalwood views from multiple vista points. It’s wonderful to know that you appreciate the unique and panoramic views we have to offer at Sandalwood, although it does require a short and steep hill to reach those views.

We are so pleased to hear that we were able to make ten days of your life so special. Our staff works hard every day to bring our guests a memorable experience and it sounds like you truly appreciated the experience at Sandalwood. If your future travel plans include a return to Koh Samui, we would love to welcome your smiling faces back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed here with my three brothers and best mate and i'll be straight with you. This hotel was the best hotel each of us has ever stayed at. Yes the walk up and down the driveway to the villas and restaurants was tiring for us unfit guys but the view, the restaurant, the service, the villa, the jacuzzi, the serenity was soooo worth it. This villa/resort was really hard to walk away from. Also know that no yuk yuk or local taxi will take you up the hill to this resort but you use sandalwood luxury taxis/mini vans and they give you a mobile phone to call for a pick up anywhere in town 24/7 for reasonable prices. Thank you Sandalwood and we will be back. I might even book a trip to Thailand just because of your resort

Room Tip: We stay in the lalavadee villa and it was astonishing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner_Sandalwood, Owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Sandalwood Luxury Villas. It’s wonderful to know that you feel Sandalwood is “The best resort in the entire world.” The Leelawadee Villa is our largest villa with three spacious bedrooms and a very large outdoor space. The exterior balcony and private pool area is the most popular spot for guests to gather to enjoy the panoramic ocean views and the Thai style furnishings.

We are pleased to hear that you found our luxury taxis and minivans helpful in getting around Koh Samui. There is a lot to offer on this island and we want to help our guests find the best places to spend their precious holiday time.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sandalwood and we look forward to seeing your smiling faces again. Please contact us directly when you plan your return trip and we’ll put together a special package for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandalwood Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandalwood Luxury Villas

Address: 211/7 Moo 4, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Maret
#1 Spa Hotel in Maret
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maret
#2 Family Hotel in Maret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandalwood Luxury Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful island of Koh Samui, our ten Thai style pavilions are positioned around five infinity edge swimming pools. Each intimate and secluded villa has a panoramic ocean view and is linked by landscaped gardens with intricate stone walkways.We provide exclusive and sophisticated accommodation while seamlessly blending traditional Thai architecture with a modern contemporary style.At Sandalwood Luxury Villas, we strive to give each guest an outstanding level of quality service with our warm Thai hospitality. From the moment our professional drivers pick you up at the airport, our staff is available to cater for your every need. Whether enjoying an authentic Thai meal in our Blue Ginger Restaurant or a massage at our Sanctuary Spa, our goal is to make your Sandalwood stay a special experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sandalwood Luxury Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandalwood Luxury Villas Hotel Koh Samui
Sandalwood Luxury Hotel
Sandalwood Luxury Koh Samui
Sandalwood Luxury Villas Ko Samui/Maret

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandalwood Luxury Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.