We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we chose Reef View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samui Reef View Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Samui Reef View Resort to your Saves list
Samui Reef View Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   404/23 M.1, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 61 Hotels in Maret
Guangzhou, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Glad we chose Reef View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I was traveling with my buddy in Thailand and Koh Samui was our second stop. Reef View is bit far away from Maenam Pier, where our ferry arrived at Koh Samui. But we booked Lomprayah company's transfer service, which only cost 150B. I suggest travelers use this safe and cheap service if you traveled with Lomprayah. The van took around 1 hour to bring us to Reef View, but we thought it as a sight seeing trip anyway.

The moment we arrived at Reef View, Angus (owner of the resort) greeted us warmly, led us to our room and explained us their avavilable service and policies. There is free transfer service to take you to the beach. The nearest 7-11 was 20-minute-walk away, Angus said he could take us there but we took a walk.

The room was spacious and clean. There is a small pool, a pool table in the dining area and free dvds and books to borrow.And since now is not peak season, only 2 rooms were occupied so it was really quiet in the resort, we loved it.

If you booked any activity on Koh Samui, most likely the agency will provide pick up service. We booked a kayaking trip and we only needed to walk less than 5 minutes to an intersection to wait for the van and it took 30 mintues to go to the pier (the same pier we embarked for Krabi later).

I could see that Angus has put great effort in maintaining the resort. The price is very reasonable. I recommend Reef View if you were traveling on a budget like us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    53
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
28
105
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed here for around 8 days for a friends wedding

The rooms were very clean and bed sheets changed every other day

The food in the restaurant was a great mix of western and thai and very reasonably priced

The hotel is a little out of the way but Angus and Hom provide an excellent service of shuttling you around either to the airport or nearby neighbour hoods so it is not a problem

Very friendly and helpful with great local knowledge and advise

Would definetly stay again

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

If you'd like the perfect location for your holiday on Samui, whether you're travelling for the beaches, the bars or a poolside vacation in the sun, this is it. You're not in the thick of the bar scene, but withing walking distance or a short bike/taxi ride from it. Equally, if the bars aren't your thing, you can head off on a bike or in a car - both of which can be rented from the owners, Angus and Hom - and explore the waterfalls, temples, mountain and markets at your leisure. Samui may have a lot of bars but there is a lot more to the island than this. Again, talk to the owners and they'll help you find what you're looking for. Rooms are clean, well looked after, TV and DVDs available from the team. The food available at the Reef is simple and predominantly western, prepared to order, and delicious! Try as I might, I could not finish the pancakes at breakfast, though they were delicious! Angus has great recommendations for local restaurants in the evening. We followed one of his recommendations and ended up eating there most nights! We were here for a wedding, which was beautiful, and we loved the peace and quiet of Samui Reef, this place really made the holiday! Thanks to Angus, Hom and the Samui Reef team, who go out of their way to make everyone so welcome.

Room Tip: We were in Room 2 and saw Room 13 and the rental apartment - they were all ace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

i have just left a week at Samui Reef View. Angus and Hom (owners) were brilliant. They could not do enough for us. They picked us up from the port and took us to the airport when we left for no charge. They gave us lifts everyday down the local town or to another hotel were we had friends staying.
The food is really nice and so cheap. The waitresses are soooo lovely and polite. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I highly recommend staying at this hotel. Thanks Angus and Hom!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Martin and I stayed with Angus and Hom for 16 days from 16 th dec till 28 th dec,we had a lovely stay,nothing was to much trouble,all staff were very accommodating and great fun,felt so much at home and they were all very welcoming,The complex is not far from Lamai beach so great location.The room was nice and best of all had AC which is a must ,it has a lovely pool which most of the time you have to yourselves,also if you need lift into town,hire a mo-ped etc Angus or Hom will arrange this all for you nothing is too much trouble. They provide cooked meals and breakfasts to please everyone , so would I recommend this guest house 100 percent,value for money . So a big Thank you to Angus and Hom and staff for making our stay lovely and must warn you Angus a bit of a comedian,so great sense of humour. Definately will go back .Keep up the good work guys

Room Tip: It is having a nice room over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Overall nice stay, especially for the price.
Cons:
A bit far from the nice beaches (about 40 min taxi drive to Chaweng)- ends up being about 400 baht per trip every time you travel
Many geckos in the room
Bathroom is old and run down, water from shower would spray all over toilet

Pros:
Angus and his wife are very accommodating in driving to town, picking up and driving to the airport, and lending a cell phone to arrange pick-up
Food at the hotel is very good
It was nice to have the pool

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nether Heyford
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here for the last 9 days and enjoyed every minute of our stay. Angus, Hom and staff are always there to serve and assist, extremely accommodating.

The complex is a few miles outside Lamai, but Angus does offer to taxi you there and back, we simply arranged thru Angus the rental of a scooter for our duration, so we could easily come and go.

Our double room was great, good AC, cleaned and refreshed every 3 days, extremely comfortable bed.

We ate breakfast most days and a couple of evening meals, all great quality, quantity and competitively priced.

The outdoor pool again was clean and of a good size.

We would happily recommend this establishment for others. A huge thank you to Angus & the team.

Room Tip: We had a pool view bungalow (No 5), just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samui Reef View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Reef View Resort

Address: 404/23 M.1, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Maret
#6 Best Value Hotel in Maret
#8 Romantic Hotel in Maret
#13 Family Hotel in Maret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui Reef View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills 4kms south of Lamai Beach is the picturesque Samui Reef View Resort where you can relax and enjoy your holiday. The resort boasts relaxing views of the Gulf of Thailand, the Reef of Hua Thanon and the surrounding mountains and jungle. Free Wi-Fi. Peaceful setting, modern resort, complimentary transfers with a stay of 3 nights or more. 24 hours notice is required for transfer service. The Resort was opened in May 2006 and has 14 rooms and a 2 bedroom self contained apartment, all complete with air-conditioning, mini bar facilities, cable television, DVD player, hot shower and free Wi-Fi internet access is available from all rooms.Our suites are spacious inside with a large outdoor terrace to enjoy the sea breeze and ocean views. All are equipped with queen-size or two single beds with posturepaedic mattresses, cable television combined with DVD player, refrigerator and air conditioning. The bathrooms are also spacious with their own hot water shower. The rooms are built around a 12m x 6m naturally chlorinated salt water swimming pool, 1.5m in depth with a .5m wading section for the little ones. Adjacent to the pool you will also find our restaurant and bar where you can enjoy a cool drink, game of pool or tempt your taste buds with a selection of European or Thai delicacies. A desktop computer is also available for internet use in the lobby or you can bring your own laptop and use the free Wi-Fi with ADSL (1.2mbps). Other Services:Free pick up from the Islands airport or ferry terminal for stays of 3 nights or longer, Motorbike & car hire at the resort, Laundry service, Shuttle service to Lamai, Free Wi-Fi. The open designed restaurant takes full benefit of the fresh sea breezes and views of the ocean. Open from 8am till 9.30pm. You can relax your days away here, hire a motorbike to travel around or take an organized tour of the many beautiful attractions on Samui, for example a trip to the waterfalls, elephant trekking through the jungle, a visit of the tiger zoo and aquarium or a trip to Big Buddha and many more...For those with energy to burn there are also a number of mountain walking trails with breathtaking views of the Lamai to Hua Thanon area. You can also take a stroll down to the tranquil shores of Ao Na Khai, a small bay inside the reef, only 400 meters from the resort. However this bay is not suitable for swimming, so take advantage of our free shuttle into Lamai Beach. Free transport for stays 3 nights or more, to and from the entry points of the island, airport/ferry terminals, 24hrs notice is required for this service. We also offer a free drop off service to Lamai Beach to enjoy the shopping or night life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Samui Reef View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Reef View Hotel Koh Samui
Samui Reef View Koh
Samui Reef View Resort Ko Samui/Maret

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samui Reef View Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.