We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone should take at least one class with Ying!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ying's Thai Cooking Home

Ying's Thai Cooking Home
102/1 Moo 2, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
+66 89 524 9039
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Original Samui style cooking class in individual atmosphere far off the beaten track. Discover local ingredients at the nearby market and learn how to prepare and cook tropical herbs, spices and more in a traditional, home-style manner. Samui-born cooking teacher Ying - fluent in English and German - is guiding you with her refreshing charisma through your cooking experience.
Cesena, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Everyone should take at least one class with Ying!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Cooking with Ying was definitely one of the best experiences of our stay in Thailand! She took us to the local market to buy ingredients for our dishes and explained thai ingredients, then once home we visited her beautiful garden with plants and herbs and got an explanation of how things worked before tourism came to the island.

The cooking class itself is perfectly organized: small group of maximum 4 people allows Ying to take care of everyone. Food was great and we even took something home for dinner! We liked the classes so much that we made it twice and both time were really really happy and satisfied!
The cherry on top is that she is so nice and always smailing so we had a lot of fun too!!

Do not miss it!!!!!!!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you want authentic and fun, you want Ying's class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Ying's cooking class was definitely one of the best experiences during my stay in Koh Samui. There are a lot of cooking class options on the island but I'm confident that I made the right choice when I've opted for this fun and authentic class.
There are many great things about Ying's class but the best is Ying herself. She is so much fun, always has a big smile on her face, but is also very insightful, passionate about Thai culture and cuisine and well organised. Not to mention her great English and German (a big advantage for sure).
The design of her classes - where not more than 4 students are taking part - is perfect if you want that personal experience. She takes you shopping to the local market where she explains in great detail about exotic fruits and vegetables and what they can be used for. Then - before the actual cooking - takes you for a stroll in her own garden so you can see, feel and smell all the ingredients that make Thai cuisine so special. You get to choose which dishes you want to make and all of them will turn out excellent, i promise you that.
Cooking in authentic Thai premises, fine-chopping the green papaya or squeezing coconut when making your own coconut milk is an experience that I won't forget.
If you want the taste and feel of authentic Thailand, all wrapped up in excellent service and great fun, Ying's class is the far best choice!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“a must do in koh samui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

me and my wife booked yings cooking school before we went to Thailand and we were glad we did we had a fantastic day, there was only me ,my wife and another woman and we got on really well .We were picked up by yings mother and met ying and melanie (the other trainee) at the local market where we were shown different local foods we got our ingredients for our meals and then it was a 5 minute journey to yings family home .Her family was lovely and ying very informative and hands on during our meal preparation. we had a tour of her lovely garden where we ended up eating what we had cooked .I would highly recommend doing this cooking class as it is a maximum of 4 people and very well organised from start to finish but I would advise to book online before you go a si think this will become very popular and I hope it does

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We would highly recommend you doing is Yings Cooking Home. There is a maximum of 4 people at one time so it is very personal and tailored to you. You are picked up and taken to a market with Ying where you choose what dishes you are going to make. You then go and get your ingredients with Ying who tells you all about strange local ingredients. You head back to her family home where you go and pick herbs in her garden and then start cooking. Her mother and father are also on hand to help. Ying is only tiny but has a huge personality. She was utterly lovely and never stopped smiling! She teaches you traditional Thai cooking in a beautiful traditional Thai home. You cook 4 to 5 dishes and get the pleasure of eating them afterwards in their garden. It was a lovely and rewarding experience in which we have brought back some Thai cooking techniques and recipes. It was also a pleasure to be taken in to Yings family and home - she made us feel so welcome. Don't go to a crappy Thai cooking class in a restaurant or part of a day trip - go to Yings Cooking Home!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A Brilliant day with the fabulous Ying”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Myself and friends spent a great day with Ying and her family. From the morning tour of the market to the class and the great lunch I could not recommend Yings' school enough.....

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ying's Thai Cooking Home also viewed

 

Been to Ying's Thai Cooking Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ying's Thai Cooking Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.