We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place, let down by awful staff.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Beach Resort to your Saves list
Silver Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   124/4 Moo 4 | Tongtakien Bay, Maret, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 60 Maret B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not a bad place, let down by awful staff.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Firstly... the good, the rooms were cleanish when we arrived (however they only bother to clean them every other day!). The beach is lovely and there are some nice restaurants down the road.

The bad... The staff are awful, couldn't care less about you while you're there. English is limited but aside from that they are just plain rude. We had to ask for a plug socket to be changed as it was dangerous and it was begrudgingly done after asking twice.

Food wasn't great, walk down the road or go to Crystal Bay next door as it is much better!

Overall, probably the worst place we stayed in Thailand.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    11
    13
    21
See reviews for
8
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

The staff are so not pleasant, the prices are high, the food is not good, and they are trying to charge you for things you didnt order. Didnt see anyplace as worst all over Thailand.
They argue with you like you are trying to cheat them, while they are cheating you. Never go there

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Needed to talk to my wife on the phone, as they don't provide phones in rooms, I asked to be called at the reception. After a 10 minute phone call, the boss said it couldn't happen again as her only line is busy and potential clients might be calling for bookings.
They only clean the rooms every other day, and let's face it, they are hundred of better places on the island.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had not stayed in resort. Just visited restaurant couple times. I can`t understand how it is possible to have such nice view, popular beach and so terrible everything else.

The staff is really unpleasant. Always. They also raised prices in menu, but food quality is average.

I remember when we were in this restaurant, ordered few drinks (i think tea and coffee, fresh juice and shakes), stayed there for two hours with laptops and manager... asked us to leave or order the food. 90% of tables were empty.

Just forget about this place. There are a lot of cool places in Samui with good services.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for breskfast, but everything was very dissapointing..coffee, eggs, toast.only fruit plate was all right, you ca..n't obviously mess it up..beach all right, but busy road just few metres away..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We checked in late here desperate for a room after driving around the island one day. Staff were friendly enough although some of them seemed inexperienced.

Our toilet seat was nearly falling off and our door didnt lock properly. We ate at the restaurant and it was okay, far from the best but its a basic resort, with basic rooms that are clean and fairly cheap.

The beach and the view however are amazing and you will want to be sitting on the sand instead of the hotel anyway.

Far from the best, but definitely okay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic view!! It's just a shame it's let down by the unpleasant staff! We were greeted when we walked in by the typical pushy westener going off at the staff about how she doesn't work there and should not need to be getting her own drink!!! Thought that was a little over the top until we tried to order drinks. It didn't matter if we spoke to the staff in Thai or English (staff's English was good) we were met with rude abrupt responses by some of the laziest staff I have come across in Asia. We did not eat there opting for a meal closer to Hinta and Hinyai

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Beach Resort

Address: 124/4 Moo 4 | Tongtakien Bay, Maret, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Maret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Silver Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Beach Resort Ko Samui/Maret

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.