We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay but not the best we experienced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hi Coral Cove Bungalow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hi Coral Cove Bungalow to your Saves list
Hi Coral Cove Bungalow
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Coral Cove`s area between Chaweng & Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 64 Hotels in Maret
Southampton, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay but not the best we experienced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights as part of trip around the island. We first paid for the cheapest kind of room available as we were travelling the world and on a budget! However, once in the room we soon upgraded as our first choice was very basic!
Our second room (which wasnt much more money) was nice and a lot cleaner. The view was amazing. The pool area here is nice although could do with updating. The restaurant and food is ok and there is little within walking distance. The resort is on a cliff top so there are loads of steps which were fine for us but not for those less able or children. The free internet is great. There is no beach near by but transport is v cheap, All in all, a nice place but I think there are better choices near by.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaHicoralcove, Front Office Manager at Hi Coral Cove Bungalow, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your opinion and fact. I appreciate that.

Another things which need to be informed is there is the beach nearby hotel named "Coral Cove beach" and it is just a 10 minutes walk. For cyrstal bay beach, it is a 15 minutes walks. In fact, it was told on every websites already. So, from hotel guests can walk to go swimming.

Also, we open our becah for public to come snorkeling recently. If you come back to Samui, i welcome you to see oue wonderful paradize underwater. Many people said they saw a lot of fancy fish and beautiful coral reef here.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    6
    2
    7
See reviews for
2
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

We flew from Phuket for couple nights to Samui. Hotel situated on high place, not for me, I am scared for high places, my mistake ,cause I didn`t reach out that. We checked our room, it was worst room I ever seen, awful shower, look like dirty, like Psyko-movie motel and it smelt strong cigarrette when somebody smoke inside everything smell clothes, linon etc. We went back to reception and ask help owner of that place. She took us to Chaweng, we went to Samui Paradise bungalows and it was like day and night between these bungalows- I liked a lot that Samui Paradise and it was good value for the money, but I cannot recommend Hi Coral bungalow, maybe low budget people who don`t care about much decoration. I am very interested Asian decoration style and I think it is lovely to see beuatiful, stylish, places when I spend my holiday. But it was our mistake that we took that Hi Coral Cove. One good thing was unbeliveable sea and same level with palm trees.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaHicoralcove, Front Office Manager at Hi Coral Cove Bungalow, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guests
Thank you very much for your opinion.

Yes, our bungalows are not much decorated as you can see that we sell the room at the low rate for bundget travelers who do not want to spend much money. If we make more decoration, i afraid that we need to raise up the roomerate and it will affect to their budget. We can help the budget travellers by maintatining the low roomrate through the basic product and limitted service. Thank you that you understand.

And thankful for the kindness of the hotel owner for she has brought you to the town by herself. It was very kind of her hospitality to guests.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010 via mobile

I agree overpriced.
My 50$ bungalow was no more comfortable than a$10 one.Musty bathroom,poor water pressure and the aircon was as much use as a chocolate fireguard.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaHicoralcove, Front Office Manager at Hi Coral Cove Bungalow, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guests
Thank you very much for your comment.

Your room was a budget triple room and it costed THB 500 per person per night only during a peak season. The quality of the room is suitable for the price. We do not charge it over. When consider the location, free use of swimming pool, and free breakfast, i think we are not too bad among 2 stars hotels. The quality of some room types may not satisfy you, but you have always other room options to choose. The standard rooms are worth to consider if i will recommend.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

myself and my partner stayed here over the xmas season and were totally ripped off.
Our Room was awful and not what we expected.
Scooters here are overpriced.
The telivision in our room didnt work properly but after speaking with alot of other guests staying here they had the same complaints, all thai speaking channels which the sound didnt work on and english speaking channels that neither the sound or picture worked!
Over priced resturant, staff are friendly here but they will refuse to hear any complaints you would like to make.
would highly recommend never staying here!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaHicoralcove, Front Office Manager at Hi Coral Cove Bungalow, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guests
Thank you very much for your comment.

When people travel on limitted budget, everything for them seems to be expensive. I am sure that the motorbike rate is not over priced. It is THB 200 for 24hrs. But if guests rent it more than 3 days, then there will be discount. In my experience, other places let motorbike for rent up to THB 250-300 per day. So, our rate is cheaper than other's.

For the room which you booked it was a budget room. The quality of room is varied to the room rate which is not expensive. The quality may not satisfy everyone i accept. Anyway, that was the room that many people always like to book as it is the lowest roomrate we have.

In fact,there were not any TV in a budget room. You can check in the website you booked that we did not promise any TV in a budget double room. We gave the room with TV to you at the budget room rate because we knew it was the roome rate that budget travellers can pay. We did not ask you to pay more money.

Tv problems which you experienced was because of the cable channel signal problem. It always happened when it's windy or rainy. We couldnot control the signal. What we could do is to follow the cable channel officer to come to fix and it worked.

About restaurant, our menu price was not over rated. It was quite cheap when compare to other restaurant nearby. Of course that we are more expensive than street food. But as the menu item starts from THB 60 to THB 150, i do not see that it was over priced.

Anyway, thank you for your opinion and i will follow up with every matters you have told.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

We stayed in hi coral cove over christmas. The Bungalow we stayed in cost us 1400 Thai Baht a night, which is VERY expensive for what you get! the only difference between our bungalow and the cheaper economy bungalow (that cost 950 THB) was that ours had a television with ABSOLUTELY NO INTERNATIONAL CHANNELS (although they explicitly advertise "T.V. with international channels"). We purposely booked a bungalow with a T.V. with the intent of cuddling up together on Christmas day and watching some movies, instead when we complained and asked about a refund of the 450 THB price difference (a total of 2250 THB for the duration of our stay for this useless Television) they smiled and walked away. Their scooter rental service is upto 100THB/day more expensive than surrounding rental companies but due to their secluded location you are forced to rent there's. The scooter they gave us had a very poor front brake and no back brake at all which is less than desirable when the resort is on the top of a very steep hill.
Last but not least the food in the restaurant is highly overpriced with very small portions .
Overall I expected alot better especially from a resort with an eerie religious christian vibe. if you can help it, stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaHicoralcove, Front Office Manager at Hi Coral Cove Bungalow, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guests
I appologize for the situation about TV. When there is rain and storm, the signal of TV oftenly lose. And we could not control that. However when the officer came to fix, the signal got back.

About the refund that we could not make to you was because if we did so, then you had to move to economy room which was no more available at that peak season.

About the motorbike rental, maybe you misunderstood as we had never let any customers to rent the motorbike at THB 300 (Normal rate for motorbike rental for each day is THB 200). Maybe the rental rate which you knew was the rate for manual motorbike which was cheaper than automatic one. Sorry that we did not have any manual motorcycles. We had only an automatic and it costed THB 200 per day.

About "poor front brake and no back brake", if you knew there were these problem at the first time you tried, then you could come back to us to change. When you had never told us about these problem, so, we could not know that it happened to you.

About "Over-priced restaurant", I appologize that it may seem expensive to you who were students travelling on a budget. But if compare us to every restaurants nearby, you would found us the lowest rate restaurant. Our manu item starts from THB 60 to THB 150 only which are very fair rate to budget travellers.

About your mention to the christian staffs in hotel, if they did anything wrong to you then you can report to me anytimes. But if they did nothing wrong to you, then they should be admired for they had worked very hard here. It is the good virtue not to discriminate any people who are different from us and everyone should be treated respectful.

Thank you very much for your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hi Coral Cove Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi Coral Cove Bungalow

Address: Coral Cove`s area between Chaweng & Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Maret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hi Coral Cove Bungalow 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring sea-view bungalows overlooking Thai Southern Sea, Hi Coral Cove Bungalow is a 2stars hotel located in Coral Cove viewpoint district where is the snorkeling point of Koh Samui. From here, it’s a 2-minute walk to ViKaSa Yoka and Thai Boxing Gym. Coral Cove beach is within 10 minutes walk. Chaweng or Lamai beach is a 5-minute drive. Samui International Airport is a 30 minute drive.Rooms at Hi Coral Cove Bungalow come with air-conditioning, fridge, hot and cold shower. Each room has a balcony with sea-view. Some rooms also have TV.Guests can relax on the large daybeds by the pool. Free Wi-Fi is available in the lobby and restaurant. Thai and International dishes are also served at the restaurant. The reception can arrange island tours and motorbike for rent. Laundry and ironing services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hi Coral Cove Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi Coral Cove Bungalow Hotel Koh Samui
Hi Coral Cove Bungalow Ko Samui/Maret

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hi Coral Cove Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.