We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's nice, but not for me...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Samui Reef View Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Samui Reef View Resort to your Saves list
Samui Reef View Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   404/23 M.1, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Maret
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“It's nice, but not for me...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I'm a bit torn on what to write about this place... on the one hand I can't find any major faults to criticise (although there are some minor ones) and on the other hand, I was quite glad to leave... I can only justify this comment by saying, it's a nice place, but just wasn't the type of accomodation that suited our personalities.

To start with, when we stayed here we were the only guests for our full four days. My reason for mentioning this is that I think this is what led to our feelings of awkwardness and wanting to be moving on to our next destination. Had the place been buzzing with people, perhaps we would have rated differently, but I can only judge on the experience we had.

* The resort offered free collection from the ferry port which is both an excellent and vital service. The resort is up in the hills and I'd imagine would be hard to locate if the hotel weren't bringing you there.

* Likewise the hotel offer a free shuttle service down to Lamai Beach and they provide you with mobile phones so you can call them when you wish to return and they'll pick you up which is great. I believe they offer also motorbike hire, but we didn't utilise this facility. Again this is essential as you really can't walk anywhere from the resort. I think had we realised it was so out the way we wouldn't have booked. We like to be independent and felt a bit bad for relying on the owner's wife to ferry us about everywhere.

* The rooms are clean and tidy. Good air con, basic mini bar, dvd player and television. There was also a small balcony out front. In the main reception/restaurant area there is a big selection of dvds which is great. The bed however was rock solid and the shower although nicely hot, was not very powerful and sprayed all over the bathroom when used. There was also no safety deposit box in the room which is normally a deal breaker for us.

* The reception/restaurant/social area is all in one. There is a computer which the owner Angus uses as his main desk and another desk which appears to be his wife Hom's. Here you check in/out, deal with any requests, questions etc.

*The restaurant food was very nice and cheap. The staff in the restaurant who were all very young, were brilliant. So polite and gracious. The order was always taken quickly and the food brought out fast in turn. I could honestly not speak more highly of them.

*This may sound like a petty critcism, but where you ate your food was where all the family hung out, including the owners. Sometimes when we'd go for meals, we'd feel a bit like we were intruding on famiily time... everyone would stop talking and we'd just sit silently eating our food. We almost felt like they couldn't wait for us to leave and go back to the room so they could carry on normality.

* As mentioned before there were no other guests staying during our visit, yet out room wasn't cleaned once. Not even to empty the bin, provide more toilet roll or change the towels, which given we were the only guests it wouldn't have taken too much time or hassle.

* The owner Angus (an Aussie) was a very nice guy and I couldn't fault him, he was friendly all the time and happy to help with any forward travel advice and tips. His wife Hom was a little frosty if I'm honest, perhaps her English wasn't very good, or perhaps there was something else going on in her life, but she was never very friendly and we often felt bad about asking for the shuttle into town - we were made to feel like we were putting her out, even though the hotel offered this service. One day we asked for the shuttle and she just stormed off to the car ahead of us, while we sheepishly followed along. It was all just a bit awkward.

* In all honesty the place just had a bit of a weird vibe. It did feel like you were staying on a family property, but not necessarily welcome to be there. I've read many of the other reviews who don't seem to have felt this way, so perhaps it's just me and my partner and we're more suited to busier hotels that are a little more professionally run, with more of an atmosphere. I also wondered whether perhaps they had let down their standard because of low season...

I've stayed in many other resorts/hotels in Thailand and accross the world & this is by no means special, which is my reason for the average rating. It's cheap, but not necessarily good value for money. We felt confinded to our room whenever we returned to the resort. Thankfully they do have good wifi.

I wouldn't say it's a bad place, not by any means and the people are very nice, which is why I am trying not to be too harsh... but not for me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    55
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
28
106
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms are clean, air conditioned and spacious. Angus and Hom, the owners, could not have been more helpful, the staff was gracious and accommodating. There is a beautiful pool and a great restaurant w/bar. The food was good and reasonable. If you stay for 3 nights there is a free pickup from the ferry, as well as free local transportation to all local attractions. There were also 4 scooters for rent at a very reasonable rate. The fact that they spoke English was such a treat and made making arrangements so much easier. There is access to computers on sight as well as WiFi in the rooms. An extensive video collection w/a DVD player in our rooms made evenings very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Samui reef view resort the staff are courtious and very helpful and the owner Angus and his wife Hom very helpful and eager to assist with anything you are after such as tours money echange and advise about transport and what we should be paying to go from A to B so we did not get ripped off , he also runs a shuttle to Lamai during the hour of 10 AM and 8.30 PM daily which is great . We ate a lot of meals at the resort and could not falt the quality and choice of Thailand meals or western style food the service was 10 out of 10 from his staff Lynn, Joy and Thea. Have passed the detals of this resort to all my friends with our recomendation for a wonderful place to stay when visiting Koh Samui

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

lovely quiet location just fifteen minutes from the main street... the room and bathroom were spacey, clean and very comfortable... but what made the stay special for me was the helpfulness of Angus, his wife and the staff there... warm, friendly and ready to help out with changes of plans and advice about other needs... another plus was the food - freshly cooked and tastefully spiced... the only drawback for me, which unfortunately is normal in this part of the world, was that the bathroom did not have wet and dry areas... i definitely will be staying there again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked to stay for 3 days intending to move on to another island but enjoyed our time so much we stayed for a few more days. Angus and his wife couldnt have done more for us. Yes so it is a little way from the local beach but when a free shuttle is provided its not a problem. Alternatively Angus will arrange scooter hire at around £4 for 24hrs which we did & it meant we got to see so much of the island. The food is lovely & some of the cheapest we found in the area. The rooms are basic, but as described, bedroom with en suite. Shower water was always hot which in other hotels we werent always able to get. I would definitely return. Chiara & Scott

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I had made a mistake with my booking and booked for the wrong month. Angus, the manager was incredibly helpful and found us a room anyway. He also gave us free lifts to the bigger beach down the road and some good advise on things to do/not do which was very helpful. The location is lovely for relaxing with a lovely beach a couple of minutes walk away with a couple of nice restaurents on the beach. The food at the resort was lovely too with books and DVDs availiable for borrowing.

I would definitely reccommend this resort and a big thank you to Angus.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Overall this is a nice place to stay if you are looking for quiet and relaxing accommodations. The location is a bit out of the way, so if you are looking to be near a selection of restaurants, bars, etc, at walking distance this is not the place for you.

Our room was large with lots of room to spread out, pretty clean, comfortable bed and was equipped with a mini fridge, tv, dvd player. The property grounds are very nice with a pool and some plastic lounge chairs to chill out in and a pool table in the office / restaurant area. The restaurant is nice. We are traveling as a couple, one of us liked the food and one of us didn’t connect with it.

The overall vibe at Samui Reef View is a very laid-back atmosphere. The service is solid but basic, compared to other properties we have stayed at in SE Asia. Housekeeping, garbage and towel change was about every 3 days.

Honorable mentions are the vast selection DVD’s. The pick up from the pier was delightful. We really appreciated the free ride down to Lamai, we never had to wait more than 20 minutes for a drop off into town. Loved how they give you a mobile phone to call for a pick up.

Some constructive criticisms would be the Wi-Fi, which is slow, had an average to low signal and crashed every 5-10 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samui Reef View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Reef View Resort

Address: 404/23 M.1, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Maret
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Maret
#8 Romantic Hotel in Maret
#13 Family Hotel in Maret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui Reef View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills 4kms south of Lamai Beach is the picturesque Samui Reef View Resort where you can relax and enjoy your holiday. The resort boasts relaxing views of the Gulf of Thailand, the Reef of Hua Thanon and the surrounding mountains and jungle. Free Wi-Fi. Peaceful setting, modern resort, complimentary transfers with a stay of 3 nights or more. 24 hours notice is required for transfer service. The Resort was opened in May 2006 and has 14 rooms and a 2 bedroom self contained apartment, all complete with air-conditioning, mini bar facilities, cable television, DVD player, hot shower and free Wi-Fi internet access is available from all rooms.Our suites are spacious inside with a large outdoor terrace to enjoy the sea breeze and ocean views. All are equipped with queen-size or two single beds with posturepaedic mattresses, cable television combined with DVD player, refrigerator and air conditioning. The bathrooms are also spacious with their own hot water shower. The rooms are built around a 12m x 6m naturally chlorinated salt water swimming pool, 1.5m in depth with a .5m wading section for the little ones. Adjacent to the pool you will also find our restaurant and bar where you can enjoy a cool drink, game of pool or tempt your taste buds with a selection of European or Thai delicacies. A desktop computer is also available for internet use in the lobby or you can bring your own laptop and use the free Wi-Fi with ADSL (1.2mbps). Other Services:Free pick up from the Islands airport or ferry terminal for stays of 3 nights or longer, Motorbike & car hire at the resort, Laundry service, Shuttle service to Lamai, Free Wi-Fi. The open designed restaurant takes full benefit of the fresh sea breezes and views of the ocean. Open from 8am till 9.30pm. You can relax your days away here, hire a motorbike to travel around or take an organized tour of the many beautiful attractions on Samui, for example a trip to the waterfalls, elephant trekking through the jungle, a visit of the tiger zoo and aquarium or a trip to Big Buddha and many more...For those with energy to burn there are also a number of mountain walking trails with breathtaking views of the Lamai to Hua Thanon area. You can also take a stroll down to the tranquil shores of Ao Na Khai, a small bay inside the reef, only 400 meters from the resort. However this bay is not suitable for swimming, so take advantage of our free shuttle into Lamai Beach. Free transport for stays 3 nights or more, to and from the entry points of the island, airport/ferry terminals, 24hrs notice is required for this service. We also offer a free drop off service to Lamai Beach to enjoy the shopping or night life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Samui Reef View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Reef View Hotel Koh Samui
Samui Reef View Koh
Samui Reef View Resort Ko Samui/Maret

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samui Reef View Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.