We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High expectations - low experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Plage Rouge - CLOSED

La Plage Rouge
122/68 M3 Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
+66 91 739 5413
Improve this listing
4.5 of 5 stars 41 Reviews
Cuisines: Barbecue, French, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“High expectations - low experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We were recommended to visit this restaurant by our hotel owners. They talked highly about the place, sadly experience was far from it. Food, cocktails, service - everything was disappointing, not to mention pricing - overpriced for what you get: no highchair for babies, empty plates not taken away while restaurant is not busy, waiter hardly speaking a word in English - difficult to order, mismatch of menu promise and reality (items missing, need to ask for it additionally), wet/sandy/used towels brought for sun beds, mojito very far from a good mojito (tasteless), hamburger meat of low quality plus felt floury. Seems like there were lots of mess ups, maybe "a bad day" for the restaurant, however, that made sure we are not coming back there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Upscale beachside restaurant with great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were walk-ins and just picked it for dinner. Our group of four had a variety of meals from Thai to French and Italian. All the meals were delicious , arriving together and in a reasonable time. We were the among the first table at 6pm but by the time we left and hour or so later it was lively.

The staff and service were quite attentive although we never felt rushed.

The ambiance is very nice with white table clothes and nicer flat wear while still having your toes in the sand.

While there are quite a variety of lower end casual options, this was a step up and worth it for us. It seems to be a nice place for a splurge. Slightly more expensive but worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“French kiss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Typical French hosting, with beautiful food (thai,european) amazing view, nice staff.
Some food is getting ready in front of you, with fire and beautiful liquers.
Really nice place, recommended.
Some days fire shows are available on the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJ A, Manager at La Plage Rouge, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you so much Doree00... We actually have a show every Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays at 8:00 PM. Totally different as we have Thai traditional dancers, lady boy performers, Father and son acrobat and the professional fire dancers in one spectacular show right on the beach! So next time you're in Koh Samui, don't forget to include that in your itinerary. Again, thank you so much and we hope to see you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Paella !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

If you go there, don't miss the Paella.
The owner came to welcome us, which is nice on Lamai beach, you not have the feeling to be only "the customer". The staff is friendly and always on hand. Clean sun loungers and towels.
Go, eat and drink if you are in the area, you will like it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien C, Propriétaire at La Plage Rouge, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour William D,
Merci pour vos compliments qui nous comblent d'encouragement. Une recommandation de ce type est une vraie récompense dans notre travail.
Nous espérons vous revoir très bientôt.
L'équipe de la Plage Rouge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Real Cool Beach Hangout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Me and my partner chose here because the sunbeds looked cool. We was pleasantly surprised by service we got. They put the umbrellas down so we could sun bathe, brought us snacks etc. We get sick of the same old, boring sun loungers so we thought we'd go up in style.

250BHT for a superb bed, towel, drink etc. a top place. SEE YOU SOON!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJ A, Manager at La Plage Rouge, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hi Davie,

Thank you so much for taking your time giving us this very wonderful feedback. Yes, 250THB isn't bad after all as it's a top quality sunbed along with free wifi, towel, water, fruit stick and ice cream not to mention the VIP service for each customer. People will indeed like different. We will see you guys soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Plage Rouge also viewed

Lamai Beach, Maret
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Plage Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.